We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing much has changed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #54 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing much has changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I reluctantly booked this hotel after Grandblue Wave was fully booked.

Nothing has changed since I last came here.

A "facelift" was done on the room, but the feel is still the same. No change on the toilet.

Had to call 2 times to get the iron.

Went for breakfast at 9am, food is almost finished.

TV reception is very very very bad. Could only watch a few channels with poor reception.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    75
    81
    35
    18
See reviews for
61
21
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a really great Hotel, Attentive staff, excellent rooms with all facilities and a great breakfast room. I would definately stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

If you except:
-Only 3 elevators for 22 floors
-25 minutes for check-in
-Leakage in the bathroom but bath tub drain is obstructed
-Mold on the wall little bit everywhere but in differend shades of green to brown
-rotten doors with some sizable holes at the bottom

Well if you except all the above, this is still an average hotel. But if the cleanliness issues bother you at night, you can count the cockroach crossing your bed side table...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julot4202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

First, the good news. I stayed in a non-smoking deluxe room on the 19th floor, with free Internet. It was during the week (not weekend), so occupancy was low (I was told 60%), and it was very quiet. The room was clean, and the decor and furniture were in very good taste, for the most part. The bed was extremely firm. The air conditioning worked very, very well. There was a great nighttime view out of the "window", which is actually the entire exterior wall of the room. I think that every room in this hotel is like that. Room service was timely, even if the food was nothing special. For extra convenience, there is a barber shop on the 11th (I think) floor, and a a Thai massage place on the 2nd floor. There is also a "health spa" on the 2nd-3rd floor, servicing mostly Singaporean sex tourists and Malaysian Chinese businessmen. So if that's your thing, you don't even have to leave the hotel. However, the "health spa" is so discrete, that you can still bring your family here, no worries.

Now, the bad news. The hotel's management is clearly not very good. Things are obviously slipping. Upon arrival, I had to struggle with my heavy luggage while the bellboy was busy chatting with his friend just 8-9 meters away. The check-in clerk was obviously new. She was very slow and didn't even know how to read a passport. When I got to my room, it was clear that someone had been lying on the bed after the bed had already been made. There was also a dirty towel on the bathroom floor. When I went down to explain the circumstances, the night manager's English was not good enough to understand what the problem was. Nonetheless, he did give me another room.

Over the following days, I noticed that the room cleaning and service staff have not been instructed in proper hygiene. I was actually in the room during the first cleaning, and saw the guy picking trash directly out of the bin with his hands, before proceeding to make the bed and change the towels. Seems like he was too lazy to actually pick up the bin and shake it. So I assume that if he did in that in my presence, then he must be doing it all the time when people are away. So basically, he is picking dirty diapers and tissues out of the trash with his hands, across the entire floor, and then using those same hands to make everyone's bed, deliver fresh towels, etc. Lest you think that this was a one-off occurrence, a guy who delivered my dinner to the room dropped a fork and a packet of ketchup onto the floor as we has walking in, then, when he had placed the tray on the table, he went back to pick up the fork and ketchup and put them right on top of my knife and tissue paper, right in front of me, as if nothing had happened! So, clearly, the hygiene here not at a high level, the staff have not been trained in modern hygiene.

Another point of interest—the top of the hotel's garage, which is basically the entire 8th (I think) floor of the hotel, is one gigantic dump for old furniture and massive, 2-meter-high piles of broken wood and other trash and debris. It literally covers this entire floor of the hotel, with no walls, just open space and lots and lots of trash. It must be the biggest fire hazard that I have ever seen!!!! Yes, there are sprinklers, but, given the poor management here, I seriously doubt that they work.

Also, the hotel gym is not consistent with what is shown in the photographs. It is mostly a bunch of old exercise bikes. There is only one (semi) functional treadmill and one little muscle machine, that is all. And the pool is tiny, it’s basically just a kid’s pool. Also, it is indoors so there is really no reason to use it at all (and from what I saw, no one does).

On a final note, as I was about to go check out, the bottom of my toilet sprang a huge leak for no apparent reason. Fortunately there are two large drainholes on the bathroom floor, so it was not a total disaster. But it was a fitting symbolic end to my stay at this rather pathetic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus_B2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The hotel have equipped with most basic needs. The room which I was staying was big and comfortable. The front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable even the car park cashier was helpful. WiFi accessing speed was acceptable and it is free.

The breakfast need to be improve as it have very limited choice. the staff in section need to be trained again!! The lighting was off at 10am sharp by the staff even there still have guest eating their foods. although there was four lifts in service but I still take more than 8 mins to reach my room.

Hotel is not very far from the shopping mall but it still need a car to drive around as it is too far the distance to walk from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Room is Value for Money with flat screen tv,new sofa and spacious working desk.The room is big and newly re-furbished.I am happy with the room.I hope the hotel can consider to give free WIFI and change their bath towel.Breakfast is so far so good, no surprise.Lobby and outlook of the hotel is out of date, but the room is trendy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icarolyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

I've stayed in this place a few times over the past 1 year.

Good location. Lots of restaurants just across the street. However, I do not think it's very convenient for someone who doesn't have a car. Your best bet would be taxi as I've never noticed any buses passing anywhere near the hotel.
Good price (corporate rate - easy to apply).
Breakfast so-so only.
Wifi is available, but costs a bomb.
Counter staff are slow and service is just so-so. Nothing to shout about.

Size of the room and the facilities are OK.
Bathroom comes with a long bath and hair dryer.
Iron + ironing board is available on request, but you'd need to return within half an hour or so.

I think they have renovated/upgraded the rooms but I haven't stayed there since.

I am OK with this place, but my Client doesn't. So we found another hotel not too far away (Grand Blue Wave Hotel). I prefer Grand Blue Wave Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel
Crystal Crown Hotel
#72 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Property: New York Hotel
Address: New York Hotel No. 22 Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel Jb
New York Hotel Johor Bahru
New York Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing