We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Chinese Food”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Had some of the best chinese food i've ever tasted at this place. Never expected to be delighted as much as I was in JB! Totally blown away by the exquisite class and high standard of the restaurant from the taste of the food to the service from the staff. I highly recommend anyone who happens to have time in JB to drop with a few clients for a classy dinner at this awesome restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stumbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Stumbling,

You've said it all which is why we're the best Chinese restaurant in JB and we're glad we have managed to make you feel satisfied.

I have shared your great comments with my team and the service whom in return are glad they have made you feel this way and we're all looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you and best culinary regards,


Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Went to jb for a two day trip and decided to have dim sum for lunch. We went to wan li and was served by Shen Ynn. She recommended the dim sum a la carte buffet and we didnt regret taking her advice. Definitely will return for the excellent service and awesome food that wan li has to offer.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank chaileel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Dear ChaiLee L,

Thank you for your 5 'bubble' rating for both service and food quality. Shen Ynn knows her stuffs and just what and when to recommend from our menu to which we are glad you've found both the service and food to be excellent.

Do kindly drop by again on your next visit especially in August where we will be having on sale our signature Mooncakes i'm told 'the best in JB'.

Until then, do take care and looking forward.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Reasonable price for halal dim sum in town. Must try Mango Peking roast duck. It's so delicious! Children like it the most.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Chu Ying N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Chu Ying N,

Thank you for your positive feedback which i have shared with the team and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here because the restaurant we intended to go to was fully booked.

The manager and her staff was very nice. In my haste to secure a place for dinner for my parents, I barged into the restaurant while it was still closed. They were warm and answered all my questions politely.

The dishes were delicious. We had peking duck, tofu with mushroom, beef, ginseng chicken double boiled soup and fried egg noodles.

Good service and great food. The next time, we will be back for Dim Sum.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Xiaoling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Xiaoling10,

Thank you for your review and we're glad you choose us as an alternative which proofed to be a great decision.
Truly glad we have met if not exceeded your expectations and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

Visited this restaurant after reading some reviews. My partner and me frequent JB a lot and have tasted few fine restaurants too.

The peking duck was a let down as compared to MeiSan at Mutiara. Could not taste the mango at all. The vegetable was way too bland.. no taste at all. The durian prawn- tastes ok but just felt the 2 combination doesn't blend in well. Thankfully, the grilled cod fish was really good and it was the dish that saved the entire meal.

To us, there are a few better restaurants we have tasted in terms of culinary and quality.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Almyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Dear Almyhappy,

Thank you for your review and feedback, unfortunately, we have come short on your expectations especially with our signature dishes which we will look through in details again.
Yes, thankfully the Cod fish has exceeded your expectations and please allow us to serve you again and try the more improved Peking duck.

Looking forward and best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.