We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel has done with their upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed August 7, 2012

After a year again I had check into this hotel, the service was not only maintain in fact it have been improve from my last visited as the hotel has completed with their renovation, the lobby had move back to the ground floor, one again their have given me a huge room to stay! The access road to the hotel is also be come very convenience after the local authorities have reconnect the flyover bridge from the old KB town to the access road near the hotel. With the help from the hotel staff, I found out that the JB Sentral was just 10 mins walk from the hotel. Once you had reached the JB Sentral you may proceed to the shopping mall around that area or you may walk to JB immigration checkpoint and took a bus to Singapore if you wish to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mervin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Nice Pool suitable for adult and kids. Kids pool available.
Different varieties in breakfast. Good value for money.
Big room can easily fit 2 Adults and 2 kids with baby cot.
Baby cot was provided free on request. Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMM_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had one night here waiting for the train to Tampin and Melaka. Room was large with a view of the truck marshalling yards at the customs post. We walked to and from the bus/rail station though everyone we asked said we had to catch a taxi as it was too far. It was only 10 to 15 minutes but involved finding the best way to cross some busy roads. The location is not attractive and I would not consider it for a holiday. The bed was very comfortable and a great place to recover from a night flight. The buffet lunch was fantastic value, though the a la carte evening meal was not so good. The pool was crammed full of kids and adults (school holidays I think) and we felt uncomfortable in our (conservative) western bathers....I wore a rash vest on my second swim but even that was not enough to feel fully at ease, so come prepared.

Room Tip: Suspect that the rooms facing Singapore might be more pleasant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tastrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very big room and very nice bed.
Breakfast was very nice too.
At Rm220 per night is consider luxury for me.
There give me the top floor which has a nice view on Johor Bahru.
Just hope that I will be able to go there again to spend few night there next time if I go to JB.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahlek_414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My one night stay in this hotel is rather disappointing.

Things to look forward to in this hotel:  

The space within is good and spacious for the price paid. One night for the premier adds up to RM313.XX all-in. You get a spacious living/dining and a separate bedroom with door which is extremely spacious (as big as a superior/deluxe room in a normal hotel).  

Driving distance to City Square & KSL Mall is pretty near if you drive or take a taxi.

The view is fantastic if your room is high enough. Otherwise, you may be looking at highways, vacant land, and buildings.  

Checking in is rather fast for us. No hassle at all.  

Free parking for guests with their own vehicles but do take note to bring the 'Car Park Pass' out with you when exiting or the non-english speaking attendant will insist you pay. RM2.10 per hour. Not cheap. You can also park at the hotel's front lobby at RM10 for 24hrs. Bright and clear. No security though when i passed by at night but at least you get the attention of the front desk officers.  

There are a variety of channels you can pick from to keep you entertained.   Plenty of powerpoints around the apartment if you have plenty of gadgets.  

Wired internet is available FOC. Reasonable speed.  

There is good connection for calls and sms for guests from Singapore but weak data signal which works ocassionally.      



Things you may want to pay attention to:  

The hotel lobby on the room level is warm and stuffy.   Although the rooms are big and spacious, the chairs and sofas made me itch. The bed is fine. Pillow is great. I've been scratching the whole night in my sleep.

Room Service is available. You can check out the menu here. I ordered the Traditional Chicken Chop which is supposed to be marinated but turns out to be tasteless. KFC taste 20x better. Rather pricey RM26 for tasteless non-marinated chicken with cold soggy fries which seems like leftover food from other restaurants.   I also ordered a Fruit Platter and asked the officer over the phone what fruits are available, they advised only Honeydew, Pineapple, and Watermelon. When I asked if there are any apples, they said Green Apples only. When they served the fruit platter, there are red and green apples. The fruits are coated with a layer of salt and the apples are not in their best shape.

Room Service staff delivered the food and presented the bill to me without a pen. I asked him am i supposed to sign or pay in cash. He seems puzzled. Very obvious, the language to communicate with guests here isn't English. I paid in excess of RM2 and the change never came back.  

Non-speaking car park attendant adds to your frustration without 'Car Park Pass'. He can't speak a single word of English and kept repeating to me 'Lima Ampat' which eventually showed me using a calculator to pay RM5.40 although I explained I am a guest here but forgot to bring along the pass. I gave up, paid and left.  

Calling for Room Service takes some patience for us and I'm not sure about others. It took me 15mins to finally get someone to answer the call to order food and 4 tries.  

Check-in time is supposed to be 2pm and we checked in at 4:30pm. Room is not ready yet when we stepped in. The staffs are still cleaning and talking in the room. Apparently not in a hurry to get the job done and let the guests in. In the end, a rush job was completed and TOTALLY SUBSTANDARD. There are still wrappers in the toilet not thrown, towels not provided, carpet not thoroughly vacuumed with obvious particles on it, glass dining table not cleaned with big patch of oil stains, and so....and so....and so....  

There is no mini-bar here. No drinks except 2 bottles of BlueWave water. 

If you are sensitive to noise, please avoid booking rooms facing the Causeway. As you can see from my pictures it can be considerably NOISY at night with those modified cars blasting their exhaust at slow speed.

Room Tip: Why bother?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NJS885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

10Min drive from Malaysia Custom checkpoint. Friendly staff & Fast check-in as i Booked thru AGODA. Near Stulang Laut Seafood & Food Galore.
Room was Spacious, Clean & Luv the Seaview across the Causeway.
Pool was Small but Kids would simply love it. Breakfast was Nice & Lotsa Varieties.
Would recommend for Work or Family Vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idazzledy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located, that if you're driving, you'll get to join the queue instantly to cross the causeway to Singapore after exiting the hotel access road.

Rooms are okay and spacious. For the little inconvenience of cross the causeway, it's worth staying here (at half the cost) than in Singapore itself.

My family stayed here for our trip to Universal Studio.

Room Tip: not much difference, rooms overlooking the straits would be more palatable though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
717 reviews
2 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#50 of 109 in Johor Bahru
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel 9R Jalan Bukit Meldrum, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing