We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and OK”
Review of Hotel J.B.

Hotel J.B.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel J.B.
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed February 21, 2012

It is the sort of place that never had a good day but at the $20 USD end of the market it will do for a nights stop over. Have stayed in few over the years and although JB looks tatty, they do change the sheets!!! There are much better options if you want to spend double.
An OK option if you are coming from Singapore and wanting head into Malaysia on a morning coach. JB hotel is accross road from a huge shopping centre and buses to Larkin. plus the nightly food market is within 10 paces - not that anything is too far in JB.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a differential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank feedback-and-wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

How can you miss this clean and decent budget hotel which is so close to Malaysia customs, night market food, City Square and Singapore?

Security is somehow surprisingly strict at the basement. You can sleep well at night knowing that no one will knock on your door uninvited.

Even without air-con, fan is sufficiently cooling in the humid weather. Place is very neat though it is not well decorated... but come on, the value you get is more than what you pay.

Food and shopping is accessible especially you are going for the midnight show in City Square cinema. Not forgetting, McDonlad is 24 hrs within 50m.

Comparing to other nearby hotels, this is a gem among the rocks. Believe me... I tried many around the vicinity.

Room Tip: Exit McD in City Sq, go left and cross 2 junctions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

stay here for several times since 2008, when im in JB , i travel with my kids and we all have a great time, especially after eating Breakfast and dinner below in the back of the hotel , where the Johor Bahru food street is located .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Hotel was nice enough, JB is not worth stopping in, head straight up to Melaka or KL they are only a few hours away.

JB Hotel was clean, poeple were friendly enough. Shared toilets were OK and the showers were OK too.

There isnt a great deal to see or do in the surrounding area and JB has got some sleazy parts to it.

Oh dont get a 7th floor room as the lift only goes up 6 floors.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Liability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2015年10月現在、Jalan Wong Ah Fookを挟んだホテルの反対側が工事中でした。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank たれぞ~
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#59 of 109 in Johor Bahru
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baguss City Hotel
Baguss City Hotel
#50 of 109 in Johor Bahru
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J.B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J.B.

Address: Hotel Jb 80A Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $28 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel J.B. 2*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel J.B. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing