We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greats Place to stay if you would like to cross over toward Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was having 2 night stay at this hotel before heading to Singapore....... The hotel might look a bit old but still a great keeping interior the hotel. Well it is a walking distance toward the public bus area toward Singapore border. it took only 5 minute walk... i would said this is most strategy places if you would like to use public transport tour in Singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed there for two nights, room is spacious, great scenery of the causeway link. No noisy at night. the hardest part was to get the food, no food court and restaurant area. you need to walk or get a taxi to go to the main business area.
Facilities like parking space, swimming pool and gym maintained very well. Staff are ready to help guess anytime.
Overall, this hotel provide everything that guess need. Friendly staff, new facilities, fully carpeted room and clean bathroom.
If you wish to stay here, please do not forget to request for the higher level floor with sea view, its absolutely unregrettable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanieaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a package we bought at the MATTA travel fair in kl promoted by this JB based agency New Asia Holidays. Good quality rooms & great experience at an affordable price.Rooms are spaces and clean...great for families near to city and convenient as its easy connection from the North South hway...

Room Tip: Executive Deluxe rooms Sea View are great and value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbjoJohorBahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just back from a trip to singapore.decided to stay at the Grand Bluewave as I have never stayed here before.Booked an Executive Suite Seaview for only US$ 76.53 per nite via Agoda.
It's a decent 3-star hotel and it sells itself as one.They don't claim to be a 4 or 5-star hotel so don't expect it to be one!
Check-in was fast and pleasant.I had booked another Studio room for my staff but this was upgraded to an Executive Suite as well! nice!
Parking was ample and free.As for the room......from reviews here,I didn't have any high expectations and so,I wasn't disappointed.
The suite was HUGE!!!! I don't think I have stayed anywhere in such a large room for such a low rate! Bedroom didn't have any window but the bed was large and comfy.There's even a mini kitchen with electric stove,fridge,sink,kettle and crockery/cutlery! Dining set as well as loungers.2 sets of the ol'skool 20" ctvs but with adequate channels,thanks to Singapore's stations!
Suite was clean but kinda musty.The hotel is pretty old and it shows.Bathroom facilities was adequate but the door knob came off after 2 tries!! There was a puddle of water near the toilet bowl probably due to a leak.The bathroom's exhaust fan was really noisy so I just switched off the bathroom's lights (which controls the exhaust fan) when not using.The a/c was cold but also noisy.If you are a light sleeper who can't sleep with noises,then this is not the place for you....everything else worked!
The buffet breakfast spread was pretty good.The eggs station was thoughtfully placed outside the air-conditioned coffee-house,on the balcony facing the johor straits/singapore and the food quality was good 3-star standard all the way.All the staff were always polite and courteous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Been here almost 10 years ago and quite like how peaceful it was. This time the same feeling is still there. I am happy with my choice. Room was comfy and they have very nice bedroom slippers and robes. The surroundings was nice with a lot of water structures, pools and fountains. The coffee house has a great view of this and it was really relaxing when having your meals here. However the breakfast choice is average.
Love this place and will definitely be my first choice everytime I'm in JB.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at BlueWave. Part of reason was thought it would be walking distance to checkpoint and City Square mall but turns out it isn't as the hotel is one side of the causeway crossing and City Square is the other. But is only 6MYR by taxi. Stayed in studio for 80SGD a night. Check in okay but had to wait 10 minutes when arrived at 4pm. Room good big but not much in it, desk, and bed. Old 20inch CRT TV with about 15 channels. Bed reasonably comfortable. Bathroom had been renovated and was good. Hotel has decent sized pool. Breakfast definitely average. For the money, not bad as stayed at Citrus hotel before but is now 80sgd.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed few times at this hotel. The only thing i like about this hotel is the room. It was big with kitchen and living room though the style and deco were bit outdated. I wish there upgraded the rooms so it will meet the standard of the name itself.Breakfast menu was just average. And the reception is somewhere in the middle i think not normal one at first floor lobby type.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandydasassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
717 reviews
2 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#50 of 109 in Johor Bahru
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel 9R Jalan Bukit Meldrum, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $41 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing