We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended but do we have a choice”
Review of Hotel Havanita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Havanita
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not recommended but do we have a choice”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

There are nt many decent hotels in Mersing and we end up booking this hotel based on reviews. Stayed here for 4 nights on a biz trip. The room was ok but they have to do something with d air cond, it was too noisy. The so called ala carte American breakfast was sucks. Staff were seen uninterested. Will definitely nt coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaalatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
17
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel together with Timotel (2 blocks away) had always been our choice accommodation for a stopover before proceeding northwards or to the nearby islands. Rooms are very spacious and although the TV in the rooms are those Cathode Ray Tube types, the variety of channels that they offered are quite good. Wi-fi connection inside the rooms are very good with hardly any interruption. There's nothing to do around Mersing Town especially in the evening, therefore having the TV and internet are the necessary comforts that help to kill boredom. Pillows are a bit too small and the airconditioning can be loud in some rooms. As for breakfast, we have stayed in this hotel numerous times and sometimes we had a simple buffet and other times there were no buffet but standard asian or western breakfast served to us. I had no problem with the latter but more with the buffet breakfast. Staff hardly or didn't bother to replenish the food even though there are other hotel guests who were waiting for the food. Even the tea and coffee were not filled up and sometimes the guests had to ask for it. This is one area where the food & beverage department needs to improve and staff needs to be more attentive. First time when I stayed here in 2008, I will give it 4 out 5 rating but I had to give it 3 this time as when we stayed here on 24th May, 2013, we have noticed that more need to be done on the overall maintenance. Nevertheless, this hotel is a good hotel and is functional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeeRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My bussiness trip with my wife to deal with land owner here.
so i need a good place to rest.
and i come to this Havanita as its looks cool from outside
and after book a deluxe room fand...
first the airconditioned are noisy and not even cool.

secondly the american ala cate bfast are totaly sucks.

not worthy .. i m not recommening this hotel to ebveryone else

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tetamu_senja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mersing hotels

Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stoped over at Mersing before my Tioman trip the next day and found this hotel to be the right one.
I was really suprised with the standard of their junior suite where they have a living, a small change area, good bathroom and excellent bedding to accomodate 3 of us.
The surroundings of the hotel area gives you a good feeling.
You can also surf their website before deciding.
Try it!
Siva

Room Tip: Get the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SivaPenang_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Driving to Mersing during CNY was not a good move, when especially hotels are fully booked everywhere.
We were in Mersing to let our kids encounter the 'padi field' experience as part of their education trip.
Thou some roads leading to certain areas made us felt creepy and with mixed feelings, Hotel Havanita saved us with a room enough to cramp us in.
Thou, hotel food was not a paradise at all, the service and ambience was its good points. =)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlini-Ridlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit here. Overall room clean clean. Location - walking distance to mersing town. Free breakfast even though small selection choice is tasty. Staff courteous. Waitress naming one - Miss Yat is accomodating & pleasant. Facade appear deceivong but Worth my money staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8879idris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My colleagues and I travelled here for a meeting in Mersing town and was generally impressed with the hotel. The location seemed central and easy to find. It's a small hotel, with huge modern rooms. It was clean, cozy and even had satellite television, great for a town that doesn't have much to do. Breakfast is provided and you can choose from only 2 menus which is okay considering the price we paid for the rooms. At night, we drank and chilled at the lobby, which had comfy couches and light music. My colleagues ordered room service and wasn't too impressed with the food. Overall, we didn't have much to complain about. Would definitely recommend to anyone for a short stay in this small town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamaniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mersing hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mersing
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mersing Merlin Inn
Mersing Merlin Inn
#2 of 14 in Mersing
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havanita

Property: Hotel Havanita
Address: 88 Jalan Endau, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Havanita 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Havanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Havanita Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing