We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rats crawling” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
M Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Rats crawling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Checking in was fast. Booked 2 bedroom facing the sea but the noise from moving vehicle on the main road was unbearable even when window was closely shut. Room condition was really in bad shape, stain carpet, leaked aircon vent, dirty curtains,old linen and bed cover,choke pipeline and there's a rat making noise on the ceiling.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Etta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    98
    101
    40
    14
See reviews for
162
30
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here with my family and young kids, we had the best time and the rooms were spacious.
Enjoyed every bit, breakfast was awesome.
I have attached the pics that i have taken, hope it helps other travellers too.
I have had placed order with the restaurant, food for nice but was priced a bit steep.
Nevertheless we enjoyed the stay and the kids enjoyed their holiday

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We are group of company staff.
we can see how people are deterred It's a bit steep for a3 or 4 star hotel, but we never had any issue just change more brighter and saver energy lights in corridors especially 2nd flr area well not-so-pleasant start to your stay.
-when we arrived in room I called housekeeping to send a food menu in our room she don't understand and I called room service no one answrd and finally I called an operator a sweet warm greetings on the phone she is very polite and very helpful and efficient you should connect request calls to her I forgot to ask her name But absolutely disappointing
-the front desk could do MUCH better as far as hospitality (it IS their industry, no?!); when we arrived we got no more than "can I help you?" Where is the smile and "welcome to our hotel!"? Train your staff better. Honestly, we had friendlier interactions with housekeeping (who asked how we were and told us to have a wonderful day). They should definitely train/hire front people who do their jobs properly. Sort of leaves a bitter taste in your mouth, for being in the service industry,not attractive waitressand pregnant lady not polite to the guest on the phone requesting to extend his stay.
The swimming pool attendant like deaf.basement carpark needs one bellman to carry guest luggage .I like chinese food.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel0_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at M Suites hotel on 21/10/13. Booked for Premier Suites. Check in very smooth. The reception staff already prepared with the booking list. Room are clean. high variety on breakfast spread. May consider to stay here again. Only Wifi is slow when in room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norah888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We love our 3bedroom suite. We are family travelling with four boys. The room is spacious, awesome breakfast buffet, excellent service - they are really accommodating. The kids love the pool. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for a 3D2N holiday at M-suites, with my wife and 2 children. Firstly the location is in a quiet area of johor, with nothing to see or do within the immediate walking distance of the hotel. If you need to get groceries, please get them before you arrive at the hotel. Nearby to the hotel is the Danga Bay marina area, where it is deserted by day, but quite pretty by night. The old-school carnival opens at night, with lots of kiddie rides for your children to play.

Next, amenities of the hotel.. We saw the photos of the swimming pool, here on tripadvisor, and we liked what we saw. but when we got there, however, I think the swimming pool was less impressive in person. I liked the fact that they spent money to do up 2 big slides for the children, but i felt it was poorly designed. the white slide works well for kids, but for heavy adults, you will slide down much faster than the kids. Also, the material of the slide was rather rough, and caused my trunks to show signs of wear and tear just after 3 attempts on it. (and yes, because I was heavy and it made me go fast, my butt heated up pretty quickly.) So do keep that in mind if adults want to play the white slide. Also, the final drop at the end of the slide is pretty steep, so young children who don' know how to swim, might get submerged and they may not like. The yellow slide is a nice and slow slide, like it, except for the fact that once again, the final drop at the end is into the adults swimming pool (1.2m deep), which simply means that the child MUST be able to swim, else it will be pretty dangerous. Otherwise, it's a nice addition to the pool.

The breakfast is pretty good for me, simply because I like nasi lemak-style breakfast buffets (I'm pretty easy to please). There is sufficient variety to please my whole family and my kids (who had free flow of coco crunch, corn flakes and the likes). When I was there the buffet selection consisted of: Porridge and condiments, nasi lemak, mee goreng, sambal sotong, egg station, sausages, scrambled eggs, bread and butter pudding, chicken rendang, laksa johor style, lontong, bread table selection, fruits table selection, salad table selection, cereal table selection. drinks were ice/warm water, fruit punch, guava, and Dutch Lady UHT Whole milk.

The room was nice and large, though extra towels were chargeable. I requested for a floor towel which was free though. Wife felt the floor was dusty, so I mopped the floor manually with the floor towel so that the kids can run around in the room. toilets are simple and functional, no problem. TV selection was decent with the usual local channels and one or 2 movie channels. Pillows were pretty flat though.

Sleeping at night, we also had the problem of hearing the street racers race down the road outside the hotel, disturbing our sleep. we had to endure about an hour of random loud race car noises before the roar of the engine noises stopped.

I feel pretty safe using the underground carpark of the hotel, so I believe security is not an issue here. One problem with the parking system is that you got to take the parking ticket to the lobby reception for a fee waiver everytime before you exit the carpark, else you gotta pay $RM3 for the parking.

We took the hello kitty package from the hotel, which had no problems, the tickets are open dated tickets, and we used them with no problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Staff of M Suites made up for my misadventure. I fell outside the Hotel when my husband and I went for our morning walk. I fracture my left foot. When the M Suites staff were aware of my situation, their caring services made up for my pain and discomfort. Interestingly, we checked into a room where there were fixtures for the handicap. These have been a great help to me in my predicament. Thank you M Suite staff for the help and assistance rendered to me and my husband. God bless you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.9 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.0 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
2.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Suites Hotel

Property: M Suites Hotel
Address: M Suites Hotel 16 Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the border of the Straits of Johor overlooking Singapore, M Suites Hotel is a mere 15-minute drive from the Johor-Singapore Causeway. The hotel offers 133 rooms and is strategically located with easy access to Johor Bahru’s business and shopping centers making it an ideal hotel destination for leisure and business travelers. Other facilities provided are a coffee house, an Italian restaurant, Surau, private Karaoke room, outdoor swimming pool with 2 slides and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your M Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing