We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is ok but parking is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Crown Hotel
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room has improved over time, however the parking spaces and access is still as bad as 10 years ago. There is only 1 narrow access road leading to the car park at the back, however it's a 2 ways road with 1 way wide. You might experience someone is parking his car on the road side making it even narrower and I happen to see one incident where 2 car owner on different directions don't want to let each other pass, end up both of them nearly put up a fight. The staff is not so friendly. The breakfast is lousy as they only provide a small plate for breakfast where u can't even put more than a tiny bit of food on our plate. Just an average hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid going into the car park from front access, you may need to go to the back lane of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Needed a room for one night in JB and came across this hotel while doing my last minute research on the Internet. Went through the reviews and based on its location, decided to dive into it thinking if its bad its only for one night. Called up the hotel on the day and they allowed me to reserve a room through the phone. Great service! Went to the hotel and they checked me in without any hassle and was done in like 10mins. By the way while checking in, notice that they have quite a big lobby so was thinking the "risk" I took has gone down a little and was quite impressed.

Went up to the room seeing a corridor looking nice and clean. Went into the room and immediately I felt its really value for the rates that they are quoting. The room is spacious, a king size bed with clean mattress linens and blanket and a nice and clean bathroom with clean bathtub. There is also a nice coffee table set so if u do order room service, you can have your meal comfortably. Felt with the whole layout and cleanliness of the room, I really got my money worth. Only gripes about the room was there's no disposable thoothbrush and paste in the bathroom for people like me who stay only for one night and don't pack any luggage, and there's only 4 bottles of mineral water in mini bar. No soft drinks or beer. Haha.

Location wise is as good as it can get being near to the KSL shopping mall within 10mins walk behind the hotel and taman sentosa, a place with lots of good food around same distance infront of the hotel across the road. Was able to go taman sentosa for a nice dinner and head over to a neighbour lane to chill out at a nice bistro at Jalan keris before heading back for a good night rest.

Would really recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely head back again should I need to stay in JB again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezzystud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a last minute travel plan to JB/Spore/Universal Studio to celebrate the new year eve. Since this was the only hotel available during that period, we took up the only available room in this hotel, which was the Executive Studio, with King size bed. The room was spacious and cosy. Looks like it was recently renovated and worth the cost of RM295nett/nite. There is an ample space to put it an extra bed in the room.

Pros: location is superb, along Jalan Tebrau. very near to the causeway checkpoint and the city.Parking is free for guests - at the same hotel building. Breakfast buffet spread was just OK. Call made to Housekeeping at night is not picked up, but request made to the Front Counter for prayer mat and extra towel was attended to immediately. I love their pillows!!! Very comfortable. regret for not checking out the brand and where I could find the for my bedrooms..:(

Cons:
1) Front office staff should be sent for grooming class. Upon our arrival, one of the female staff on duty had her long hair loose, not combed/brushed for the day. During our check-out, another female staff attended to us with terrible make-up on her face. They look very unprofessional, despite their friendly personality.

2) There's no full-length mirror in the room or at the lift lobby or anywhere else in the hotel.

3) On our 1st day, we left the hotel at about 11am and returned at 12.00pm. We were shocked to see the room was not made up at all. There is also no signage for "Please make-up room" or "Do not disturb" provided in the room.

4) Since the flooring is wood/laminated wood, we can hear the heeled footsteps from the above rooms, which is quite disturbing early in the morning.

5) There's no internet connection in the room. Free wifi is only provided at the lobby.

6) There's no safety deposit box in the room. We had to carry our laptop everywhere during this trip.

Room Tip: Executive Studio is very spacious, can accommodate up to 4 pax in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntanWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

For budget business trip it is worth staying. Always available even it's 3-4days booking.
Importantly, the rooms are cleaned.
When you are too tire to walk around town, the hotel has a good range of TV channels from Singapore and Malaysia.
Ample food, you can get them anytime of the day, it's surrounded with restaurants, hawker stalls from Chinese, Indian, Malay.
Within walking distant.
Love it's location, right in the city and public/private Transportation easier available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good service and friendly staff.

Adv: Stategic location of the hotel.Buffet breakfast was very basic.the room and restroom are very clean.Had peaceful sleep.Room service was open 24 hrs.Excellent stay. Carpark provided for Guest.This was my second time stay.Would be able to see good view from the room.


Disadv: Need to improve on the Breakfast Buffet. The guest carpark needs to be improved.Beware of snatch thiefs when you come out from the hotel.Ladies not adviceable to walk alone at night.

Tips: few steps walk from the hotel, there is good steamboat restaurant.
As for non smoking, higher floor.Eg : Room 1105 and 1107 with connecting doors.

Room Tip: Tips: few steps walk from the hotel, there is good steamboat restaurant. As for non smoking, higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priyaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Can just show your business card upon check in to get a corporate rate offer! this is great as it save my times to go through the hassle of application! Rooms are spacious and clean, front desks were helpful and friendly, the only problem was the wifi not functioning well, others were just okay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank GraceYeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was Non-Smoking and had a distant view of the sea. Beautiful.
Unfortunately i could not sleep as I was attacked by bed bugs. Next morning I took pictures of them and requested for a bed changed. The reception was accomodating and switch me to another room also facing the sea with no bed bugs. :) Parking is a hassle too as you have to have a parking slip for free parking and when you go in and out you need to pay parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.5 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#44 of 109 in Johor Bahru
245 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#31 of 109 in Johor Bahru
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#35 of 109 in Johor Bahru
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
489 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#13 of 109 in Johor Bahru
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel

Address: 117 Jalan Tebrau, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing