We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very impressive but meets basic needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
M Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not very impressive but meets basic needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The unit has recently been renovated with laminated floorings and new drapes. The downside is that the room, though renovated, has old beddings that smell damp. There is a kitchen in the apartment with a stove and full sized fridge, however, there are no cutlery, plates or crockery. Not even a bowl or spoon to have cereal. This is also the first hotel that I have come across that charges extra for additional towels and parking costs RM3 per stay. Also, we were only given bath towels in the rooms, no face towel or hand towels.
On a positive note, the food at breakfast was splendid with lots of choices from local to Western fares. Location of the hotel is good although a car is a necessary to get around as it is not in the middle of the city. However, do avoid rooms facing the main road as it can get quite noisy from the traffic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    98
    101
    40
    14
See reviews for
162
30
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We just spent 2 nights @ M Suites after booking a 3 bdroom suite online. Last stayed there 2 yrs ago & that is 1 of the factors that made us choose staying there again. What a disappointment!! on check in, the suite we got was so old & smelly as well & just gross! The toilet would not flush properly, the 1 bathroom ensuite had tiles missing & broken & no towels or toileteries. It was BAD! I went down & ask to be put in a better room, which they thankfully did ive us & which had been renovated from the looks of it a few yrs ago.

Breakfast: was very average for westerners & even though they had an egg station & chapati or poori station. was ok. Even this seems to have gone downhill from what we remembered of 2 yrs ago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeiledTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is quite a basic hotel but the service levels are high. The rooms are pretty big and good for a family. Rooms are also clean and nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. Good room rates. Can't complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were a little hesitant to book this hotel with some of the bad reviews. we had a very positive experience but maybe that was due to being upgraded to one of the newly renovated rooms on the 6th floor. it was quiet(facing the back), very large and clean. the ceilings were very high and had a modern design. the reception staff were always very helpful. the children especially enjoyed the pool (open from 7am to 7pm but the water slide doesn't seem to go on until 7:40am) the tiled steps to the slide are very slippery so be careful. our daughter slipped and bruised her leg. breakfast is a large buffet (almost a dinner) with malaysian and western offerings along with an indian station with chapatis and curries and omelet station. in the evening we ordered the assam pedas special for 34myr for two. it was plenty of food for a family of four with 2 small kids. all the food was tasty. it was about 20 minutes to legoland. ask the hotel to order you a red taxi. be careful of the blue executive taxis. their meters run at 3 times the regular red taxis.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visit Legoland during the week. It is crazy busy on weekends. Order the Assam Pedas for dinner.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side of the hotel and on a high floor. Most of the renovated rooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was staying at this hotel two times, in September and October 2012. Booked thru call, and it has a promotional rate during that month. I took 1 junior suites and its has a kitchenette Located nearby in front of the main highway in Johor Bahru, just a bit noisy because of the traffic especially at night. Easy to get a taxi, but it is quite far to get to the food court nearby. Big room, variety of breakfast buffet and a very helpful staff. I like this hotel and wish to stay here again and it is recommended to friends and families as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanieaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very prompt service from the Front Office and the house keeping department. My family enjoyed very much on the buffet breakfast and food at the Chinese Restaurant was excellent.. even though it was slightly late. Also, my kids really enjoyed the swimming pool, especially the slide.
The General Manager, Mr Dave was very helpful and assisted me to the clinic in town as i was having a painful tooth ache on my second day of stay there. Will surely recommend this Hotel to friends.

Rocky

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 200gurpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Chinese Restaurant, "Ming Court" that is housed in M Suites Hotel, Johor is an excellent restaurant to dine at even if you are not staying at the Hotel.

The food is authentic Malaysian Chinese cooking and the only chinese restaurant that caters to a wide variety of Chinese dishes in the area. I was really impressed- Excellent

Also, I must say that the Hotel lives up to its advertisement, which I viewed after returning from my trip. The rooms are spacious and the hotel itself is well placed for business travelers who intend Johor as thier place of business or Singapore.

Room Tip: All the rooms at this hotel are Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.9 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.0 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
2.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Suites Hotel

Property: M Suites Hotel
Address: M Suites Hotel 16 Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the border of the Straits of Johor overlooking Singapore, M Suites Hotel is a mere 15-minute drive from the Johor-Singapore Causeway. The hotel offers 133 rooms and is strategically located with easy access to Johor Bahru’s business and shopping centers making it an ideal hotel destination for leisure and business travelers. Other facilities provided are a coffee house, an Italian restaurant, Surau, private Karaoke room, outdoor swimming pool with 2 slides and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your M Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing