We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sibu Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Alang's Rawa(Mersing)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
9
48
30
22
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
48
30
22
21
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 130 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arrived at Sibu on the boat at around midday. It is a great run out on the boat and the approach to Island is beautiful. On first sight it looks great but it does have it shortfalls. We booked rooms with forest views - they were supposed to have balconies but didn't . This didn't matter anyway because they were is such a poor state of repair externally that they were too hazardous to stay. They looked like run down sheds that I wouldn't keep my dogs in let alone stay with our relations. We had booked three rooms and quite frankly they were an embarrassment. How any self respecting organisation could believe that these were fit to rent I do not know. It was a real let down. We went to reception and explained to them that they should not be letting rooms in this condition and they offered at upgrade which we had to pay for. No apologies and no recognition that these rooms did not have balconies and no real understanding that the access to these sheds was via steps which were rotten and dangerous. Anyway, we took the upgrade and the rooms we were moved to had views to the sea from a balcony and we could access them without having to step across holes and rotten planks. They were reasonably clean but could have been better, particularly the bathrooms, but they were OK and livable. The AC was very good and the showers were very good.

We stayed two nights as planned and did enjoy the peacefulness and the overall ambience of the location. However, this is a place that you need to be extremely careful of mosquitoes and sand flies. We were all quite careful to use anti bug sprays but I must have missed my back on day 2 and got badly bitten. So, if you going here take all the precautions possible for bites and some more.

There is one restaurant with buffet and al a carte . Breakfast was bad on first morning and slightly better on the second morning. The restaurant has a grubby feel about it and the bare wooden tables are tacky and the round tables were covered with cloths which were well used and quite dirty. The selection of food both for breakfast and the buffet in evening was poor. On 2nd night we had a la cart which was OK but nothing special. Two of our party ordered steaks and one was received - the other didn't turn up but they didn't bother telling us that they had run out of steak for the other until we asked. The waitresses were nice and friendly but overall the restaurant did not feel clean the food was poor and there were excessive flies. Overall eating here was a second rate experience.

We live in Malaysia so we know what is good, what is bad, what is possible and what is not and this falls so far short of what it could be it is quite disappointing. This is a lovely island and potentially a lovely resort, there is loads good about it but the pros far outweigh the cons. We did make the most of it but there are better places and I would not recommend this to any of our friends. If your coming across from UK for a holiday keep well away from here you will not like it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Woody56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Recently went on a trip to Sibu Island Resort. The transfer from the jetty to the resort is fine. Stayed at their deluxe chalet. The place I would say is interesting with free ranging animals which is a plus point. Having a peacock pooping in front of the door is another. A minus point is the maintenance of the place, the room looks very worn. The steps to the rooms are in very bad shape. The pool bar is non-existence and service is slow. Food wise is quite alright. Beaches there are fine, beach 2 is quite nice despite its rockiness, the fishes there are big and they will bite. Overall I give it 3 stars.

Room Tip: Choosing a Bigger Room is a good choice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houndy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are a family of 4. We stayed in the Layang-Layang Suite for 3 nights in June 2013. Transfer from Tanjung Leman Jetty to Sibu Island was smooth and efficient, perhaps because it was a week-day and off-peak. Check-in was smooth (perhaps for the same reason) and we were given our room keys at on check-in at around noon despite the official 3 pm check-in time.

The rooms were comfortable if somewhat tired looking. Bathroom was clean and showers, toilets and taps worked reasonably well.

The resort is extremely spacious. A big plus for our boys( aged 11 and 8) were the many free-ranging deer, peacocks, chickens, a very regal-looking tom-turkey and cute little baby goats. The boys had a great time foraging for leaves plants and other tidbits for the animals.

The pool was small, but reasonably fun for the kids. The biggest turn-off is the disused pool-bar which was not just empty. It contained a several centimetres inches of bilious green slimy looking water. It was revolting.

