We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start to the weekend”
Review of Rawa Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawa Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad start to the weekend”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We drove up from SIngapore early Saturday morning and berthed at the hotel's pier just after 09.00. When we got to reception we were informed that we had two beds in our room despite confirming over the phone that the room could sleep two adults and two children and having the same on our confirmation. They said that they could add another bed but when I looked at he room it was clear that the only way that this would be possible was if someone was to sleep standing up. The room was also not at all pleasant given the $270 per night I was paying for it. Somewhat upset by now I told them that this was not acceptable and wanted to see the manager. The chap at reception left and came back saying that we had ticked a box on the internet saying that the room had one queen and one single bed and simply refused to accept that our confirmation clearly stating two adult and two children was valid and insisted that we tell him the name of the person we spoke to on the phone. Obviously this did little to calm me down since he still had not called for the manager who finally arrived twenty minutes later meaning that by now we had been waiting nearly an hour. And what did he do when he did turn up, insist that we had ticked a box on the internet. I finally lost all sense of calm and was finally shown two single rooms close to the backpackers' bar that was holding a party that might and told there were no other choices. A similar thing had happened to friends of mine who had arrived the day before so obviously standard procedure for a hotel who think they can dictate policy to their guests.

Aside from this, the hotel is very pleasant and food surprisingly good (better than Batu Batu of late).

My advice is to search out which are the best rooms and insist on them although this too does not guarantee anything as some other friends of ours who has specifically booked two rooms next door to each, arrived finding that they didn't have said rooms and they tried to speak to Management they just didn't bother coming to talk to him.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank robertsP3414SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    128
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
152
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Discovered this little paradise more than 8-9 years ago.
Was a wondeful spot not far away from Sinagpore and affordable.
Things unfortunately have changed with prices going up a lot each year... It is still a wonderful breakaway but don't expect anymore to be alone..
Avoid weeked ends and holiday season to be in peace...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franco8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ok. So it's pointless trying to keep it secret anymore. I have been a regular on my returns to Malaysia at Rawa since 1996. We have been here year after year. Friends have enjoyed their honeymoons here. I learned how to snorkel amongst teams of fish here!
Yes, gone are the days of Tunku Alang and his wonderful cooking but it is still the quietest, prettiest island in the area.
The price goes up relentlessly each year as demand from expat Singaporeans grow but we can still just about manage it. Go mid week. Avoid school or national holidays.

Love it.

Room Tip: Try the huts which sit over the sea to the left of the island. They may be a 7-10 minute walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayseri, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent long weekend getaway destination. Clean beach and decent marine life! Kids loved the beach and the jetty of course.

Rooms can definately be improved. The taps are not useable for young kids, I understand the need to conserve water on an island but please use better quality fittings. For the price paid, better toiletries and of course a better equipped bathroom will be a welcome.

Food was decent when we were there with ample quantity. Will we return, yes ... It's kids friendly, short ride from the mainland and the beach and marine life is still great here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junglexj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3D/2N & tempted to extend! Staff recognised us and welcomed us back warmly, sure felt like coming back home.
Would have given overall a 5 except that the buffet this time consisted of non-halal dishes, unseparated. But staff are on hand to warn n very gladly prepare substitutes at no extra charge. Showering with sea water instead of fresh water also stung eyes badly n hair turned as hard as wood :(
Great surprise was the renovated rooms..spacious with new beds n luxuriously soft pillows! Also the beach clean up on the north side of the island.
Had to take the long way hike up to the viewing spot as the short one is under renovation but it was worth the climb...lots of interesting discoveries.
Highlight of the trip..snorkelling with rainbow coloured fishes,rays,huge 'nemos' and a 5 feet eel!
A word of caution...stay away from noisy tourist season..somehow they leave manners behind and really spoil the tranquility n escape you are looking for.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 818Ummy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great Easter break especially for those living in Singapore. The first two days of our 6 days stay at easter weekend were very full (300 persons). Noticed people arrive in groups to party!
Since we stayed there were fewer people on the island.The staff, I found to be very friendly and helpful.
The food was good in general catering for everyone however it would have been great to have seen more local dishes like beef rendang and lemak) and desserts were not only pineapple and watermelon but papaye and malaysian sweet dishes. Although the bathrooms are outdated it's enough for the little time spent there. One bath towel per person are provided (when booking it states clearly that no beach towels are provided). We stayed at Beachfront Villa which was spectacular.
The snorkelling, kayaking and beaches are fantastic! We had a feeling of being on one of the island of the TV series "Koh Lanta". It is very expensive. Apparently when booking, it was clearly stated that a minimum stay of 5 nites only however whilst being on the island there were several couples/families who stayed only two nites!! (Don't understand this part)

Room Tip: Beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capetonian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Well, where shall I start with my review? There are so many issues with this hotel and by the way I have sent my complaint directly to the management.

It was probably the most disappointing and upsetting weekend break that I ever had in South East Asia.

I was really looking forward to when reading the reviews and looking at the pictures, the beach & snorkelling at Rawa island is just stunning! However, this is maybe the only thing and the management takes advantage of this. The hotel is overpriced, it is just a (tourist) rip-off. We paid for 2 nights more than 2000 MYR for 'full-board'.

Buffet/Food
The buffet food is very poor for Malaysian standards, they only serve one kind of fruit (watermelon or pineapple only), the same salads every day and Western things like Spaghetti and Chicken Nuggets, and hardly any local dishes such as Curries, Beef Rendang or a tasty grilled fish. Water is served in paper cups and the buffet is just a mess like the food is smeared everywhere, disgusting!


Rooms
The rooms are dated and need an urgent renovation. The aircon and the water heater are like from the 60ies and make so much noise that you think it will explode the next minute. It is not egological nor economical for the hotel. Furthermore, there are insects and anz in the room. The water is salty and it is impossible to brush the teeth with this water. Additionally there are no toiletries nor fresh or small towels provided (1 towel per person for the whole weekend...)

To put it all in a nutshell, for the same price you can go the most beautiful resorts in Phuket, in Bali, in Khao Lak or on Langkawi. It is definitely not worth to spend a penny in this hotel, considering the service, the facilities, the poor food and the unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Lorena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.3 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
135 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
173 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawa Island Resort

Property: Rawa Island Resort
Address: Tourist Centre, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rawa Island Resort, an idyllic tropical island for guests to unwind from the stress and strain of modern life. Feel the grains of white, sun-baked sand between your toes as you stroll along the beach. Take a dip in the warm waters of the South China Sea. Enjoy the green scenery. Snorkel along the natural coral reef just metres from the shore. Or simply relax as you watch the sun disappear lazily over the orange horizon. Situated within the archipelago of the Sultan Iskandar Marine Park, Rawa Island is accessible by a twenty-minute boat ride from Mersing, Johor. This beachfront resort features 77 rooms, each individually designed to blend in with the natural landscape. Modern furnishings provide guests with the comforts of home. We invite you to take a break from the monotony of daily routine. Experience the island's natural beauty and our Malaysian hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rawa Island Safaris Hotel Mersing
Rawa Island Safaris Mersing
Rawa Island Resort Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing