We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and nice place”
Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money and nice place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I had only one night to spend in Mersing, before heading towards Tioman, and we choosed this place following the recommendations of our guides.

Perfect value for money, large and comfortable bed, correct bathroom, and closeby the city centre & the bus station. However, 10 minutes to reach the jetty by foot, but not difficult at all or you can book a cab from the hotel if you want it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
19
39
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is in a good central location in town, close to the bus station and ferry - both 5 or 10 mins walk. Taxis available for flat rate of 10 ringits. We were given a room on 3rd floor of old block (60R per night) which looked clean but a bit small but no lift so I asked to change rooms as we were carrying heavy dive bags. Got changed to the new wing, 1st floor for 90R (room 104), this was much easier access, larger room with twin beds and air con, very clean. The bathroom was modern with a very good hot water shower and also very clean. TV and tea/coffee facilities. No breakfast but facilities close by. Very good aircon. The reception were very helpful regarding booking ferry and onward bus travel.

Room Tip: The new block were better than the old but a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubagirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am generally not the sort of person to complain and understand that, when travelling, you take the good with the bad, but my experience, or lack thereof, with the Embassy hotel in Mersing caused me to write this review.

Having read the good reviews about this hotel last weekend I called a week ahead and made a reservation for the following Friday night. I knew that Mersing was busy on Friday with people heading to Tioman for the weekend (as I was myself).

I arrived at the Embassy hotel at about 9.45 p.m. looking forward to resting in the room I’d booked but when I arrived and advised that I had made a reservation the person in charge told me that there was no reservation under my name. I was told “there are many Hotel Embassy’s in Malaysia, maybe you booked the wrong one”. I then showed the person in charge my notebook along with the phone number I had called to make the booking, he accepted the it was the correct number and then said “Malays don’t speak good English, maybe this is why we don’t have your booking.” When I booked it was clear that there was no misunderstanding, I had spelled my name out and made the date of the reservation very clear.

I was also informed that the hotel was full because someone had booked 10 rooms. I can only guess that my booking was “lost” to accommodate the larger group. The person in charge made no effort to help me find alternative accommodation and the only available room at that time on a Friday evening was less than average.

Beware when booking this hotel. Record the name of the person you speak to, triple check that they have recorded your booking correctly and call again the day before to confirm. You don’t want to end up in the only other alternatives on a busy Friday night.

Shane

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shanegrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

For 55 Ringgit you will appreciate a clean and spacious room and bathroom (hot shower, good pressure, towels), cozy bed, AC, tv, and wifi. No breakfast but it's easy to find somewhere else.
Anyway the perfect place before or after rustic and dirty bungalows of Tioman Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over en route to Tioman. I was surprised at the cleanliness of the rooms, especially the en suite. To access out room, we had to leave the main reception and go up a flight if stairs that wasn't locked (however there was security on overnight). We only stayed one night but would stay here again if we were ever back. There is also a little cafe downstairs which serves cheap beer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VesperLynd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight stay en route to Sibu Island. As there were 4 of us, I insisted for the room with 2 double beds. The only room with this arrangemnt is at the old wing. Located at 3rd floor. No elevator. Room was clean. Aircond was not cold but since we arrived about midnight I didnt bother to go downstairs to the reception at ground floor to request for a room change. The place is quiet.
What would I have done different ? Request for a room at the new wing
Will I visit this place again ? Yes. For a stop over - clean, safe & super value for money

Room Tip: Request for rooms at new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessikah_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've stayed here twice, once on our way to Pulau Tioman, once on our way back. The hotel does the job. Nothing special or fancy but clean, big rooms close to bus terminal and ferry. Everything you want for a cheap night before/after going to Pulau Tioman.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.1 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
135 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
#1 of 3 in Kuala Rompin
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mersing
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tanjung Leman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Property: Embassy Hotel
Address: 2 Jl Jalan Ismail, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing