We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER DUPER DIMSUM”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed October 25, 2019 via mobile

Nice set up
Cosy ambience
Friendly staff namely Aqilah & Waynes
Very tasty siao long bao
Also chicken feet
And century egg congee
Will surely recommend to friends and family

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank 1958_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage (DFOB) at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear 1958_28,

Thank you for your great review and positive feedback!...truly an inspirational and motivating comments that will help and motivate us to continue to strive for 'perfection'.

We're glad the food quality has met if not exceeded your expectations and value for money spent. I've also conveyed your appreciation to both Aqilah and Waynes for their friendliness whom in return have mentioned, i quote "It was our pleasure".

Looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Best regards
M.Mahady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2019

Thanks to Aqilah, one of the restaurant attendant who helped us with a delightful choice of dinner menu courses complete with a perfect dessert of chilled mango puree with golden custard bun! :)

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank alinrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

Dear alinrose,

Thank you for your very positive and motivating review which continues to show us if we're on the right path to provide great service and food quality.

Aqilah whom has recently joined us a month ago is a gem for us and has shown sincere and dedication in her daily task which obviously has been experienced by yourself. She is return is pleased that she managed to meet if not exceed your dinning experience and looks forwards to having you back again in the future if not sooner.

Again, thank you from us in The Renaissance Johor Bahru's F&B team!

Best culinary regards

Mohamad Mahady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

Quality of food are better than my previous visit . Recommended sweet and sour fish and fried rice. Will visit again. Thank You.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ymc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2019

Dear ymc888,

It's wonderful to have you back again and we're extremely glad you've notice the food quality has improved as we have a New Chef on Board, Chef Linus Mak and his team are diligently improving on the existing dishes and upcoming new menus soon.

Will pass on your positive and motivating feedback to the team and we're looking forward to having you with us in the near future.

Best regards

Mohamad Mahady
Director of Food and Beverage
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Been patronising this place on and off.

Drop by recently to purchase some mooncake and was really impress by their workmanship.

For starters the double egg yolk lotus was excellent. Not too sweet, perfect texture the purity of the lotus paste was perfect. Same goes to the durian snow skin mooncake. Was told that they use "musang King" durian to make the mooncake.

Was informed that the mooncake had no preservatives so that is a plus point for me.

Great service by Mr. Partheeban, Mr. Henry and Ms. Jun.

Definitely the best mooncake I have tasted this year.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Matthew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear Mr Matthew-MY,

Thank you for your very nice and positive while motivating review which has truly lifted up our spirits and continued dedications in what we do daily.

Your feedback and continued loyalty is very important to us and we will ensure we continue on consistently in preparations for the years to come in our Mooncake productions.

Wishing you this up coming a great Autumn festival.

Best regards

Mohamad Mahady
Director of food and Beverage
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Good food and good service , price reasonable ,Mooncake is nice and many varieties . Buffet tim sum recommended

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ymc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food & Beverage at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear ymc888,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and positive reviews. Indeed, we're known every year for our 'Handmade' preservative free Mooncakes and we're absolutely glad that you enjoyed them and not forgetting our signature in house made Dim Sum.

Please do come by again in the near future and we're again make your dining experience an experience to always cherish.

Best regards

Mohamad Mahady
Director of Food and Beverage
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.