We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Everything fine”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived from Changi airport using the direct transfer with Transtar bus (Sing. $7) to the immigration building in Johor. That bus service is wonderful., then caught a taxi from there to the hotel. Just a kilometer at most, but we had bags and were jetlagged. RM8..We stayed in an executive apartment for 8 days during July 2011. The apartment was about 65 square meters. comprising a large sitting dining area with kitchen corner.There was unlimeted free internet connection int eh room. It worked perfectly. The other room was a large bedroom with king sized bed and a fully equipped bathroom.The huge picture window overlooked the Johor strait. That was magical early in the morning to open the curtains and sit in bed with a cup of tea.The hotel has been undergoing renovations and the new coffee shop and lobby opened whilst we were there. Breakfast was extensive and plenty was on offer. The staff coped well with the group tours.
Note.. a similar sized apartment of this quality would have cost 3 times the price a kilometer away in Singapore. Take the bad reviews from picky Singaporeans with a grain of salt.
During our stay, there was the Johor Festival of Arts (all July) so plenty of entertainment was on offer.
The hotel is located an easy walk to the new sentral train staion and the CIQ (immigration building) and city centre. The hotel offers 2 free transfers each day into the town centre. Because of one way roads, it is just as easy to walk.

The swimming pool and gym have been recently renovated. We checked out some other hotels in town, and this one is fine.We booked on the air asia website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philelltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    106
    111
    35
    21
See reviews for
97
70
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here 3 different times the past month.
Nice new rooms.
Air-Cond was a bit warm during my first stay there. The subsequest nights in other rooms was OK.
Toilet and shower is great.
Breakfast was good but getting so-so. Not much choice on the breakfast and are always the same food.
Service could have been better with the price of the room.

Overall, better than a lot of hotels of the same range, and I'll still stay here for my next trip(s).

Room Tip: Book early, they sometimes fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

It was a good stay especially since my mother is disabled. She is on a wheelchair but the room that was given to us, 1509 (corner room) was big enough for her to move around. It would have been better to have a disabilty room which is not carpeted. Usually most rooms in hotels, the toilet is the problem for OKU. They need a bigger space to move especially near the toilet bowl area. Also the drainage should be good as bathing will be done near the toilet bowl area where the person can seat on the toilet seat and be bathed there. Anyway it was a pleasant stay for us. We may come again. The staff too especially the pengawal keselamatan, bell boy, reception and cafe staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adipShahAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Hotel is quite clean. The way out from the room to the lobby is not that friendly coz you have to take 2 elevators. Also the banquet room for breakfast is quite small and not enough to fill up a large amount of people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md_yunus_musa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

hotel is currently on going final phase of upgrading. except for having to take a separate lift to get to the first lvl, I did nt experience any other forms of inconvenience.

location - was actually near to the causeway, abt 10mins drive. but I gave it an average bcos there wasn't any eateries nearby within walking distance.

room & cleanliness - was pleasantly surprised bcos the room was quite big and beds were comfortable. complimentary mineral water, coffee and tea, newspaper as well as cabled Internet, no wireless though.
I think bathroom has just undergone renovation, it's very spacious and clean and quite pretty, I like the size of the shower, although the water strength is abit weak.

Service - not bad, checking in was swift. requested for additional toothbrush (they only provided one in the room), it was delivered within 10mins.

there is a good-sized gym and swimming pool in the hotel at lvl 7. you cn actually lie on the benches on the pool deck to gaze stars at night - cool! got to be careful w ur steps though, it's dimly lit at night at the pool.

I will definitely come back to this hotel. good job to the team.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah7987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed here on 14th May with a few friends down from KL for just the one night, was enough. JB is a scruffy place at the best of times, but we were just there for cheap beer and seafood (we live in Singapore).
Hotel staff were polite and corteous enough, tho the entire place is in major need of refit and refurb, is v dated, late 80's feel. Entrance is confusing and not welcoming, you need to take a lift after walking through a deserted seating area up to the lobby, which is better fitted out, but still, a bit shabby. Room we had was upgraded and apparently an Executive Suite, so we had loads of room, decent sized bathroom, big bedroom and lounge etc, but everything was just generally shabby, and just 'doing the job' as oppose to looking or feeling good.
Overall, the Grandbluewave is fine for a night or two, but certainly not much longer.

Room Tip: Always ask for upgrade - they always have room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosefLanjri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaru, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Checked in to this hotel on May 4th with my family. Arrived at the hotel but couldn't find the lobby...reason is hotel under renovation. I guess when I made the booking, the hotel need to inform the guest about this to avoid any inconvenient caused BUT not with this hotel.

Just booked 1 night...wish to extend one night for my parents' room but was told I need to book thru internet to get special rate. Expect all guest to have PC on their travel. I mentioned that I am in-house now and I do not have any internet access. I asked for business center and was told that it is under renovation and I can't use it. After that explanations, it seems like it's your business not mine so I can't help you.....reaction from staff and Duty Manager.

To tell the truth....it was lucky that I didn't extend the stay. To my horror...I saw COCKCROACHES running along the buffet line. That is the sign that tell me I am in a wrong hotel and I need to checked out immediately. Hygiene is not attended to at all.

Brought my kids to the swimming pool...no towels...so need to bring own towels from room. Guess what....the towels from the room were very smelly......don't even dare to think why after the incident at coffee house.

Final words...DON'T STAY HERE......email to the management to get some answers but till now no reply.....guess Business Center is under renovation so GM has no access to emails.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greatdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 108 in Johor Bahru
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#30 of 108 in Johor Bahru
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 108 in Johor Bahru
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#21 of 108 in Johor Bahru
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel 9R Jalan Bukit Meldrum, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing