We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From a fine resort to bad and now worse” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulai Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pulai Springs Resort
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From a fine resort to bad and now worse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd or 4th time here... used to find this place very relaxing. My recent stay has been worse. Lift is not working, swimming pool near anugraha area is very very dirty. The pool bar I wonder what happened to that place. Everything seems so dead. Breakfast was ok only. My 2nd day breakfast i received a shock when their restaurant staff demanded me to pay for my younger son. I had booked family affair package for 2 bedroom apartment that comes with 4 breakfast for adult and maximun 2 kids (aged up to 12 yrs) free. She could tell me that there was a mistake in the online booking hence I have to pay. I told her it is your system glitch.. hence it is not my problem. So these are the things that I felt that Pulai lack of. That is customer service. Not to say resort need a big time refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabiraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to rate and review us on Tripadvisor. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your visit this time.

We are very sorry that the lift was not functioning during your stay with us as we were doing our routine maintenance. We also apologize that the swimming pool water was dirty while you were here. Please be assured that your comments have been brought up to our Sports & Recreations Manager.

I also apologize for the inconveniences you have faced during breakfast at our coffee house.

We hope this will not deter you from supporting us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you and your family here and this time, we assure you that it will be worth it!


Warm Regards,
Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    264
    224
    85
    57
See reviews for
373
101
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is suppossed to be a 5 star resort but the service i received was totally dissapointed! The environment and the locatioan were excellent but the staff was not efficient enough to deliver the services as expected. The slow process during check out, the cashier system broke down most of the time and the repeated toilet not functioning. However the room service was excellet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haslinarusdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time to review and rate us on Tripadvisor.

We understand that the situation you have experienced was really unfortunate; however, to provide explanations to your points raised is not my intention. I would like to inform you that we have highlighted this issue with our training and development personnel who will aggresively handle all training from the departments concerned. Therefore, we are scheduled to carry out additional and intensive trainings on weekly basis for all the staff particularly in the housekeeping and operations department. This is to equip our staff with proper skills and knowledge in handling our customers and to ensure our other guest would not experience what you have experienced.

We are very sorry that the cashier system and toilet did not function very well during your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been brought up to our Maintenance Department and they will be doing regular checks to ensure that all are functioning as it is supposed to be.

It is with sincerity that I apologize for not meeting the expectations, but we are also genuinely grateful for the feedback. This has certainly helped us to improve our services to meet the expectations of our guests in the future.

On behalf of my team, we look forward to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Yours truly,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

About 45 minutes' drive from Singapore - provided you dont get lost (which is not unlikely). Hotel should consider providing clearer driving directions from Singapore on their website. Beautiful setting, adequate facilities, reasonably helpful staff. Big rooms - not luxurious, but cannot complain given the price. Bed, linen, bathroom reasonably clean. Hot water and shower pressure ok.... though the WC flush needed a bit of persuasion and the shower head kept drooping. Lobby and corridor played a Clayderman song on an endless loop - annoying. TV reception disgraceful. Either get rid of the TV or provide decent reception. Free water bottles in room were appreciated, but limit to two bath towels (no floor nor face towels) not. Breakfast included - nothing to write home about. Poor cereal & fruit selection. Nasi Lemak not bad. Lousy fruit juices. Coffee & tea awful. Good hawker food 10 minutes' drive away though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time to review and rate us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pulai Springs Resort. Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedbacks as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guest’s expectations.

Based on your feedback, you have highlighted about the driving directions in our website. I apologize on this; however, I am delighted to inform you that we are doing a revamp on our official website. We will make sure that the content, maps and any other information in the website are interesting and easy for our visitors. In addition, the new webpage will be launched by early November. Please look out for it.

Regarding other facilities that you have mentioned, we take note and we will improve in the songs selection and also fix the TV reception. To provide explanations to your points raised is not my intention, only to inform you that your comments have been discussed with the relevant team responsible & actions have been taken to ensure similar examples do not occur again in the future. The food served during breakfast, especially the juices and cereal were also highlighted to our chefs and we will do all we can to make improvement.

Please bear with us as we are striving to provide the best for all our guests at the Resort. Once again, I would like to thank you for your useful comments. This will certainly help us to improve our services from time to time.

We look forward to see you here at the Resort and we assure you, it will be worth it!

Yours Truly,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Proximity to Singapore for a quick getaway, Affordable, Decent ammenities and facilities available

Cons: Location, Food

Generally, a good decent place that is value for money for a short quick getaway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JC_5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review and rate us on Tripadvisor.

Through your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. It is our commitment to exceed guest expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Best Regards,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

the place quite far from town.. need around 20 minutes from 1 place to another place. But the surrounding so calm.. I got the suite room golf view.. I loved the view. the room big enough for 2.. the bed also big. they serve the continental breakfast.. just same to others hotel.. the swimming pool beside their bar.. the staff are nicely to us..

Room Tip: if you love to eat at night.. better you buy all food before reach there.. because its quite far for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoy_fender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time to review and rate us on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. I glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guest expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests providing our guests with only the best service.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Best Regards,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Clean and comfortable room.Very nice view from the room.We stayed in a apartment based room.The place was very peace and calm.A highly recommended place for peace of mind and relaxation. Pulai Spring Resort is highly recommended since it is a 5 star resort which have the good ammenities. Pulai spring also provide gold playing services.The staff are very friendly and good customer service

Room Tip: I choose Family suite room at the the corner.it was clean and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking some time to review and rate us on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. I glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guest expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests providing our guests with only the best service.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Best Regards,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had my wedding there this January - a truly big fat Indian wedding, glad it all went well in such a nice location! A little difficult organising initially but went through in the end! clean, rooms are spacious and clean as well and layout very pretty of the entire resort!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Pulai Springs Resort!

On behalf of Pulai Springs Resort, I would like to thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor after celebrating your wedding here recently.

I am glad that everything went well and you were happy with the entire set up, the location, our spacious rooms and the services overall. I will surely disseminate this information to our team here.

The entire team here at Pulai Springs Resort also had a lot of fun making all the preparations before your big day.

We hope to see you again and we will you all the best.

Kind Regards,
Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
11.9 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
10.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
9.8 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
14.4 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
8.9 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Property: Pulai Springs Resort
Address: 20 km Jalan Pontian, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing