We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good old hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

A very big room. They could divide this room into two and you would still get a big room. Nice comfy bed, a very large bathroom with strong water pressure, and hot water. I don't believe I paid a small amount for a huge room like that. The service is great, the staffs are nice and friendly, and you can have your choice of a few different newspaper in the morning, if you want them. There's also a small fridge under the desk.

Anyway, overall, it is a nice hotel, albeit quite old. Located somewhere within Alor Setar city center, the beds are big and comfortable, the air conditioning is ok, I figured it wold have to work harder to cool a room of that size despite its small cooling capacity. There is a coffee/tea making set in the room but not enough power sockets, if you have a notebook computer with you that needs charging. There is a large parking space at the back, and a few food stalls and restaurants around the hotel. There's no 7-11 around but you can get what you need at the Shell or Mobil shops across the road. There's also a Kenny Rogers restaurant at Royale Hotel across the road.

Breakfast is quite good with a few choices available.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales S, Manager at Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Megat,

Thank You for your positive review for our room, service and location. We are proud to offer good experience and remain at affordable rate. We are delight to know that you have an enjoyable stay in our hotel. We recently refurbish our room. All our room are now equip with new aircon and mattress. We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

If you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our email is sales@sentosaregencyhotel.com.my

Best Regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
4
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ampang
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

It is an old hotel but value for money. Huge room but old furniture, but good bed and pillows (2 extras in the wardrobe), poor lighting though. Breakfast is average, free newspaper..friendly staff...allow late check out up to 2pm..an average overall experience...

Room Tip: Rooms facing main road are quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales S, Manager at Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear An,

Thank You for review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation. We recently did some refurbishment for our room. All our rooms currently have new aircon and mattress. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us for your future stay in Alor Setar.

If you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our email is sales@sentosaregencyhotel.com.my

Best Regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Room was large - twin beds, table, one armchair, one ordinary chair. Lighting poor. Mini bar consisted of empty fridge (hotel is dry). Astro TV with very limited channel set -mostly Bahasa or Chinese. No BBC, CNN, Al Zazera. Disappointed that Supersports 2 not available so couldn't watch rugby world cup.
Staff very friendly but it took 2 days, 17 changes of room key and 1 1/2 hours waiting in the corridor before they accepted that room lock was faulty and agreed to change our room.
Gym no longer available - has been converted into a surau (prayer room)
Restaurant available for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast mostly local foods but limited cereals, fruit and toast available. Dinner excellent and extremely good value.
Good location for town, very close to Sentosa technology mall (handphones and computers).
RM 10 taxi (RM 15 if booked through hotel) to most places in town and suburbs, RM 30 to Kuala Kedah ferry for Langkawi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalroamer746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales S, Manager at Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear globalroamer746,

Thank You for your positive review for our room, dining and location. We are delight to know that you have an enjoyable stay in our hotel. We are currently looking at our choice of channels and keycard issue. We will improve our amenities soon. Our Gym had also recently converted to the biggest Surau in Alor Setar to accommodate our Muslim guest. We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

If you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our email is sales@sentosaregencyhotel.com.my

Best Regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed for a night on a business trip. I don't have any complaints as I was able to sleep well, and there weren't any issues. Only thing I have to say is that - the room was HUGE! This is the first time I'm ever complaining about having too much space in a hotel room. I was alone, and being given a room that is 3 times the size of a normal room was quite scary. The lights were quite dim so that added to the spookiness...Apart from that, the room was relatively clean, basic and adequate. If you need to smuggle in loads of people and have a party, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeraphinaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales S, Manager at Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Seraphina,

Thank You for your positive review for our room size. We differentiate ourselves by providing spacious room and wonderful location. We are proud to provide great service and good value accommodation in Alor Setar. We look forward to welcome you to our hotel for your next visit.

If you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our email is sales@sentosaregencyhotel.com.my

Best Regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I frequently visit Alor Setar and every each time i stay in different hotels in Alor Setar.
In my opinion Sentosa hotel is the best among hotels in Alor Setar.
Good location, Comfortable stay, Reasonable price etc if what you are looking for those mentioned above then i strongly recommand Setosa hotel in Alor Setar.
HIghly trainned staff will welcome you and see you off with smile!

Room Tip: i stayed n.411. That room has new room matress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Koreakevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales S, Manager at Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Kevin,

Thank You for your positive review for our hotel. We are delight that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you to our hotel for your next visit in Alor Setar.

If you have any feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our email is sales@sentosaregencyhotel.com.my

Best Regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#10 of 23 in Alor Setar
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#12 of 23 in Alor Setar
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#8 of 23 in Alor Setar
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Leverage Mergong
The Leverage Mergong
#6 of 23 in Alor Setar
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar

Property: Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar
Address: Sentosa Regency Hotel 250 Jalan Putra, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentosa Regency Hotel, Alor Setar is the latest design hotel in town, setting a new standard of hospitality. The hotel is a haven of warmth and comfort, accompanied by friendly, "impeccable" smile to make you feel right at home. Our guest rooms are tastefully furnished and equipped with modern amenities, for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing