We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lost in Time. Belachan smelling lobby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added JA Residence Hotel to your Saves list
JA Residence Hotel
18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lost in Time. Belachan smelling lobby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Probably the worst hotel that i have ever stayed in JB. Not worth your penny though it has such a fantastic location. They are in need of an extreme makeover. Pity as the hotel actually is rather tall and view from the high floor is magnificent. I shall not even comment on the breakfast as we checked out first thing in the morning the next day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShahandImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    11
    3
    14
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It's an old hotel. The lobby and restaurant very small but the breakfast is quite okay. The room size is big but they need to renovate and repair everything. The bathroom also big but very dirty and look old. One thing I like about our room is the view.The window is big. The reason that we stayed here because our tour agency didn't give any other choices.

The best part staying in this hotel is it's very near to JB City Square and Bazar JB and also the Woodlands exit to Singapore. It's also easy for you to find food around here and there's lot money exchanger next to the hotel. Every place is only in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeYHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived here at 2200 hrs. The car park is in the building but have to steered my car through a narrow opening to the lift which then lifted up the car to the parking floor. N ot suitable for suvs. Entered the room..pheww..it stinks.. airconditioning not working..have to wait for one hour to get it fixed.
Unpleasant odour emerged once the aircond switched on. Bathrooms dirty..shower corner filthy, with hairs stucked at the drainage. TV?? 16" CRT type and the remote control was not working! Requested then to park my car in front of the hotel and the receptionist asked me to remove the cones by myself!!
I wont consider this hotel again.. Initially planned for two nights stay but checked out next morning. Terrible...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerotwone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in the Junior Suite for one night. The moment we entered the hotel, there was a sick stench. The lift had a carpet that we almost tripped over when we entered. The corridors on the 13th floor where we stayed were dirty with litter in every corner.

The bathroom of the suite reeked of urine. There was only 1/4 of a roll of toilet paper. The door of the shower was hung precariously. There was no shampoo or shower gel, just a thin piece of soap. No toothbrushes, no bottled water. There were stains on the bedsheets and pillows. The television remote was not working - I could hear a piece of something running up and down inside when I moved it. The floor of the room had dirt. The towels were thin and grey. When I called the reception, they spoke to me in Malay over and over even though I said I did not understand. Nobody answered the phone at housekeeping.

In a nutshell, it stinks. Literally too.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stay in a family room. Room was very run down and musty smell in the room and toilet. Made coffee in the room, after 2 hours, small cockroach was in the coffee. The bathroom has no shower gel & shampoo provided, towels were dirty with stains, no slippers provide even when I called Hskp, the staff told me that they don't provide slippers.. Breakfast was not so good, worth to forgo. Damage parquet floor in the room. Only plus points is near eateries and City Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. It's the type of hotel for the sake of having a place to stay sort. The rooms are pretty old school and it's spacious. The cleanliness is on the OK side. The plus point for this hotel is that it is near the bus hub to Singapore. The surrounding area is OK, you can find food easily and it's a walking distance to JB City Square Mall. Taxis are easy to get as well. The room service F&B is cheap considering it's a room service and the food is alright.
At night it can be quite noisy because of the night market opposite the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The cool factor about this hotel is the carpark. You need to drive the whole car into a lift and the guard will tell you which floor to go to and park your car. Overall it's an OK hotel for a night or two stay with reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get the room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 15 years ago when it was the Mercure, traveling to Johor Bahru for the weekend. This hotel is a lot different now, as it's age is showing. It doesn't seem to have gotten much of a renovation since changing names.

Arriving after midnight is a good deal at 100RM for a Deluxe room. The lobby was average, The hallway to the rooms on each floor was decrepit. However, when you open the door to the rooms it is surprising how nice they are, and very spacious. The hot showers all had great water pressure.

The hotel reception was so nice in even letting us check-out late at 3pm. The breakfast buffet was basic Malay style -- fried noodles and fried rice, but on the plus side there was fresh cut honeydew melon.

Wifi only available in the lobby, but is free. Other cheaper hotels fill up fast in JB. This hotel is a good place to always fall back on, since it is huge and has so many rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view toward the water. The view is spectacular in the room we had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JasonRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#48 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#64 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#22 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#5 of 101 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#52 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#39 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Property: JA Residence Hotel
Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing