We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GBW Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thistle Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
$77
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor(Johor Bahru)
$105
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tune Hotel Danga Bay(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
$23
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Garden Hotel(Johor Bahru)
$36
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$22
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mutiara Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
$51
$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
$36
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
37
116
120
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
116
120
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio roomblue wavecity squarenice poolbig roompleasant stayfree shuttlethe ground floorjblautmicrowaveciqcustomsdepositborderqueue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 344 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at BlueWave. Part of reason was thought it would be walking distance to checkpoint and City Square mall but turns out it isn't as the hotel is one side of the causeway crossing and City Square is the other. But is only 6MYR by taxi. Stayed in studio for 80SGD a night. Check in okay but had to wait 10 minutes when arrived at 4pm. Room good big but not much in it, desk, and bed. Old 20inch CRT TV with about 15 channels. Bed reasonably comfortable. Bathroom had been renovated and was good. Hotel has decent sized pool. Breakfast definitely average. For the money, not bad as stayed at Citrus hotel before but is now 80sgd.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed few times at this hotel. The only thing i like about this hotel is the room. It was big with kitchen and living room though the style and deco were bit outdated. I wish there upgraded the rooms so it will meet the standard of the name itself.Breakfast menu was just average. And the reception is somewhere in the middle i think not normal one at first floor lobby type.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandydasassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

During my numerous visits to Johor Bahru, I had always chosen to stay at the Grand BlueWave due the warm and cordial welcome you receive from the staffs after a tiring travel. Its access is convenient as well. No traffic crawls.

Room Tip: The higher floors, either the Deluxe or Executive rooms are a better choice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeyasingam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel three years ago and while it was good, the room design and furnishings were a little dated. There has been tremendous improvement since then.
When I called last week to enquire about wifi in the room, the young lady who took my call said it was free for two devices. (By the way, wifi signal was strong.)
Then I remembered another question and emailed the contact on the website. I received a reply within 24 hours - very efficient customer service, indeed.
I arrived just before 2 pm and the friendly staff at Reception (young man and lady) informed me that check in was after 2 pm. I waited in the spacious and gleaming Lobby and was given a password for free wifi.
The room - a Premier suite - was ready just after 2 pm. It was spacious and well designed with a kitchenette (microwave, stove and kettle), a sitting area with 3 small tables, large bedroom and a bathroom that looked much better than the one in the past. (Flush worked well, too.)
I had requested for a DVD player (RM30 per night with RM50 deposit) and Housekeeping set it up promptly.
We ordered room service for dinner and food was good but be prepared to wait for about half an hour.
Breakfast buffet was served in the Mezzanine cafe from 6 am to 10 am. Selection was adequate and room was cheery and bright.
Staff were helpful and friendly at all times. Considering the size of the suite, you really get value for money. I only wish that the location was more central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanyi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not good value for money at all. Would be better off staying at Thistle or Mutiara Hotel.
The front office personnel, Syafiqah was really rude and unprofessional.
She was rigid, unreasonable and not friendly at all. People who are not service oriented should not work in a hotel profession. Extremely poor customer service, indeed!

The hotel did not meet our expectations at all. Outdated furnitures with dirty carpet in the guest room. The toilet was also in unsatisfactory condition. We could see urine stains from the previous occupants on the toilet floor. Not to mention the foul smell! Breakfast choices were very limited and boring. The pastries were tasteless and dry. Food at the breakfast buffet was not replenish fast enough.

No flat screen television. Only old CRT type with blurry images and limited channels.
The bed mattress was hard and very uncomfortable.
The hotel did not even have proper no smoking policy. We saw a lot of tourists from Mainland China flouting the no smoking rule. They smoked in the lift and along the corridor with total disregards to other hotel guests.

Never ever again! We rather stay in nearby hotels such as Hotel Sentral, Hotel Suria or Hotel Aman Sari in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destinasi_bajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews