We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap and OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel J.B.

Hotel J.B.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel J.B.
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cheap and OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

It is the sort of place that never had a good day but at the $20 USD end of the market it will do for a nights stop over. Have stayed in few over the years and although JB looks tatty, they do change the sheets!!! There are much better options if you want to spend double.
An OK option if you are coming from Singapore and wanting head into Malaysia on a morning coach. JB hotel is accross road from a huge shopping centre and buses to Larkin. plus the nightly food market is within 10 paces - not that anything is too far in JB.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a differential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feedback-and-wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

How can you miss this clean and decent budget hotel which is so close to Malaysia customs, night market food, City Square and Singapore?

Security is somehow surprisingly strict at the basement. You can sleep well at night knowing that no one will knock on your door uninvited.

Even without air-con, fan is sufficiently cooling in the humid weather. Place is very neat though it is not well decorated... but come on, the value you get is more than what you pay.

Food and shopping is accessible especially you are going for the midnight show in City Square cinema. Not forgetting, McDonlad is 24 hrs within 50m.

Comparing to other nearby hotels, this is a gem among the rocks. Believe me... I tried many around the vicinity.

Room Tip: Exit McD in City Sq, go left and cross 2 junctions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wenghoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

stay here for several times since 2008, when im in JB , i travel with my kids and we all have a great time, especially after eating Breakfast and dinner below in the back of the hotel , where the Johor Bahru food street is located .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

Hotel was nice enough, JB is not worth stopping in, head straight up to Melaka or KL they are only a few hours away.

JB Hotel was clean, poeple were friendly enough. Shared toilets were OK and the showers were OK too.

There isnt a great deal to see or do in the surrounding area and JB has got some sleazy parts to it.

Oh dont get a 7th floor room as the lift only goes up 6 floors.

  • Liked — The geckos
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep on trucking up to Larkin bus station and go to KL or Melaka
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Liability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#48 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#26 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#59 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#38 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 103 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#53 of 103 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J.B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J.B.

Property: Hotel J.B.
Address: Hotel Jb 80A Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel J.B. 2*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel J.B. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing