We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to stay in town”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Malaysia
1 review
“A great hotel to stay in town”
Reviewed April 6, 2008

It's been a great experience for me and my husband. The hotel' s location is perfect as we are dealing in business. Easy access from all over jb town. Known as the tallest hotel in jb town so you won't get lost.

The front desk people are friendly and helpful accept for some who maybe would have mood swings on that day. HEY GUYS & GALS!!..You are in the service industries. Being as a front liners is very-very important because we, your guest deals with you first hand. Don't show us your TUTTTTTTTTTTTTT face as it will effect your hotel image. The managers should monitor this always.

The room service is excellent. Fast and Efficient. Thanks to them our room is cleaned before 12.00pm. Wakes up at 8.00am. Left the hotel room at 9.00am. Meeting, presentation. Back at the hotel 11.20am and the room is CLEAN :-)

The rooms are very big as we stayed in a deluxe room. Spacious and very relaxing as if its our own room at home.

Food at the cafe need to be improve. I know you can do better!!!.....

Anybody who travels either business or leisure, this hotel would be the prefect choice.

PIECE OF ADVICE: This hotel should be rated 4-star. BUT, the room rate should be maintain......

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Non - yet......
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadiesGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    82
    86
    39
    18
See reviews for
70
23
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

a 3 star hotel which cant complain much. service, buffet breakfast and room are jus normal, nothing to shout out about. as for the location, there is a shop nearby and some food stall n restaurant within walking distance, the best is the thai restaurant which quite affordable and the atmosphere is great.

lots of clubs nearby and not for elder travellers unless u are looking for.....ahem.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank otyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Walk in rate RM 150 including breakfast.

Declined the offer of a deluxe room which is "larger" we found the standard room to be a very large size with a lounge, and coffee table looking out the big windows. The TV didnt have cable channels and had bad reception.

Hotel cafe in lobby wasnt very good, and included breakfast had very few western options.

Poor vale for money, since we got a much better hotel in KL for same price.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — value, food, staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lost_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

This was my 2nd stay in new york hotel. My previous stay was horrible enough but just as i thought of giving a 2nd chance, i regretted it immediately!

Upon checking in, the receptionist greeted us with a sullen look though her badge says "SMILE" pinned to the lapel of her blazer. The room was clean to be fair but the bed sheets stank of smoke smell. Worst of all the bathroom floods each time after i bathe due to poor design.

The worst was when i had to go to the lobby one morning. Out of the 3 elevators which serves all 400 rooms, only 1 was working! i had to wait 15 minutes before i lost my patience and enquired the receptionist on the cause of breakdown and their plan of action. When i suggested if i should walk down from my room on the 20th floor sarcastically, the receptionist responded that, "YES! U Should!". The poor service really pissed me.

i will never stay at new york hotel again.

  • Liked — that it has 4 walls and a roof
  • Disliked — Please refer to review.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sakura1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

When I come over to JB or ex Singapore I will stay at this hotel. The night life near here is cool. Just walking distance from here got nice pubs and you get to wash your car near by. the Hotel is quite nice with above average rooms and facility.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jjtan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2007

I often visit Johor Bahru but seldom stay there because my home is just a bridge away, Singapore. And also, there are a lot of security concern regarding Johor Bahru. But I decided to stay in New York Hotel for a night due to an early meeting the next day. I am totally impressed and change my view towards Johorean. Firstly, when I park my car in the carpark, I realise the security is patrolling the carpark almost every 10 mins. This give me a piece of mind that my car will be safe here. Secondly, I get a pleasant surprise when I check in and realise the low rate. You can only get a sleazy budget hotel with this price in Singapore. Thirdly, when I step into the room, I am surprise that its being rated only three star. Its size and furnishing should well be four star. Overall, I feel that you can never get a night sleep with a better price then New York Hotel anywhere else in the world, or at least Singapore and Malaysia.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CleanSafeFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We have arrived at the hotel at 3pm and the rooms are not ready for check-in although the check-in time is at 2pm. Waited very long for check-in procedure even though prior payment is made. The reception of Astro channel is blur which makes it more unworthy considering the price to pay at RM40 just to view Astro and rather ridiculous as most hotel do not impose such charge. Do not be tricked into renting the Deluxe room as the room size is similar with Standard room only without the carpet. There are approx. 11 floors of room but only 3 lifts to serve the entire hotel, imagine the queue on weekends!!!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 111 in Johor Bahru
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#28 of 111 in Johor Bahru
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 111 in Johor Bahru
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 111 in Johor Bahru
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 111 in Johor Bahru
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 111 in Johor Bahru
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Property: New York Hotel
Address: No. 22 Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel Jb
New York Hotel Johor Bahru
New York Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing