We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alang's Rawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alang's Rawa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Travelled to Rawa with my girlfriend this week and it was a wonderful experience. Booked the standard room directly from Alang Rawa's website itself. Paid half of the deposit via card to secure our bookings and the other half of the deposit via cash upon checkout. Note: Alang Rawa only accepts cash, bring along enough money as drinks and snacks are not provided. Also, one should buy at least a minimum of 2 1.5litres of mineral water for drinking and brushing teeth purposes as the water is very SALTY. It only cost RM2 for 1 1.5litre of water in Mersing Point, but it cost RM8 (not inclusive tax and gst) in Alang Rawa. One is also required to pay RM25 for the conversation fee at the Mersing Jetty.

Arrived at Mersing Jetty via Singapore's WTS coach in the morning, hence my girlfriend and I waited for about 3 hours for the boat to arrive as there is only one boat transfer a day. Also, the boat will only set off when other guests have arrived. Hence, during the three hours, my girlfriend and I went out of the Mersing Point to get 7-days prepaid 3G card at Celcom Centre (10mins walk) so that we could use the wifi inside the room, on the beach, and at everywhere of Malaysia. Alang Rawa provides wifi, but it maybe slow and can only be used at the cafe.

Toiletries are not provided except towel and toliet paper. No aircon, but there are 3 working fans. Would prefer Alang Rawa over the another luxury resort Rawa Safari as Alang Rawa is more suitable for youngsters, couples and non-fussy people. The beach is quiet, no kids, and peaceful. Also, snorkelling and kayaking equipments are provided for FREE by Alang Rawa. Meals are provided in ala-carte style.

There are many things to do over at Rawa. One should walk around the island, and if you really want to trek up to the summit, ask the staff to show you the way. As the jungle trek is now under construction, hence the staff advise guests not to go up. However, we took the risk and with the help from Rawa Safari's staff, we managed to reach the summit via a "secret" path. The top view of Rawa Island was indeed breathtaking.

Rawa is a paradise island, the sand is soft and white, water is crystal clear, clean and blue. It is not overrated yet, hence one should go NOW before it gets too popular.

PS: Uploaded pictures are taken via iphone5 and no filter is added.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    16
    5
    14
See reviews for
22
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Is a tiny, small island where life is simple by just relaxing by the white sandy beach and swim in the clear sea water. The resort is simple and pleasant, food was good. I went on weekdays thus i didn't experience their weekend night life. Will try to visit the night life at the resort soon!

Room Tip: Beach front units are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupersonicJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked our stay here through their website which was easy and subsequent communication with the resort was done via email and telephone. The journey to Mersing from Kuala Lumpur by car can be quite challenging once you turn off the main North-South highway so it's best/safer to leave Kuala Lumpur early in the morning to reach Mersing jetty before noon (in time for the speedboat).

Be warned that you will have to wait for other guests to arrive at the jetty before they allow you to board the boat headed for the island. This can be annoying as we had to wait a whole hour only to find out that the guests would only be coming in the evening instead. Finally the staff ushered us to the speedboat without the other guests.

The island itself is a true gem and in my opinion Alang's Rawa may well be one of the cosiest small island resorts in Malaysia. Mainly because of the idyllic beach front setting but also because of the bright coloured and cosy chalets. We stayed in one of the A-frame chalets which are a bit more private located right at the end of the beach. Though basic in terms of amenities, the chalets are well kept, clean and felt homely. The sand on the island is like white powder whilst the crystal clear waters make it hard for you to stay away from the waters even when the sun is burning overhead. Do be careful though when you go for a swim because there are some jelly fish in the waters as well as sea lice (which can sting the heck out of you).

All packages offered by the resort include the speedboat transfer, kayaking + snorkeling gear (upon request) and lunch on the day of arrival up to your last lunch on the day of departure. Lunch and dinners were served buffet style so you can eat your heart out from a mix of local and western dishes. They also offer massages by the beach or in your room whichever preferred. Massage prices are reasonable. Hikers and nature can also hike up a hill to enjoy the sunrise or sunset on the island.

The only downside to our stay was the 'no wind' factor at night. Alang's Rawa is after all a no frills resort so with just a basic fan in the room, both my husband and I slept poorly due to the heat and sticky ocean air. Nevetheless, we loved our stay here and we're looking forward to coming back..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahAbdRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I travelled to Rawa with my husband and sister + brother in law in April and we had a fantastic time! Rawa is a tiny island accessible by speedboat from Mersing - the 30 min boat ride was an unexpected bonus! :) The beach is lovely fine white sand, with snorkelling directly off the beach and a beach cafe with free waterslides into the sea just along the beach. You can hire snorkels/kayaks etc there - the men kayaked round the whole island in about an hour. There are lots of comfy seats to sit and read on and you can snorkel directly off the beach - quite good snorkelling and good for little ones/beginners. On our last day there were lots of little jellyfish around for some reason but it wasn't really a problem. There were lots of kids there playing in the shallow water, looked like they were having fun! There were also 2 dogs which bumbled around and were quite cute.

The food was delicious - mostly western, even pancakes for breakfast. All the drinks, inc water, were not included and fairly pricey although they are shipped out there. Very chilled atmosphere, everything runs from the bar where the buffet meals are served. We never even checked in properly, they ticked a register when the boat arrived then everyone ran off to start their holiday! It felt very safe, we had no concerns about security.... which is good really, as we were staying in tents! Staff were very helpful and relaxed.

There is not much else to do apart from the beach. There is a short jungle walk up to the top of the hill (via a nice but under-used tennis court) which we did, but I wouldn't recommend it. Lots of creepy crawlies scuttling around underfoot - we got the impression it's not walked much. + was boiling even at 7am.

It was very hot, even at night, and the tents were baking so we slept on the beach and got lots of sandfly bites despite deet. Worth it for the magnificent view but I wouldn't book tents again, I didn;t sleep much. Other guests in rooms told us they also struggled with sleeping at night coz the rooms only have fans.

The journey is about 5 hours drive from KL (left at 6.30am with one stop) then a stop for lunch in Mersing followed by a speedboat ride which takes approx 30 mins. It is fairly remote, wouldn't recommend for those who have serious health problems as the hospital is at least an hour away. Otherwise, go ahead and book it, it's amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Before I start , I’ll clear one thing up… I am 100% NOT a budget traveller. I’m in my 30s, I don’t ‘do’ hostels, B&Bs, backpackers & the like, and all my other reviews here will be for 4 or 5* hotels. Having said all of this, I LOVED Alang’s Rawa!

The one thing to understand & accept before you go is that the accommodation is very, very basic. We were in the 10 person room (C3), which was actually really spacious & was fine for that amount of people. The beds were just simple single beds with a blanket, and were quite hard. There is no lock on the door to the room, and the room is open to the outside with wicker blind covering the entrance which means that there’s no light blocking or noise reduction coming from outside, and some of our party got eaten alive by mosquitos while in bed. There were two bathrooms for the room, both with a toilet & cold running shower in them. We also had a decent sized balcony looking out over the beach with a few chairs scattered around for when people wanted to sit out What there isn’t is anything like a TV, fridge, safe, internet, etc (though there s Wifi available free in the bar area). Basically, if you go along, I wouldn’t expect to be spending much time in your room!

What totally made up for the basic accommodation however was the setting. Alang’s Rawa is directly on an absolutely stunning stretch of beach - and I mean DIRECTLY on the beach. You wake up to the sound of waves lapping on the beach, and step out directly onto it. The beach has gorgeous white sand, crystal clear blue-green water & is surrounded by palm trees for a bit of shade. There’s a few loungers & mats out on the beach, some hammocks in the trees & water activities such as snorkelling, kayaking & water slides available. There’s also a small selection of books & board games available in the bar if the weather turns, or you need some time in the shade. The water in the ocean was lovely & warm, & there are hardly any waves - perfect for bobbing around & chatting with friends, or playing ball games. It really is an idyllic beach setting & not spoiled by overdevelopment.

All meals were served buffet style in the bar area, with the exception of Saturday night dinner, which was a BBQ on the beach. The food was really lovely - nice & fresh ingredients and well cooked. Certainly not your usual buffet fare. The formula of what is on offer remains much the same day-by-day, but the actual dishes tended to differ. Quite a lot of us were going back for seconds each meal, which has got to say something! All meals were included in the price, just with the exception of any snacks, which made the package really good value.

The only thing which wasn’t included in the cost of our package was drinks, which considering we were in Malaysia I’d say were fairly reasonably priced. The bar area is open until about 4am, highlight was the ‘Rawa Special’ cocktail, which seems to have everything behind the bar in it! They also do fresh fruit juices, coconuts from the trees outside & have a coffee machine, for anyone not on the cocktails! There’s also the option to take your own alcohol along with you, but be aware that you will be charged corkage on anything you take in. The bar is pretty good fun & loud on a Friday & Saturday evening. Expect lots of dancing, midnight swimming & a generally good time! The one thing to be aware of though Is that the bar is LOUD (we could hear the nighttime music quite loudly from our room) - this is great if you want to be a pat of the fun, but I imagine would make sleeping difficult if you’re one for an early night.

So basically, if you’re after a weekend of total relaxation in the day, a party in the evenings, can get past everything else being pretty basic AND want to avoid the overbuilt tourist resorts, then Alang’s Rawa is the place for you. If you’re after a quiet weekend away however, or really need your luxuries, I’d suggest you give it a miss.

Ps. One thing to keep an eye out for - my camera got stolen from the bar area on Saturday night. Don't get lulled into a false sense of security by the idyllic setting!

Room Tip: Room C3 sleeps 10, with 2 private areas for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacki963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time visiting Rawa, it never disappoints! The sea is crystal clear, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is so chilled. It's the perfect place to go for a bit of rest and relaxation! You can party if you want though - things seem to kick off on the weekend! Such fun! I'll be back. Best beach in Asia.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A lovely hotel. The beach is absolutely amazing and although it is smaller and more basic than the Rawa Safari Island Resort, it is a much better choice if you are planning to go there for vacation. The atmosphere is lovely, the staff is like a family, the rooms simple but breathtaking and the Daisy, the family dog, a wonderful companion for vacation. I loved it and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: A1 is perfect for couples and a dream bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
19.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
18.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
11.3 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang's Rawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang's Rawa

Property: Alang's Rawa
Address: Rawa Island | c/o Pure Value Sdn Bhd, Jalan Abu Bakar, Mersing, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Alang`s Rawa Hotel Mersing
Alang's Rawa Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing