We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tremendously improved over the years and to the staff a job well done”
Review of Johor Zoo

Johor Zoo
johorbahru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tremendously improved over the years and to the staff a job well done”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The bird shows are great. The food at outlets are reasonably priced. The place is clean and green. The entrance fee is cheap RM3 for adults

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank chiandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    58
    69
    24
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“crulty to baby elephant in chains in this Zoo”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This Zoo should be closed do not visit it, there are photoes of crualty to many animals see the Daily Mirror photoes of the baby elephant unable to move in chains.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank Sassisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“CLOSE THIS "ZOO" DOWN NOW!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was horrified that the baby elephant was chained, and when I say chained, I mean this baby elephant cannot move. The chains are on all four legs with both front feet chained seperated by only a foot or so in legnth. The elephant cannot move to shade to escape the heat or relax in any water. It is alone and the workers, or whoever these uneducated people were, threw rocks at the elephant when it tried to make a gesture towards anyone. This poor elephant is in HELL at this zoo and no one seems to care. The only caring goes as to how much money is coming through the gate. Someone needs to help this baby elephant escape this prison before it's too late. This elephant is physically and emotionally traumatized and may never recover. PLEASE, PLEASE SOMEONE HELP FREE THE ANIMALS IN THIS ZOO.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
18 Thank Greenebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Johor Zoo generally leaves a very poor impression. It looks old and as if there has not been put a lot of effort into keeping it up to standards. I saw a Python in a small metal cage with only a little plastic container with some water. Also, I was shocked by seeing personnel throwing rocks at elephants to keep them from getting too close to me. But then again, you pay only 3RM to get in, so what do you expect?
I do think it can be fun if you are looking for something for your kids in the otherwise not so exciting city of Johor Bahru.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank GielO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johorbahru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nature at its best in the heart of town, cheap great value for money entertainment”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The zoo authorities seem to be finding all ways to upgrade the place and some day we may be able to be at par with the zoo in Singapore but the only advantage shall be the entrance fee where we pay about one tenth of what we would pay if we went to Singapore, I just love going there during my leisure hours as I can spend hours in there by just payment an entrance fee of RM3-00. With new eateries and animal shows there place is soon becoming a great location for families to spend quality time and also watch the animals

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank chiandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johor Zoo also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Johor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing