We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Further from sights but cheap price makes up for it”
Review of Hotel A.S.R.C.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel A.S.R.C.
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Further from sights but cheap price makes up for it”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I don't think you can beat the price of RM55 for a night. My bus arrived very

Pros:
+ Cheap
+ Drinking water outside of 2nd floor.
+ Near the State Museum (which unfortunately is not taken care of) and Alor Setar Tower
+ Reasonably comfortable room
+ Free Wi-fi (ask from counter)

Cons:
- Quite a distance away from main sights. It's walkable but it's a lot of walking

Tip:
There are buses to the long distance bus terminal across the road. Only RM1, compared with RM12 cab ride
At the block of shop down the road, the kopitiam serves good Chinese food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YQtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
7
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

ASRC Hotel is definitely a blessing that I stumbled upon when searching for a budget accommodation in Alor Setar. I saw that their offer on Trip Advisor to be extremely attractive (RM55 - RM75 / US$18 - US$25) taking into consideration that they are somewhat centrally located and that they seem to offer everything that I need as a flashpacker. ASRC Hotel is essentially a ‘value-for-money’ deal for the discerning young, backpackers as well as budget travellers.

THE LOCATION: ASRC Hotel is located approximately about:
200 metres: Bus-stops, Old Town Kopitiam
300 metres: Hawkers Centre (just before the Stadium northbound along Lebuhraya Darul Aman)
500 metres: Alor Setar Tower, Star Parade Mall
1.5KM: Pekan Rabu, City Plaza,

I personally found it enjoyable and pleasant to walk from the hotel to Star Parade Mall. Along the way, I discovered plenty of excellent eateries – there is one awesome Nasi Padang Restaurant located just opposite to AminRes Restaurant. I got most of what I need from the Pacific Supermarket located within Star Parade Mall – mostly bottled water (2 x 1.5L daily), snacks, suntan lotion & toiletries.

THE ROOM (1st Floor): It is extremely large approximately 35-38 sqm in area with a décor that is basic yet tastefully designed giving you the space you need and the comfort you yearn for. It has a large 32” TV (with Astro channels), a desk and a chair for your ‘work space’, a small closet, two sofa-style armchairs and round coffee table. The housekeeping will replenish every day two bottles (500 ml) of water daily. The air-condition works well whenever I am in the room. Also, there is a very excellent in-room WiFi connection that is complimentary.

THE BED: My room (#103) has got two Hollywood singles and they both have sheets that are fresh and spotlessly white. The mattress is so comfortable to sleep on that it induces sleep for me when it is bedtime and especially after my long day at the pool.

THE BATHROOM: The bathroom is large enough for you to move around and freshen up without feeling squeezed between the walls. There is plenty of space for you to place your toiletries without fear of them dropping into the toilet bowl. There are also some pegs for you to hang your mini laundries.

THE STAFF: They are, without doubt, polite, courteous, extremely kind and ever so helpful. In view that the Hotel does not collect Service Charge, I suggest leaving a daily tip of RM5 for the Housekeeping staff since they do a superb job of cleaning the room.

THE SWIMMING POOL: ASRC Hotel has a public swimming pool, which is located just behind the Reception. The entrance is via a separate doorway within the Lobby area. Guests wanting usage of the pool should note the following:
The busiest days with lots of crowds at all hours are – Fridays & Saturdays
The least crowded days are – Sundays through Wednesdays (opening till 5.00 pm)
Thursdays (morning before 1.00 pm)
Bring a swimming cap if you have one; otherwise buy one (at RM4) or rent one (at RM2 if I am not mistaken).

THE CONVENIENCE STORE & CAFÉ: The convenience store has lots of options for non-alcoholic beverages (hot & cold) besides snacks. Prices are very reasonable and definitely catering to the budget of school-children who make up the largest numbers of swimmers.

Would I come back again to ASRC Hotel? Yes, Yes and YES. And in less than a fortnight from now, I will be back for my short sabbatical!

Room Tip: Rooms on the !st Floor cost slightly more since they are refurbished recently. Nevertheless, I saw t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dad-On-The-Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Alor Setar is not high on the 'gotta go there' tourist map. So when we visited there for a short stop over after Langkawi we were not prepared for the wonderful city that we discovered.

The hotel is about 1 mile walk from the centre of activity in the city. The room was clean, fairly large - including 2 comfy armchairs (why don't all rooms have armchairs?), air conditioned (en suite of course) and in good condition. The staff were helpful and there are some facilities e.g. a small convenience store and a cafe on the ground floor.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms wake up to a view of the Alor Setar Sky Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

If you are looking for 4 or 5 stars hotels, then this is not the place you are looking for, BUT, if you are looking for a good value place for one or a few nights stay in Alor Setar, then this is a place I would recommend.

It is actually a recreational centre with a big well-maintained swimming pool & a kids wading pool. There is a meeting hall which they use for line dancing and aerobics dance exercise on the first floor and a huge badminton hall on the ground floor.

Hotel guests have free access for using the swimming pool. You need to wear proper swimming attire and swimming cap to use the pool. Swimming caps and goggles are available for sale and for rent. You will be requested to change into dry clothes at the changing/shower room at the pool before going back to your room. Pool opening hours- 7.30am-12noon, 1.00pm-4.45pm, 5.30pm-8.45pm. The swimming pool is partially covered with high roof which is suitable to swim even during the hottest sunny day.

There is a minimal fee to attend the exercise dance classes. Such like 3 rm and 4 rm for an hour of aerobics dance class depends on which instructor is leading the class.

The hotel staff are very friendly and they clean the room, make the bed, change the towels and provide new soaps everyday.

The hotel has covered parking places for hotel guests only.

There is a TV with limited Astro Channels. Mostly local TV channels. They do have HBO channel and WAH LAI TOI.

There are Deluxe rooms on the first floor for 70+rm suitable for anyone who doesn't want to climb the stair so much.

Standard twin rooms are available on the second floor, and double rooms with good view of the Alor Setar Tower are available on the third floor.

Free WI-FI Internet in the rooms with good and fast speed connection. Ask for the password from the reception.

We stayed here for two nights and paid 58.30 rm per night for a double room on the third floor, (no lift, but very good for fitness walking up and down the stair) with clean and spacious room and the view of the Alor Setar Tower, good air-conditioning, big attached bathroom with good shower and a TV. There is no fridge or tea making facilities. It was a very quiet room as we were on the third floor. The room is so spacious that I can do cart wheel in it. The bed is comfy enough but the pillow is a bit too high for me. But I slept very well though. If you don't want to use the air-conditioning, there are windows you can open and it is quite airy. So far I didn't find any mosquitoes.

I made use of the pool and attended an aerobics dance class (3 rm a session).

There is an OLD TOWN White Coffee Restaurant with local specialties right across the road. I like their Curry noodle and Ipoh shredded chicken noodle soup.

It takes less than 5 minutes drive to the city center and less than 20 minutes drive to Kuala Kedah - the ferry service to Langkawi Island.

If you want proper espresso coffee, there is a Secret Recipe restaurant at the City Plaza next to Holiday Villa Hotel in the city center that you can have good coffee and cheese cakes (10am-10pm). Less than 5 minutes drive from the hotel.

I had enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I will recommend it to anyone who just want a simple stay in Alor Setar or those who are on the way to Langkawi Island but have missed the last ferry at 7.30pm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank wintermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The upside - affordable, fairly clean, large room, working a/c, next to community pool and some restaurants.

The downside - not really near anything. Fine if traveling with car but location was lacking as a foreigner with no car.

That being said we only stayed one night in between places and were not in Alor Setar to see much.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.4 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
123 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Leverage Mergong
The Leverage Mergong
#7 of 23 in Alor Setar
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Bee Garden Motel
#10 of 23 in Alor Setar
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#12 of 23 in Alor Setar
109 reviews
3.1 mi away
AST Hotel
AST Hotel
#5 of 23 in Alor Setar
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A.S.R.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A.S.R.C.

Property: Hotel A.S.R.C.
Address: 58 Lebuhraya Darulaman, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel A.S.R.C. 1*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel, Hotel ASRC is ideally situated in Alor Setar City Center; one of the city's most popular locales. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Also within easy reach are State Museum, Hospital Alor Setar, Putra Medical Centre. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Alor Setar hotel. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including meeting facilities, car park, Wi-Fi in public areas, laundry service/dry cleaning, coffee shop. In addition, all guestrooms feature a variety of comforts such as internet access - wireless, internet access - wireless (complimentary), satellite/cable TV, complimentary bottled water, ironing facilities to please even the most discerning guest. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Alor Setar, make Hotel ASRC your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel A.S.R.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel A.S.R.C. Alor Setar, Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing