We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this little zoo for small children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johor Zoo

Johor Zoo
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved this little zoo for small children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very little zoo with a handful of animals. The entrance cost is less than $1 and so you should not expect too much. It is a fun place to spend a morning with small kids. We didn't find the food to be very good but it is all very cheap and drinks and snacks are well priced too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cambodiawandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    54
    64
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“please have more healthy animal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

was horrified that the baby elephant was chained, and when I say chained, and most of the animal is not healthy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ritajega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoy with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Of course that isn't a zoo to compare with Singapore or Frankfurt for example, but has a nice selection of animals that give especially younger kids a nice overview, entry is a few cents compared with so many other places. the Zoo is staff very friendly, speaks reasonably good English. We were evn asked to help feeding giraffes, one helper showed us some training putting his hands into a tigers mouth, it was a fun day (kid is 8 years, and want to go back there !)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Klaus-AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I never make the activity there. atmosphere naturally suited for animals that are in zoos. attracted by the indulgence of animals such as tigers who have been trained since childhood. cage the animals that are kept preserved from the times before. staff services provided are also very satisfactory.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nzura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johorbahru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Upgrading and Improvements at Zoo Johor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This Zoo has been in operation for nearly a century but was opened to the public about 5 decades ago. Being a Johorean by birth, I am a regular visitor since the early seventies. The improvements over the years is clearly visible and the effort by the management and staff is most valued. The living conditions of the animal, the food, the vibrant colors all added together gives visitors a memorable outing. Of late there has been lots of negative news on the net regarding this zoo which I feel is most uncalled for. I decided to organize a Project at Zoo Johor and being a member of the Lions Club in Johor Bahru, I decided to give an outing to 10 special needs children from the Cheshire Home Johor Bahru. We arrived at the zoo at 9 am. The children were brought to watch the feeding session for animal. The zoo staff helped carry the wheel chair bound children as the zoo grounds is not wheel chair friendly, had to put up with it due to space constraint but problem easily overcome with help from the zoo staff. The Zoo Authorities gave us a pavilion with stage to have a reading contest for children who patronized the zoo on that day. After which the children from the home sang to entertain the visitors of thew zoo on that day All contestants were rewarded and we had a lunch treat prepared by the Zoo staff. My club members, the children and cares from the home and the visitors to the Zoo on that day had a great time. All we spent was RM2 for adults and RM1 for children. Please treasure what we have and instead of making negative comments please give feedback to further improve this affordable tourist attraction. We in Johor have a heart too and in no way will sit back and watch animals being tortured. God bless all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chiandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johor Zoo also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Johor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing