We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Crown Hotel
Ranked #73 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Functional and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Crystal Crown hotel for one night while visiting a bridal studio. The main reason was the location with regard to the bridal studio. However, we also discovered there are a lot of pretty decent restaurants in the area, as well as it being not far from shopping areas.

Overall, it is functional and good value for money. The rooms are large and quite comfortable. It isn't more than about a three star hotel, but for what it is, it is pretty OK.

One reviewer mentioned only one room key. I guess this is because they still use the old "Ving" card plastic punched cards, instead of more modern credit card style electronic keys. They are probably more expensive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    42
    10
    12
See reviews for
22
13
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3D2N for a trip to USS in July 2013. Location is strategic, close to the main road leading towards the city center. Shops and restaurants are nearby. It takes only 5 minutes of driving to the JB CIQ Complex. Free parking provided. Very quick to check-in. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Affordable rate for Deluxe room. Room is spacious, with king bed, LCD TV, bath tub and extra pillow. The food for buffet breakfast was decent and good. However, one of the towel provided is smelly and the air conditioner is not cool enough.

Room Tip: choose a room on the south side to get a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst hotel i have stay in jb. The reason at the following below:
1. Slugglish housekeeping.
2. No second room key
3. Lousy aircond
4. Breakfast is worse than tropical inn. Basically uneatible.
5. Cleaniness of the room toilet. Really bad.
6. Pricey too.

Hope that the management will able to fix this issues at the above.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

In March 2013, I followed my husband for a business trip to Johor Bahru. We checked into Crystal Crown Hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious and clean but I am disappointed with the bathroom. Each time when we use the sink, the water outlet flows backward into the bathroom making the whole floor wet with dirty water. Worst, the bathroom tiles were not clean properly over the months or years making the black moss along the tile joints float up. The bathroom floor becomes rather wet and dirty after each use.

There was a shopping center called KSL nearby which was just 10 mins walk behind the hotel. They have many shops selling food inside. If you are looking for food, they are everywhere. In front, there are few restaurants selling noodles, seafood and dishes with rice.

The access to the parking lot is narrow and parking space are limited. The hotel reception did not show a warm and friendly attitude. They provide towel, disposable toothbrush, comb, sewing kit, shampoo and soap. The elevator are old and slow.

We booked our nights including breakfast. Breakfast was not very good. You get different kinds of food depending on the time you get there. It is open from 6 am to 10 am. They top up very slowly and when I got there at 9 am, the food was almost finish.

For a night or two stay here is ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Last minute booking and only Executive Studio was available. Too be honest the room is exceed our expectation. Spacious, clean and cosy. The bed is comfortable and the aircon is working well.

Strategic location, KSL shopping is just within walking distance. Walk over the over bridge, there is a hawker center selling variety of BBQ seafood and local foods.

But don't expect much for the breakfast. Not much choices, very basic.

Overall, I'll still back again for the good deal and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayshalws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room has improved over time, however the parking spaces and access is still as bad as 10 years ago. There is only 1 narrow access road leading to the car park at the back, however it's a 2 ways road with 1 way wide. You might experience someone is parking his car on the road side making it even narrower and I happen to see one incident where 2 car owner on different directions don't want to let each other pass, end up both of them nearly put up a fight. The staff is not so friendly. The breakfast is lousy as they only provide a small plate for breakfast where u can't even put more than a tiny bit of food on our plate. Just an average hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid going into the car park from front access, you may need to go to the back lane of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Needed a room for one night in JB and came across this hotel while doing my last minute research on the Internet. Went through the reviews and based on its location, decided to dive into it thinking if its bad its only for one night. Called up the hotel on the day and they allowed me to reserve a room through the phone. Great service! Went to the hotel and they checked me in without any hassle and was done in like 10mins. By the way while checking in, notice that they have quite a big lobby so was thinking the "risk" I took has gone down a little and was quite impressed.

Went up to the room seeing a corridor looking nice and clean. Went into the room and immediately I felt its really value for the rates that they are quoting. The room is spacious, a king size bed with clean mattress linens and blanket and a nice and clean bathroom with clean bathtub. There is also a nice coffee table set so if u do order room service, you can have your meal comfortably. Felt with the whole layout and cleanliness of the room, I really got my money worth. Only gripes about the room was there's no disposable thoothbrush and paste in the bathroom for people like me who stay only for one night and don't pack any luggage, and there's only 4 bottles of mineral water in mini bar. No soft drinks or beer. Haha.

Location wise is as good as it can get being near to the KSL shopping mall within 10mins walk behind the hotel and taman sentosa, a place with lots of good food around same distance infront of the hotel across the road. Was able to go taman sentosa for a nice dinner and head over to a neighbour lane to chill out at a nice bistro at Jalan keris before heading back for a good night rest.

Would really recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely head back again should I need to stay in JB again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzystud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.0 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.5 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#56 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayu Marina Resort
Bayu Marina Resort
#28 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Paragon Serviced Suites @ Straits View
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.7 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#26 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel

Property: Crystal Crown Hotel
Address: 117 Jalan Tebrau, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing