We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hideout , amazing location and hosts are full of warmth”
Review of Teluk Iskandar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teluk Iskandar Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Mersing B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I believed on reviews here and trust me this place is like a hidden treasure , amazing location , excellent rooms , ( clean , thoughtful) and old couple who runs this place are just kind of people who will leave a mark on you .small boutique hotel but every corner is s thoughtfully done that you feel like going there again !...

it is truly 7 star B&B at amazing value for money and best is warmth of hosts ....one will remember for long time ..we ended up on breakfast table for 2 hrs chat and thoroughly enjoyed it ....

one leaves this place with a thought of retiring and setting upsomething like this .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JesyHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

...because I'd rather keep this place all to myself! Located just outside the town of Mersing, this place is quiet, beautiful, clean, cheap and relaxing. I went by myself to plan out the next year and it is an excellent place to think. The rooms are clean and simple. Underneath the rooms is a sitting area perfect to lounge around. The owners are some of the most helpful and nice people I've ever met in a hotel anywhere. The grounds overlook the South China Sea and there is a beach—although it is quite rocky and more suitable for looking at tide pools than swimming or sunbathing.

If you're looking for someplace peaceful, this is it. If you're looking for a touristy resort with a big pool and crowds, the ferry to Tioman Island is a 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

It was our 2nd visit to this beautiful inn - within 6 months! As usual, cleanliness is top notch, but more importantly it was the opportunity to visit the 2 most gracious owners. They were incredible, even more considering they are in their late 70s. It's just like coming home to our kampung meeting our parents.

Not much to do other than wondering around the beach (not suitable for swimming), dinner at nearby satay place (prawn, squid and rabbit are must try!), but that's the whole point. The place is screaming with tranquility and peacefulness. Add those with uncle Ibrahim and aunty Kamariah, and the place becomes the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of the cities.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdlyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This a wonderful, small B&B type place with only 6 rooms but great owners and a super relaxing spot. Rooms are fairly basic with no TVs but who needs one when you can have a hammock?!?

Can walk to the ocean and while its not a sand beach, you can sit and listen to the surf or walk along the rocks.

Breakfast is great. Two good restaurants nearby (satay in one direction and Thai food in the other, both only about 500 meters).

Ibrahim was very helpful arranging fishing for me and my son. They speak perfect English and can recommend great restaurants and other local activities. Mersing is a small fishing town and has no cinema or mall but its a nice relaxing place to visit.

Highly recommend Teluk Iskandar!! This place would be an excellent add-on for a night or two on your way to/from Tioman.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYinSEAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The perfect antodote to 'life' in Singapore!
The owners are the most gracious and welcoming hosts who speak perfect English, the setting is perfect; potter around the garden, stroll along the beach, walk to nearby restaurants, sleep with windows open, safe under mosquito nets, lulled by the sounds of the sea and local wildlife- what more could we want? We stayed only one night as a quick 'getaway' from Singapore but wished we could have stayed longer-hope we can manage another visist.....soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Warm & homely atmosphere, yet exclusive and unique. The 2 owners at the inn are very well-mannered, helpful, kind & sharing people whom all would love to meet during a holiday. The rooms are well-ventilated as the perfect location there is breezy both day & night. You get to see the most lovely sunset from your room where the windows & the good sized balcony faced the sea and the other part of the balcony faced the garden (we stayed at room#6). The room is so clean, no dust at all. The architecture of the inn is so special you would love it...In the huge garden extended all the way to the beach (no sand, just coast), you will have the opportunity to spot various types of birds, monitor lizards, squirrels, wild "mountain hens" etc. The aircon works super well even at 24 degrees & low speed. You will find the best satay & original Thai food 2-5mins walk from the inn. At MYR170, it comes with a nutritious & big share of toast bread with 4 types of spread to select, special scramble egg, fresh orange juice, freshly brewed coffee & tea & fresh tropical fruits. TV & fridge are shared at the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladygeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We are your sort of city folks who are always in search of some peace and quiet to help us keep our sanity. Teluk Iskandar Inn is almost perfect. The wide open space. Waking up in the morning to the sounds of waves of South China Sea. Friendly hosts. Idllylic countryside lifestyle just 3 hours away from Singapore. The best satay ever (we went back twice!).

It is the perfect weekend getaway of people who, like us, just wanted to have absolutely nothing to do, and take in the sights and sound of a lazy seaside town. I believe it will be a great place for city kids to experience kampung life too! We saw monkeys picking coconuts, we hear of gold diggers who will hang out around the beaches - it's just great!

The only drawback, is, the mosquitoes. Otherwise, it will be so perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank effynaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mersing hotels
0.6 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Felda Residence Tanjung Leman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sweet Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mersing
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#9 of 14 in Mersing
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mersing
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teluk Iskandar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teluk Iskandar Inn

Address: 1456 Jalan Sekakap | Kg Teluk Iskandar, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mersing
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teluk Iskandar Inn is a charming bed and breakfast situated on the east coast of Malaysia, facing the South China Sea. In a natural garden setting, Teluk Iskandar Inn is the perfect place to stay for peaceful rest and relaxation. A short drive will take you to the town of Mersing. The islands of Tioman, Sibu, and Rawa are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teluk Iskandar Hotel Mersing
Teluk Iskandar Inn Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing