We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been an off night”
Review of Italian Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italian Kitchen
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having heard some very good things we decided to try the ltalian Kitchen. We started with the meat ball appitizer which was good. The salads were ok,nothing to write home about. We had told the server that my wife was lactose intolerent, no butter, mlk or cream. The scallops ,which were well cooked, arrived in a fennel corn sauce and Butter. The breaded veal cutlet was dry and flavorless ,think cardbord. The bill for the two of us which included one cocktail each and 1/2 bottle of wine (average price) came to $160 before tip for a meal that was truly underwhelming. Perhaps other nights might be better but I am not willing to find out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dentdoctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
521 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Skip this place”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant does nothing right. It is a small, noisy place. The menu is uninspired with limited selections. The portions are small. The food is tasteless. The service is atrocious. You get one piece of bread per person with a small saucer of olive oil. When you ask for Parmesan cheese, you get a small saucer for one. We ordered a red wine and it was fine but warm. They offered to "chill" it and although we asked 3 times for it, we didn't get it until we were eating our entrees. They need to buy a wine cabinet for their wine. We always tip 20% but the service was so bad we just refused. There are so many good Italian restaurants in the area, you shouldn't waste your money at this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER NEVER EVER!!!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

OMG don't waste your time or money going to this disgusting restaurant. You order a glass of wine and a thimble of wine comes out. You get one piece of bread at a time. And you have to ask for another piece if you want one. Our appetizers were gross and our meals were even worst. I won't even bring home the leftovers for my dog. There is no parking and the service is terrible I think that sums it up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelcans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bad Choice - Young”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Don't waste your money We were told the our entree would be ready in a few minutes a number of times,while the place was empty . It turned out to be an over an hour waiting. At the point we were told that the kitchen had problems We had the salad which was good. The cold bread was tasteless with the dipping oil. The young Waitress kept playing with her hair (not a good situation to see) and not checking with us about the status of our entrees ..The service was terrible. Some of the tables face the bathroom door and they Kept getting inventory some where near the bathroom..We walk out before we got out entrees. Very tight space. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WATCHFULEYESTODAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cuisine Heaven”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want to experience cuisine that will make a lasting impression on your palate, you must dine here. My wife had the cavatelli with guanicole, pesto and pecorino toscano while I had the cortecce( a type of flat pasta) with octupus and calabria peppers--the taste was very different and out of this world. The salad was seasoned like you were in Italy. We topped it off by sharing a vanilla panna catta desert--such a smooth texture and taste. Be careful--if you want any of your dishes split by the kitchen-you will be charged foir dollars. They let you know this on their menu--we split the salad ourselves to avoid this. They give you an option of portions for the main course-appetizer size or full. My wife had the appetizer size-it was enough. The ambiance was intimate. The decor was not impressive-the reason why it wasn't an excellent rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Kitchen also viewed

Ardsley, Westchester County
Ardsley, Westchester County
 
Ardsley, Westchester County
Ardsley, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing