We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky yet decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smoky yet decent”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at the 14th floor. Facing the pool.
Upon arrival, the room smelled smoky. I went to open the window, hoping the smell would go away, it turns out the window couldnt be fully opened, it will fall back once you let go.
There is free wifi provided in the lobby and you could request for wifi in your room with a price (RM15++)
The shower at night doesnt seem to provide very hot water (mild temperature), In the morning. the water was hotter.
Parking is free, so it wasnt a problem. Just a little difficult to get to the hotel, every time you ll need to U-turn by the basketball court.
The pool area was very windy, locating right next to the Nelayan restaurant. Buffet was alright, not too bad. RM24++ If you want to add in one extra person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mlingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalimantan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

went to Johor Bahru on 7.7.2012, for a last minute trip. We checked-in to Selesa Hotel for 1 night only. Our room was located at 25th floor. View was quite nice, room was big & clean. Toilet with bath tub. Breakfast buffet was okay - not bad. I don't have much things to complaint as the room cost only about RM150, cannot expect more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed there for one night. Price is affordable ~RM150 for a standard room. Decent. Room is large, but smells of cigarette a little. Bathroom is okay. Breakfast is okay too. Plus they're shariah compliance (halal etc). Got swimming pool, quite large. Everything is okay, i didnt expect much anyway for the cheap price. So, for me, it is quite okay. It's in the middle of the city anyway. If u're expecting to be treated like a 4-5 start hotel, this might not be the right one for you. And if u're looking for a place to rest n sleep for the night, this might be worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarhannaMZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights for training. Room vv spacious but rather old and musty! Only one key provided :( tv channels limited and bad reception. Everything is very old fashioned (Light switches etc) No wifi in the whole hotel! Location wise close to pelangi mall but not within walking distance. About 3km from the custom (taxi fare RM10), and about 30-40 mins drive from senai airport! The seminar room has this weird ceiling mirror spying on the participants(if you are paying attention or not) Room view of the coast of JB and Singapore! Breakfast average but limited options. Probably It's time to refurbish!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Changed room for 3 times during my stay. 1st room the shower is broken. 2nd room the air cond leak. The receptionist still dare to ask me to wait and ask the technician to check. While in that night before, I already report to the supervisor on duty and even ask them to set a change for me at 8am. They dint even bother to call me up. Very upset with their ignorance attitude.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArthurZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here for Hari Raya hols. Nothing really great about this hotel, nothing really bad either. The pool is a really ugly, square thing, but if you just want to do some laps, I guess its sufficient. Breakfast buffet was ok, but room service food was really tasteless, think the cook forgot the salt or something , and we just ordered kuey teow. One thing I really didn't like: the room was dusty! Even if its a no frills hotel, it should at least be clean. They don't bother to wipe the lampshades or headborad - its got dust that you can actually see on it.

Overall the stay was good for the rate that you pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quadhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I had a night stay at this hotel with some friends recently. Not a very nice experience for me thou. The bedsheets smells bad, the room smells musky, well, only the toilet was acceptable.. and the Soundproof wall? The sound of the toilet flush from other rooms was loud and clear, people walking around and shifting the furnitures!! All was heard throughout the night! I will definitely not go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#44 of 109 in Johor Bahru
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 109 in Johor Bahru
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#47 of 109 in Johor Bahru
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#40 of 109 in Johor Bahru
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing