We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms”

Austin Hills Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Par-72 36-hole golf course established in 1995, following the design by Peter Dalkeith Scott. Its two courses, Hill Course and Austin Course, lie on different planes. Water hazards are well featured, especially on the Austin Course, where the par-3 17th is the signature hole, with an island green. Other facilities include a hotel and swimming pool.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Big rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here are the best things around as the rooms are really really huge. Can easily fit 6 person in a room. And if you have a member card, you can get the rooms for very cheap price. The food is so so only and the rest of the facilities are all charge if you wna use them. Again, members gets discounts compared to non members

Helpful?
5 Thank colourstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    4
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very poor!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I went there with a group of friends the only thing that satisfied me was the spacious room, with two king sized bed.
However, when we went to the swimming pool, we were told that only 2 person r allowed to swim for each room!! the 3rd person has to pay Rm15.90!
It is very ridiculous because our room with two king sized room has at least 4 person.but they insist each room only free 2 person for every activity.
the next day we went to the washroom near the reception and ask for hair dryer, they didnt allow too! we kept begging the staff n she asked us to fill a form. so we filled it up and used the hair dryer. There're only few customers and the wifi is very poor. We had to stand outside the door to connect.
The place was beautiful though. but the service and management r so poor.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Tan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

we went to check in there the room was very big but the pillow and bed very soft like very old, the food lousy we eat several times even before we stay there at beginning was good especially the chicken chop but after that it become worst, not worth it for that kind of money it very expensive

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Suevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs - old & badly maintained”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This place is old and very badly maintained. Whilst the rooms are big and spacious, this is not of much use if the room is badly maintained and uncomfortable to stay in. The room floor is dusty and the parquet flooring is in bad condition and in need of change. There was a musty smell in the room and bad odour coming from the bed cover. Mattress was worn and sagged in the middle. I did not have a good night sleep and the mattress caused me back pain. Air-conditioning stopped early in the morning and nothing was done to rectify it.

The WIFI reception was extremely poor despite it being advertised as being provided in the room. I only managed to get some WIFI reception near the room door - which is ridiculous since you would have to crouch and sit on the floor to use the internet. This is totally unacceptable.

The other major grouse is the extremely poor TV reception. All the channels were fuzzy and I did not manage to watch any channels (even the local channels!). How can they offer a TV with such bad reception? Not only are there no cable or satellite channels but the local channels should at least be clear and watchable.

The room itself was very dim and dark. The wooden flooring and furniture contributed to the 'darkness' of the room. No reading lamps were provided at the work desk. At night, the room was horrible dark. I did not like my stay at all in the room.

The hotel is badly managed as I could see dirty room service plates which were left outside rooms still there after the second day. Everything seemed old and tired and badly in need of change.

Even when a complaint was made to the front desk/reception, no offer was made at all to rectify the problems or to resolve the issues. No suggestions for a room change was made. The staff did not even seem surprised by the complaints and no effort was made to try to rectify the problems.

I would seriously caution anyone from staying here until the place is spruced up, management improved and problems addressed and resolved.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank serendipity_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spacious Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I had just returned from a 2 night stay at Austin Hills with my family over the weekend.

I booked the Suite 1 which comes with 2 King-sized Beds and there are a dining table with 2 chairs in the room. With all these, there is still space for another bed. Room is clean but very dim.

On the day of arrival; the 2 bulbs in our room are blown and we got the maintenance man to have it fixed. The next day, one of the bulbs was blown again; we didnt bother to have it fixed again as we will be leaving the following day.

The television is a 29" CTV which is too small for the room as it is placed too far from the beds. The signal reception is very poor thus we couldnt watch most of the channels. Hope that the Management can replace the television set and get the tv signal done up cos it can be very boring when night falls.

We have 2 type of breakfast during our stay. The day one is American Breakfast and the day two is a Buffet Breakfast which is very much better.

Check-in Counter is very small; near the sauna and gym room (which is the Club House).

There are many places to eat which is a less than 5 minute drive out from the Resort;

Helpful?
7 Thank simson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin Hills Country Club also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Austin Hills Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing