We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
1 review
“Average”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for one night. Everything is perfect, at least for the price paid..until the checkout time. Was supposed to get my rm68 deposit refund, gave them rm2 so they returned rm70. Took the white envelope..tot my rm70 was inside. But no money found, only the receipt. Asked the girl..she insisted the rm70 was on top of the envelope. I said no...only the envelope was there. Both girls didnt believe me..say i already took my money. OMG....please la...what is rm70 compared to my intregity. Thank god they hv cctv..waited bout 5-10 minutes for the supervisor to view the incident. Dunno wat they talked over the phone..suddenly the girl gave me rm70, a 50 n a 20 notes. She just said tq...no apology..tat's the best part. I'm still sad over the incident...bcoz they didnt trust their own guest. So, from initial 'will come back' definitely switch to 'no tks...i wont ever step in ur hotel ever again'. Shud try to change the staff attitude..or they shud not work in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    108
    114
    39
    23
See reviews for
103
72
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room was spacious, and very nicely decorated.

But, the air-conditioner could not cool the room past tepid. The room reeked of smoke, and the breakfast in the coffeeshop was cold.

The highlight was the fantastic fireworks shot off by the hotel just infront of the entrance, which came up literally eye level to our room on the 8th floor!

The reception was friendly but ultimately not very helpful because they are very limited in what issues they are able to solve.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non-smoking room if you need one in advance, and check it before you settle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu-Shien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I always travel with a big family- parents, young children and helpers so the spacious rooms togetherwith the living room & kitchenette were a big draw. Clean bathtubs. Bidets at toilets. Lots of storage/drawers. Sufficient and convenient power points. Free broadband. The big minus was the lack of pool chairs at the pool. Else, I am happy to come back for more

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was the Chinese New Year holidays. My wife and I just thought that we would bring the kids to Johor Bahru and check into a hotel and spend the night. We booked for a night stay at the Grand BlueWave Hotel 2-3 days prior to the actual day.
From the day we checked in until the day we checked out, my whole family was happy. From the front desk, to the room, to the restaurant, to the checking out time, we were no where near any grim experience. They served us with smiles all the way and the suite that we got was very welcoming.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wish to recharge themselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fareight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Except for the strategic location i.e if you are planning a trip to Singapore, the rest about the hotel is average for that price. The hotel is tired looking and could do with some kind of refurbishment. We booked 3 executive suites and one of the rooms has a terrible smell from a clogged drain/broken pipe or something. The smell was so overpowering that we requested for a change of room. However, we only managed to get another room the next day and I must mention that the staff at the reception handling our complaint was very nice and corteous. Average hotel but excellent staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel is okay.
Taxi drivers know this hotel which is a plus as it is a little out of the centre and the road system makes it a little difficult to get to.
Our room was just about a sea view. The room was massive. The bedroom dark as no windows so you could sleep without light coming in. Complimentry tea was in short supply.
Overall the hotel felt drab and the pool area was rather uninviting and not as it appeared on the photos. Its a short walk into the centre but not easy to navigate as you have to cross some major roads.
I would have preferred to have been out at the Zon area with the night life and a few decents restaurants around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

very average hotel. Not handicap friendly. The beds are so hard I had to check out and move to a new hotel after 2 nights of a 4 night stay. Rooms are big but very old and the menus is limited. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stv4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 110 in Johor Bahru
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 110 in Johor Bahru
220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#18 of 110 in Johor Bahru
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
2.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#24 of 110 in Johor Bahru
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel 9R Jalan Bukit Meldrum, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing