We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option for Mersing”
Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good budget option for Mersing”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was a good budget option - we were there for two nights before getting the ferry to Tioman. One night would have been enough but we had trouble finding accom on Tioman (school holidays peak season). The room was big, good aircon, wifi was ok (sporadic), but it is not the finest place in the world - manage your expectations (it's GBP15 a night!) and you will be fine here : ) Would recommend MarryBrown rather than KFC for fried chicken (there aren't a lot of food options in Mersing). It's a 15 minute walk to ferry so that is convenient. The staff was friendly and we got washing done there for 8.8 RM which was a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
19
38
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Budget hotel with TV, water heater, air con.

The room is clean and we saw the cleaner washing the corridor in the afternoon.

The location is quite good, located at the center of the town, 15-20 minutes walk to jetty to board the ferry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaLAysIan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's actually only suitable to stay for the night before taking the ferry to Tioman. Parking seems to be free in front of the hotel at night, so if you arrive after 18:00 and leave before 8:00 you should be fine.

Quality is not existing, it's old, not even sure if it's cleaned every time a new guest checks in, and there is no elevator which is not very nice when you stay at the 3rd floor and have luggage and scuba dive equipment with you.

The doors are made from toilet door material, so very thin and obviously not safe at all. So don't leave anything expensive behind.

The blanket is from some very thin material, almost falling apart, like it's being used during WW2..........

I had better hotels for 70RM per night. To me it seems that they are stretching the time that this hotel can be used until no one wants to stay here anymore.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the lowest floors, so that will be the 1st floor, so that at least you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SuperGast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

First of all, this is real budget hotel. There are things in this hotel really cannot be compared to a 5 star hotel. But most importantly it is clean and everything is in good working order. So in general I had no complain. It is cheap and good value in my humble opinion.

I use it as a stopping station before next morning boat trip to Tioman Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Cannot comment on embassy as they lost or reservation, which seems to be a recurring theme in reviews. After some panic they put us up in their other hotel 'Sweet hotel' which was clean, basic and good although noisy at front rooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Its very simple hotel but offers enough for the small amount you pay. The rooms are clean and bug free, which is saying a lot in the port town of Mersing. The prices are reasonable and the street traffic is not so loud at night. Its a good place to sleep at night, not to hang out during the day. It's ten minutes walk to the ferry and/or bus station. There are food places and stores in the same street. They have Wi-Fi but it's not very good. There are internet cafes close by which are open very late. Basic but decent accommodation if you're stuck for a night in Mersing like I was. Location is hard to miss when you arrive in Mersing, and everything is less than a 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night after returning from Tioman Island. Its very simple and offers enough for the small amount you pay. Its a good place to sleept at night, not to hang out during the day. Its a ten minutes walk to the ferry and/or bus station. There are food places and stores in the same street. They have Wifi but its not very good. There are internet cafes close by which are open very late.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bene5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.1 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
#1 of 3 in Kuala Rompin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#7 of 14 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tanjung Leman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Property: Embassy Hotel
Address: 2 Jl Jalan Ismail, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing