We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing new Executive Chef!”

Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Description: This all-day dining restaurant's casual and creative menu serves up international cuisine with a local touch, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner in Johor Bahru. Our live cooking stations provide guests with a unique and memorable dining experience. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: This all-day dining restaurant's casual and creative menu serves up international cuisine with a local touch, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner in Johor Bahru. Our live cooking stations provide guests with a unique and memorable dining experience. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed August 7, 2019

My wife and I come here every year for birthdays, so we have seen a lot of changes here. This year the new executive chef, Arnold, runs a great restaurant that catered to our every need. From remembering our drinks, main course favorites to desserts, It was just incredible. We look forward to returning next year!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TheBusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food & Beverage at Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear TheBusboy,

Thank you for your fantastic review and feedback. Yes, Chef Arnold is also very pleased that we have met if not exceeded your expectation and remembering your drinks, main course favorites to desserts.

We're looking forward to your next visit in 2020!

Take care and best regards,

Mohamad Mahady
Director of Food and Beverage
Renaissance hotel Johor Bahru
mohamad.abdullah@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 100 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2019

we had an amzing breakfast here with deliciouse test and complately option. and the stuff here beat friendly we really have hight reccommended to visit here.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank john333881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food & Beverage at Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear john333881,

Thank you for response and positive feedback. We're truly glad that you've had an 'Amazing' breakfast experience which is something we at Renaissance emphasize on and have gone through and are still making positive changes daily to meet if not exceed all our guest expectations and for those from far away, discover 'something wonderfully new'.

Looking forward to having you with us in the near future.


Take care and best regards,

Mohamad Mahady
Director of Food and Beverage
Renaissance hotel Johor Bahru
mohamad.abdullah@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Stayed a week and had breakfast everyday. One morning I was showed to a table and hence placed my bag on the seat to go and get my food. When I return, I was told to move by some other guests and the same waitress that showed me the table, just stood there and watched. Didn't want to cause a scene, so I moved. However, this is really unacceptable service in a 5 or 4-star hotel. Service staff are pleasant enough but not very professional. Also, there was a hair in the cheese bowl at the omelette station, and when I pointed it out, instead of changing the bowl, the waitress simply took out the hair in front of me and left the bowl right there!!! Shocking.

Overall the food is just acceptable.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ID196507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Dear ID196507,

Firstly, please accept my sincere deepest apologies for the incident you have experienced as it's not our standards at all and for this, we are truly sorry and please ensure that we are focusing on more training and without any excuses to ensure we meet the required standards and meet if not exceed our guests expectations.

Please let us know when you're planning to come back to Johor Bahru for us to meet up and re-gain your loyalty and confidence with us. I can be also contacted on the e-mail below if you would like to share with me any further details and observations.

Best regards

Mohamad Mahady
mohamad.abdullah@marriott.com
+601131326606

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

Hard to be enthusiastic about hotel buffet lunches and dinners. It is, after all, catering to the masses. A few patrons from other countries can sometimes behave like "pigs at a trough" but overall, the food is diverse, varied and lends itself to mass production, self service and, in the end, you always have the option of choosing from their a la carte menu. Service can sometimes suffer when things get busy but I only experienced this at breakfast.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lawrence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Dear Lawrence Y

I am glad we have a very honest and detailed review which will help us make the necessary changes and refinement in our offerings.
I understand that some guest might seemed overwhelmed with the offerings and or are just simply hungry where they might have acted like "pigs at a trough" and for that, i apologize for their behavior which has obviously offended you.
We're keeping in mind the vast amount of nationalities that patronize the Cafe BLD as to why we have a large selection and mostly Asian influenced cuisines making sure we at The Renaissance keeping it 'indigenous' as much as possible.
Breakfast, yes at the peek periods when all the folks come down can be quite an experience and service sometimes does get stacked up and for that, we apologize.

On your next visit, please lets meet up and to further share your experience and what we can do further to improve both our service and food quality.

Best regards
Mahady
Mohamad.abdullah@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Went this Lunch buffect last Sat. Read review in FAVE a lots people rating said good, so i went and try. Actual price RM86 and buy at Fave RM68

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hoyctsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Director of Food and Beverage at Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Dear Hoyctsp'

Thank you for taking the time to review us and trust the judgement of other reviews to come experience yourself the selections we have.

We hope we've met or exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your next visit and any further suggestions to add on to our selections.

Again, thank you for patronizing our establishment which is very much appreciated.

Sincerely,

MOHAMAD MAHADY ABDULLAH
Director of Food and Beverage Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
E-mail: mohamad.abdullah@marriott.com
+601131326606

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Cafe BLD at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.