Service standards are Fawlty Towers-que. It would be extremely funny as long as it happened to someone else. We searched in vain at the Towel Kiosk for someone to pass us the beach towels. After 15 minutes of searching, we eventually tumbled on the fact that you had to get towels from the Activity Desk. It gets even better. The following day, we brought our used beach towels to exchange for fresh ones. We were told by the person at the Activity Desk that we had to dry them first before returning the towels, and in any case, we were to be issued beach towels only once per stay. Perhaps the hotel expects guests to launder all towels before returning them or exchanging them for fresh ones! It was only after some protests that the person agreed to give us fresh towels ... along with free dirty looks and mutters.

Service at the restaurant was slow and inconsistent. The staff were polite, but not friendly. They showed very little warmth, and seemed to think that saying "thank you" was the height of service excellence. The restaurant was swarming with flies. Something which the staff took absolutely no notice of. The resort does not serve alcohol.

House-keeping was kept at the barest minimum. Daily house-keeping seemed to consist of making the beds and taking out the trash. In the 4 days that we were there, the house-keepers did not trouble themselves with replenishing toilet-paper, toiletries, coffee and tea bags or water. Again perhaps the hotel has a single-issue policy, like their beach towels. To be fair, though, these things were replenished quite quickly when we requested. It's just comical that we had to request for re-supply of everything. Less funny when we realised that we were paying international hotel prices.

The beaches were quite nice, and generally uncrowded. But there again, this hotel chooses to distinguish itself. There were absolutely no deck chairs except on their most popular beach, Coral garden, which had 2 chairs. There are no facilities to shower off the salt water, nor anyone to serve drinks or snacks at the beach. The Management philosophy seems to be - you have the sea, you have the sand, you don't need anything else.

Our opinion - not a bad place, if you have no where else to go, and if you enjoy being surprised by "unusual" service standards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The resort is excellence for family and company team building as the secluded ambiance fells like you own the world. The free roaming dear and peacock make you bound with the nature.
The surrounding sea water is crystal blue makes you wanted to just dive in. The small fish will come and make you their new friends.

Room Tip: For those with physical limitation, please consult with receptionist for the less stairs room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHlim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was skeptic after reading all the previous reviews. Bought the 2D1N package from Groupon anyways and booking made via VTravel was ez breezy. A couple of weeks prior departure I called up the resort to confirm whether they rcvd my booking.The PIC of reservation was n/a h/e she called back to confirm my booking.Arrived @ Tanjung Leman and checked in. The resort staff whisked away our luggages at the check in point and sent them directly to our cabin on the island (Plus point).I thought the ferry was gonna be packed to capacity for it being the school holidays. But we got our seating. No one had to stand(both ways). The resort was OK. With all the reviews in mind I did not set my expectation high. 1st thing we did was jump into the sea at Beach 1. Water was clear h/e beach was littered with empty drinking bottles. Dining experience was good. We ordered ala carte throughout and the food came immediately. Not consistent tho(perhaps different chef scheduled).The order takers were competent. I made them repeat our orders just in case.All food came non were missing. No there weren't swarms of flies around. Only during b'fast there were flies in the dining hall. Tip - eat your food & drinks immediately and dont leave them unattended. A fly dived into our next table's drink. Breakfast buffet spread was good - they have an egg station so for me any resort which has one is good enuff. Kids enjoyed the flying fox and exploring the beach during the moonlight walk, the deer, the swimming pool. Amir - the activity guide was very resourceful and friendly. Room - its clean enuff. Will not recommend the place for honeymoon. We were mostly outdoors coming back to the room jz for shower and sleep so it served it's purpose. I would like to believe that the rooms are sound proof as the insects from the forrest were kinda noisy but once we were in the room we couldnt hear any sound from outside.The shower came out from the ceiling - water power was good and the kids loved their showers. The cabins are designed ala traditional Johor malay village - lovely experience living in kampung melayu. Thank god it was sunny throughout cant imagine if it were raining as the cabins are scattered throughout. Second day we went for a swim at Beach 2. Water was also clear but beach was littered with empty bottles. Just a few meters into the sea there were corals & rocks with lovely coral fishes. Bring sunblock, antiseptic cream and plaster just in case you bump into the rocks at the beach. Insect repellent for mosquito
What would I have done different ? Stayed another day.
Wld I consider going to SIR again ? Maybe not - the travel to & fro K.Lumpur is too long & tiring

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessikah_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews