We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice beach, relatively overpriced.”
Review of Rawa Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawa Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

One of the best beach I have ever been. It has no rubbish on the beach as most of the public beach does in Malaysia. The ride to island is not that far from mainland with speedboat. It has been a very enjoyable stay with family. Surely will go back again! although the room is relatively well maintained if compared with many hotel in Malaysia, we still encountered air condition break down during our stay which they failed to rectify.

Room Tip: beach front room might be nicer than waterfront chalet, as the walk to the beach is not that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sapteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 349 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I went to this place for a weekend and I was amazed with the good food, yes!!! Beach was okay, rooms were nice, staff were cordial, lot of time to relax and enjoy, prices are very high

I will recommend to book full package including all meals if you are staying here, else it can be more expensive, quite romantic place, spend at least 3 nights to get the feeling of the place

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank HerrSuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Keep your expectations low!
The beach and sea are amazing (even better on the left side).

Everything else it's ok but not enough to reach the amount of money you pay.
Clean and big rooms but very basic and oldish.
Food ok but if you stay there too long you will end up eating always the same things.
What's disappointing is the price you pay (equal to a real 4* international hotel). Also the alcohol is very expensive- almost Singapore level even you are in Malaysia.

Might be better to stay in the backpack hotel where pricing are much lower.

Room Tip: Go to the backpackers area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank FabianaPizzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is quite good compared to the other hotel in this island. Still, you need to keep your expectations low in order to enjoy your stay.
Rooms are good and spacious (at least the beachfront we stayed in). Bathroom is bad - no fresh water, no hot water, no decent amenities.
Food is good, not great. Drinks not included in the price.
No beach towels available. If you want a beach chair, you need to rent it. Same with kayak, snorkel, paddle, etc.
Employees are kind.
The island is stunning but I wouldn't go back because I think it is quite expensive for what you get. There are beautiful beaches in other places with better infrastructure.

Room Tip: Stay at the beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Debisday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is my first review despite staying there a couple times with my hubby and 2 kids.. All those times were wonderful~ This is especially awesome holiday for families, with young kids..

This time round, I brought my parents along.. My dad has trouble walking as he suffered a stroke a while back and was a lil anxious about boarding and alighting the boats.. It was needless worry as the crew were so helpful! They supported my dad patiently across the 3 boats.. :) Of course, my parents fell in love with their level of commitment and service..

The food there is great! I'm quite picky about food so I'd give a 9/10 rating.. If u're not picky, u'll prolly love them all.. Especially the lunch and dinner.. Breakfast is just simple though..

Rooms are cosy and the aircon is a luxury when it's glaringly hot outside.. A tad on the expensive side but totally worth it.. For the short distance and the awesome beach, I'd go every time!

We tried the paddleboat and snorkeling this time. Paddleboat was fun, even for people who didn't know how to swim (like my mom).. The snorkeling is awesome! It was our first time and it was scary exciting.. We saw some beautiful corals, stingrays (near the ocean bungalows), sea urchins and loads of fish.. Beware of the black fishes though.. My hubby got attacked by one.. He has 2 tiny puncture holes near his knee to prove to us..

We usually bring bread to feed the fishes at the pier.. You could request for stale bread from the resort too.. This time, we borrowed a net from the shop to fish for fun.. :) We saw some kids trying to catch with the net and thought it was fun.. Haha.. And it is, during the day where u can see all the fishes..

We stayed in the beachfront this trip and noticed there were big black ants that came out in the night.. Luckily we had repellent that I splashed all over the floor on the gaps.. Perhaps you could get the staff to spray the repellent before bedtime.. They stayed away from the repellent.. Thank goodness!

Overall, we love love love the place.. :) And we hope to make it a regular family getaway place.. If u're a family with kids, you won't regret coming here..

Room Tip: You could request for double queen beds room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Pearly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a great 3 night stay at Rawa island resort, We are a family of two adults and two children age 3.5 & 5, it took us 3 hours to drive there and a 30 mins boat ride which is a private boat of the resorts so its just the guests for the island and no one else. (if driving up from Singapore the last hour of driving up the roads are narrower and we saw a couple of very bad accidents so be very careful)

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at how beautiful the beach & sand is. We had a beach front room (number 34) which was quite basic and bathroom needing an upgrade, I was advised rooms 28, 29 & 30 where a bit nicer these are closer to the main area also which may be a little more noisy. The rooms do have Air conditioning but in our room it was quite noisy. We also had a few ants around the room but it seems it is inevitable not to have any insects i that kind of an environment.

The Beach was beautiful very calm, clear and clean. Lots is fish and fun snoring for the kids.

The food offered was a Buffet every night and on Saturdays there would have a BBQ Buffet, the food was ok it wasn't amazing but there is something there for everyone.

The service was standard, we liked the fact that they didn't always approach us etc , there is enough staff around in the dining area if you need anything, but don't expect table service as its more of a go and order the drinks at the bar place, although the staff are helpful they do give you space and they are there if you need them.

The communal toilets by the TV area where really disappointing and should be cleaned up/checked on and updated.


We had a great stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves just relaxing and spending time together, do manage your expectations on the accommodation, it is very rustic/basic, beach towels are not provided so bring your own and also bring your own toiletries and take some snacks for the kids, plus some beach toys etc

We where not offered life jackets on the boat but do ask especially for the kids and they will provide them.

We will definitely go back, we had a great time

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great and easy with kids, we where advised rooms 28,29 and 30 where note updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CRYSTAL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The resort is very clean and well-kept unlike most resorts in Malaysia I have visited. I need not take a boat ride to snorkel in clear water. You will be rewarded with a fabulous view if you hike up the hill. Hassle free 30minute boat ride from Mersing to the Island.

A bit pricy compared to smaller resorts in Tioman.

Overall - still a good place to rest and relax

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarrodstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.3 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
180 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawa Island Resort

Address: Tourist Centre, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rawa Island Resort, an idyllic tropical island for guests to unwind from the stress and strain of modern life. Feel the grains of white, sun-baked sand between your toes as you stroll along the beach. Take a dip in the warm waters of the South China Sea. Enjoy the green scenery. Snorkel along the natural coral reef just metres from the shore. Or simply relax as you watch the sun disappear lazily over the orange horizon. Situated within the archipelago of the Sultan Iskandar Marine Park, Rawa Island is accessible by a twenty-minute boat ride from Mersing, Johor. This beachfront resort features 77 rooms, each individually designed to blend in with the natural landscape. Modern furnishings provide guests with the comforts of home. We invite you to take a break from the monotony of daily routine. Experience the island's natural beauty and our Malaysian hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rawa Island Safaris Hotel Mersing
Rawa Island Safaris Mersing
Rawa Island Resort Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing