We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base
Nearby Hotels
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
$33
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
$18
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
$16
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MG Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myra Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
125
84
28
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
84
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubno hot waterget awayfishsnorkeling tripsmosquito netpulau sibuceiling fankids dinnerboat rideevery eveningweekend escapetropical paradisedowntown singaporewelcome cocktailbeautiful beachspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 252 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Returned to Sibu for 3 days/2 night to escape haze in Singapore with the kids. Had private car pick-up arranged in Singapore.

This time we had a bigger cabin, with 2 rooms: 1 for 4, and 1 with a double bed. To be recommended with a family of 5 or more.
Food was very nice again, restaurant staff friendly and in particular the kids activities were fun...
Kids again swimming in the sea, catching fish, building sand-castles, climbing trees, collecting coconuts and/or bugs, playing football with Dad, other kids, playing games in the restaurant, etc etc.

We took the late (16:30) Sunday afternoon boat back, and we got massively stuck in the Sunday evening traffic jam at the Woodlands border crossing into Singapore. Probably would have been better to take the early boat back, OR go by Tuas.

All good - if it wasn't for those @$#% sand-flies and mosquitos....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve123453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just spent one week in at this wonderful resort! I am missing the place already. The resort is beautiful, and i was very happy with my nice A frame hut. Nice bed, fan, "cold" shower, everything i needed.
I came to the island to dive, and this resort has a really nice dive base just at the beach. Staff there was very good. Friendly and very experienced. It was really great diving with them!

The restaurant is very good, they served the best fish i ever had :) and the staff in the bar and restaurant are very very nice.basically every staff member was really nice and i am happy to have met them!

Just one day before I'd decided to go here, based on information i had read in the lonely planet (which is not up to date, so check the website before going there). Within a couple of emails everything was arranged and the next day i was in paradise :). They pick you up with there own boat.
It is not really a backpackersplace as described in the lonely planet and there are a lot of families, but still i had a really nice time. Some days it was really quiet, but when you felt like some company there was always room for a chat at the dive base or bar :). So if you are backpacking and can affort to Spent a few nights at this place, do so, you won't regret it. It is worth it!

Thanks for this amazing week, can't wait to return to this place and meet you all again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenvdHondel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights / 3 days here and loved every second. Booking the trip was very easy, the reservations staff were very helpful, and responsive to our requests.
The resort is on a quiet, family friendly beach where you feel safe to have a dip and watch the children making sandcastles on the beach. We stayed in a 2 BR Hut which was perfect, the kids (2 & 4 years old) felt very special to have their own space. The bathroom was basic, but large so it was great to head in there after the beach and wash off all together. We didn't really even notice that there was no hot water, it wasn't even an issue for the kids. Also, we wouldn't have used air conditioning if it was available. The nights were quite cool and if we got hot we would open the windows more and turn up the fan.
Mealtimes were great. We found the food to be very tasty and of good quality. The children loved that they got to eat their dinner with all the other children (at the 6pm children's dinner) and really enjoyed the meals. Having an early children's dinner meant we could put the kids to bed and once they were soundly asleep we could head to the restaurant and have a peaceful adults dinner and relax in the bar or by the beach afterwards.
The staff were wonderful with the kids, to the point that one of the staff slid underneath the decking of the bar area in search for my son's Lightening McQueen that he had dropped down there!
We felt very safe there and the kids enjoyed the freedom and free reign they aren't usually able to have in normal day to day life.
We wish we could have stayed longer and we will definitely be heading back there!

Room Tip: If you have children the 2BR huts are a good option.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJGM2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was here in 2007 and 2009 with the family and i can't describe how brilliant this place is. Cabins right by the beach, really friendly and happy staff. If you want to sit on the beach and laze around it's perfect, if you have kids or want to be a bit more adventurous there are many, many options from snorkeling and scuba to treks and trails.

All in all, the best holiday we have ever been on! 10/10

Room Tip: Cabin no.1 is RIGHT by the beach ;)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedonald5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just spent 3 nights and four days here. It was clean and beautiful but the best part is the friendly helpful staff. You feel welcome and any problems are taken care of immediately. The food is basic and good. The snorkel trips amazing. True there is no hot water and no air conditioning but that is part of the back to basic charm. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxed time with friendly people and a family experience, this is a wonderful place. As far as the bugs are concerned, yes they are there and we did experience some bites in spite of the precautions we took. Overall, it's a great value and we're planning on a return visit.

Room Tip: The family huts are great for room and views of the beach. We were in HI - beautiful location.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationHounds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews