We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but a bit pricy”
Review of Spice Grill

Spice Grill
Ranked #8 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Food: Ordered the fish of day with spice grill sauce, cod fish, masala lamb, paneer tikka, mixed platter appetiser, butter naan and rice. The only outstanding course is the mixed platter appetiser especially the chicken was grilled to perfection. Cod fish was also good but mostly due to the quality of fish than anything. The rest are pretty average and the fish of day just didn’t suit our taste.

Service: Wonderful service with the waiter showing us photos of food and asking about our meal. Though the restaurant was pretty empty, so they have nothing much to do anyways.

Value: On the pricier side, it was ~RM450 including 2 cups of salted and mango lassi each. The appetiser itself costs ~RM160, but given the taste, is still worth it.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank 780zhengf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

Nothing to sour about everything here is just average although the hotel staff recommend to be the best Restaurant around this area.
Tried the chicken curry and fish curry very small portion and too sweet .
Garlic and butter naan also taste very normal .

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Jimtgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Excellent ambience, excellent food

Only need to improve in service
I have to wait 15min to get someone to order the food.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Shabrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

We dined here the other day as we have heard many fantastic thing about this place and as you enter you can see why, waiters are very attentive and the food price wise wasnt too bad, if I had to say something constructive then id ad that I think the plating could be touched up on just alittle. But great dining experience

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank asiaboundless
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

Never expected to have some of the best Indian food we’ve ever had from this corner of Malaysia. The venue is lovely, service is great and very kid friendly. We’ve been back twice now and have particularly loved the Chicken Tikka, Fish Tikka and Paneer Butter Masala. The Naan bread and Roti were a little different than we’re used to (a little dry), but it’s likely a regional thing. If you’re in the area, make sure to stop by: you won’t be disappointed!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank grillingchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Grill also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Spice Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.