We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel central in Johor Bahru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited Johor Bahru on our holiday in Malaysia and Singapore. We chose the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel due to Tripadvisor comments and great pictures, and we weren't dissapointed. The hotel seamed all new, the decor was really nice. The room was light and bright, and the open shower just made the room a bit different from others (you can always get the curtain down in front of the shower). The bed was comfortable. The service at the hotel was fantastic, unlike anything we ever experienced. The hotel staff was excellent and very welcoming! We ate dinner and lunch at the newly opened italian restaurant at the hotel. The service was great and the food very tastefull! It's also extremly cosy to sit and take a drink outside at night! The breakfast is being served in the restaurant at first floor, the assortement of food is beyond any expectations! The pool area is really nice, with decorating trees and lights. The gym is also good. The hotel is located central in JB, short distance to the big shopping centres. We had an excellent stay at the Doubletree in Johor Bahru! Will definitely recommend this to others :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Hhanne,

Thank you for completing a review after your recent stay with us. As a new hotel, we appreciate every feedback and it is a great encouragement to receive such encouraging review.

We are very happy to hear that our service and facilities have generally met with or exceeded your expectations. It is equally pleasing to note that our service staff has been able to leave a positive impression as it is our commitment to the DoubleTree "CARE" culture and we are certainly delighted that it has been felt by our guests. The three distinctive outlets at the hotel is one of our key selling points and it is our pleasure to hear that they have been able to act as a plus to your experience with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

The overall experience was excellence except for several areas.But there is nothing major to complaint about as it was one of the best experience i have when travelling.

The experience in this hotel is marvelous. I was greeted by a bellman name AZMAN who assisted me from my car all the way to the lobby. After long hours of driving the last thing i want to face is trouble when checking - in MICHAEL & MASLIZA have really uplift my experience and set a high standards of expectation of service. I immediately get a complimentary room upgrade (Hilton HHonors) and complimentary WIFI (although i am not entitled to). the service at the front desk was consistent and they even recognizes my face and by name .

The room, amenities and facilities:
excellent! minimal but sufficient. Lighting in room is bright enough to do my work and everything is in order. although a DVD player is handy to have in a room. Also the pillows are not comfortable as it was too soft. i woke up with back ache and stiff neck. The pool, gym and Jacuzzi are great! a great place to chill after long meetings. I was consistently greeted by a staff name HASRUL RIZAL and without fail open the door/ hold the elevator door for me and being a solo business traveler and a lady this is definitely welcome.

The location:
5 minutes walk to Komtar and City Square for shopping/ restaurants and also about 10 mins walk to kota Raya, Pasar karat and other local attraction and eateries such as warong Saga. Located in the middle of city close by to Danga Bay, Nusajaya and other business center.

F&B:
My morning was greeted by an Executive sous chef at the Makan kitchen name Chef ONG ENG KOK. who chatted with me and ensure that my scramble egg was sent to me instead of waiting at the counter definitely made me smile after bad night sleep. Then later in the evening, i was attracted with the ambiance of TOSCA by the pool on 13th floor, so i decided to have dinner and i was greeted by GRETCHEN who is so efficient and friendly. This place is a great meeting place or just to have dinner, the pizza and dessert was great! The restaurant manager, JAI was really friendly and attentive. we had our pizza really late, after almost an hour, He came and apologize for the delay and the chef, YUZRY even come out and apologize because they had a high profile guest that night and i got a complimentary dessert.. Nothing to complaint there! 2 thumbs up for this restaurant!

Housekeeping:

Ned to improve on the service. Every time we ask for better pillow, they don't have it and it will take forever for them to attend to our request. Since this is not the first time i stayed here, and this is not the first time they ran out of good pillow/ hard pillow.

Definitely a place for business and be hilton Hhonors for more benefits

Room Tip: Ask for hard pillow for comfort. Higher floor facing the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowbell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Dear Snowbell85,

Thank you for completing a review after your stay with us. We greatly value your feedback on the hotel and its services. Please accept our apology for this rather belated response on your review.

As noted, we do enjoy an enviable location, surrounded by major business, shopping malls and historical sites. We are certainly delighted to hear that our service and facilities generally met with or exceeded your expectations. Equally pleasing to find that the team has been able to uphold the signature DoubleTree by Hilton “CARE” culture, in ensuring that every guest has a memorable stay. Your personal mention of our team members, is certainly inspiring and we would definitely deliver the compliment to the respective individuals.

Your concern on the housekeeping team is duly noted and please be assured that constant training is undergoing as part of our commitment to constant improvement. You will also be pleased to hear that we are in the process of delivering a pillow menu for the comfort and enjoyment of our guests with us.

Thank you once again for your comprehensive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

What can I say, the service at this hotel sets it apart from its competition. I have stayed at Thistle, Traders, and Renaissance in JB previously. I have also just completed stays in Hilton Shanghai, Tokyo and Conrad in Seoul in Jul 2014 and the service at DT JB beats them all for the warmth and sincerity.

I was celebrating my younger son's birthday and I was touched by the surprise birthday cake and song the executive lounge staff put up for him.

The kindness of Mr Simon M for his thoughtfulness and hospitality, the beautiful rooms, small but pretty pool, service oriented staff. This will be my defacto hotel in JB.

Kudos to the great team at DT JB - 5 star service and team. Congrats!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear lynntan,

Thank you for completing a review after your recent stay with us. As a newly opened hotel all feedback is of great value to us as we streamline our products and services.

We are extremely pleased to note that our service and facilities generally met with or exceeded your expectations. Equally pleasing was your comment on the warmth and friendliness of the Team, and that we have been able to participate in your son's birthday. It is great to hear of the DoubleTree by Hilton "CARE" culture being felt by the guests. Your compliment is especially encouraging and we will certainly highlight the mentions to our team members.

Thank you once again for feedback, we will look forward to welcoming you & your family back again soon!

Warmest regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The services is good and the staff are very helpful. Like the interior design of the whole hotel. The meeting room is just nice and there is an area for smokers just beside the foyer of meeting rooms. Dining area, Makan Kitchen is surprisingly good. What to say is the sleep quality. Just maybe I was using the extra bed and the pillow was too low or flat for me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Joelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Joelle N,

Thank you so much for completing a review after your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru.

It is our pleasure indeed to hear that our service and facilities generally met with or exceeded your expectations. Makan Kitchen celebrates the best of Malaysian cuisine and we are certainly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed it well!

As our commitment to continuous improvement, we are currently engineering a pillow menu to match different preferences of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Being a Singaporean we clearly enjoy the benefits of having a strong currency against the Malaysian Ringgit and this extends to probably most of the consumer goods in Malaysia including hotels. Unfortunately, there isn't much options for us in terms of finding a suitable hotel with cleanliness, comfort and good location across the border.

I think Doubletree Hilton is an excellent addition due to its location, cleanliness, and generally comfortable accommodation.

Location is not perfect-around 15 minutes walk to the city centre but looking at the other options available you can't find another hotel of the same class in the vicinity.

The room is generally clean, bed is comfortable (though pillows seem a bit flat-got a sore neck after sleeping), and there's a nice touch from using Crabtree and Evelyn amenities.

They give you a cookie during check in so that's pretty unique I think.

Would I stay here again the next time I do a short stay in Johor? Yes I probably would! Hopefully they can keep up the level of cleanliness in the rooms and the hotel premises in general.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VincSiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Dear VincSiow

Thank you for completing a review after your stay with us. We greatly value your feedback on the hotel and its services. Please accept our apology for this rather belated response on your review.

Having located right in the heart of Johor Bahru City Centre with close proximity to a number of historical sites, major business and shopping malls such as City Square Mall & KOMTAR JBCC, the strategic location of the hotel is generally viewed as a great value-adding point for our guests.

We are certainly delighted to hear that our service and facilities generally met or exceeded your expectation. Equally pleasing is your comment on our signature DoubleTree cookie - it is our unique to say "welcome" and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed it!

Your vote of confidence is a great encouragement and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

You should discover an amazing new hotel in the state of Johor in West Malaysia. Nice location as it is tucked away from the main city centre. Believe it opened first week of July. You would not expect a nicer room accommodation in this little town. The service from the team is genuine, always wanting to extend assistance. The variety of items from the buffet breakfast would please most guests. Something you should discover.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank TheresaGLChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear TheresaGLChoo

Thank you sincerely for the encouraging review completed after your recent stay at the hotel.

As noted we do enjoy an enviable location with only minutes away from major shopping malls and a number of historical sites, and we are so glad to hear that our facilities have generally met with or exceeded your expectations.I was also thrilled to find that our breakfast and our team left positive memories to dwell on.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel environment and room condition is excellent. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. My husband wanted more cookies as they were so yummy. The bed was comfortable and the pool was very clean. We had a wonderful time and my kids loved the place. Value for money too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Siti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonMcGrath, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Siti F,

Thank you so much for completing a review of the hotel after your recent stay.

We are very happy to hear that our service and facilities have generally met with or exceeded your expectations. Equally pleasing is to hear that our team has made you feel welcome and well looked after as this is a key focus of our DoubleTree "CARE" culture.

The warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie is just our way to say welcome and we are glad that you and your family have enjoyed our little token!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
454 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
9.2 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: 12 Jalan Ngee Heng, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $74 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Johor Barhu city and minutes from the Singapore causeway, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru overlooks the Straits of Johor and is moments away from both the business and shopping precincts. Offering a range of room styles suiting both long and short stay guests with both western and local dining options, Doubletree by Hilton Johor Bahru caters to all tastes. The hotel also boasts a dedicated events floor and stunning recreational facilities including pool, gym, steam rooms and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing