We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs down sucks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Ranked #81 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

veri slow n baD services..
We reached there around 1430 but in the end we got our connecting room at 1630... n one of the staff dare to ask whether we want other room instead connecting room!!!!
Request for extra pillows and took almost one damn hr till we made third time call!... slow wifi... foods not satisfied!!! Really annoyed!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimie_amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaharudin A, General Manager at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear kimie_amethyst,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru.

We are sorry to learn that the service delivery has fallen below your expectation. Rest assured that we value all guests comment , hence please contact us personally in order for us to further carry out an investigation on the areas highlighted.

email add : elaina.tan@berjayahotel.com

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Location:
Approx 20 minutes from the airport
Approx less than 10 minutes drive to the city centre

Hotel:
Check-in and out was fast
Room was big enough for 3 person
Bathroom is okay, can fit 2 person with bathtub and toilet
Taxi can be arranged at the concierge
Breakfast was great, not much choice but taste great!
Wi-fi in-room available
Service was fast. They'll attend you right away.

Facilities
Hotel is attached to the shopping mall (on the right)
Pubs and clubs (on the left)
Opposite the hotel is the jetty to batam and tanjung pinang
Food joints are 5 minutes walk from the hotel and are open until 3am (or maybe later)
You may take a walk by the beach

Safety
Just be careful on the drunk people as they left the pubs late at night
Police are on roaming and guarding all the time

Sleeping Quality:
Excellent!

Overall Experience
Excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaharudin A, General Manager at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for for sharing your comments and memorable experience at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru.

We are are very glad to know that your stay had exceeded your expectation. Rest assured that your comment will be passed on to the rest of the team and we will continue to strive towards achieving excellence in service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and extending to you once again our warm hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Its a good property but could do with some refurbrishing.Here are my impressions:

Pros-
Location- Immediate area has nightlife/shopping and you can stroll around and enjoy.Its more or less self contained as its on the Zon Duty Free zone
Beds-Very comfortable
Facilities-Pool/fitness-gym/nice Club Lounge where you can have quiet breakfast,sit,relax and read
Rooms are good in terms of closets and furniture but not large and shower/bathtub may hinder some guests who have mobility problems as the tub is high
Staff-Very good


Cons
Rooms are a bit small
Pool could do with more than 4 lounge chairs
Internet is very inconsistent
Zon Mall could be so much better-not many stores occupy the place/choice and quality so so and prices are not duty free cheap
Breakfast buffet is so so,but room is large and a nice space

The pool area could be so much better if they just added new furniture and a great improvement would be to do something with the swim up bar that is now empty
Fix the WiFi.Because the location offers some variety I will return as the place has a good feel and if they do update it anytime soon, I think it would become one of the better stays in Johor

Room Tip: Facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I am a member of this hotel and I have seen how the hotel was previously managed and how it is managed currently.

I would used to rate this hotel (used to be Zon Regency) a 3 to 4 stars. But now, I would stick it to 3.

After being taken over by Berjaya Group, the hotel has improved on certain housekeeping areas however standards are stripping from its service and entertainment components.

I was quite disappointed to see the Filipino band and staffs with lower morale. The band used to be more vibrant and cheerful. Hotel staffs used to be more sincere in serving customers over the phone. Nowadays, you seems to get angry and frustrated staffs attending to phone calls.

Anyway I will be still visiting the hotel even booked a room today until my free hotel vouchers used up.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FollowLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room is thirty even the bathroom. Then the window is only tempered glass is not safe if u bring a small kids, is not friendly balcony, the breakfast is a terrible, the service is very bad from reception counter, concierge, & housekeeping. The swimming pool is not well maintained and Im not staying here anymore.

Room Tip: Room on the level 1 is a better for family n kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked corner suite + connecting deluxe room for kids, club lounge package. Check-in tried to charge payment when I'd already paid WOTIF at booking! Corner suite lovely, spacious, deluxe room was bit cramped for two. We had lovely views on Singapore. Complimentary parking was so time consuming and stressful, we paid for parking outside hotel. International travellers beware smoking is allowed all throughout hotel including club lounge, YUK! Expensive drinks + spa treatment. Bar singer on 5th flr can be heard in 15th floor rooms! Clubs, food, shopping all around, but also expensive, shop elsewhere. Club lounge doesn't serve cocktails, but beer/wine/soft drink & cocktail food, no other guests up there when we went. Was nice for enjoying a couple of drinks, kids loved snacks. Pool looked gross, didn't try it. Breakfast best feature, lots of choice, western/asian & coffee was ok. Don't keep room swipe card next to mobile phone, you'll get locked out of your room, staff should tell this at check-in. Checkout again frustrating as staff couldn't understand deposit was paid for two rooms, and tried to charge more again! This place has potential, needs a good overhaul & must ban smoking to attract international travellers.

Room Tip: Corner room lovely & spacious, deluxe bit small for two people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feelingr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Only 5minutes taxi ride from the causeway which cost RM$10.90 non-negotiable from the taxi counter our way there and RM$5 on our way back.

Quick check-in and check-out. Staff are friendly and the hotel is right next to a shopping mall where you can get all your water, snack and drinks.

Room is spacious and clean and you can see Singapore across the water.

Bed is comfortable and I had to drag myself out of bed.

Only complain, Wifi does not work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 111 in Johor Bahru
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
GBW Hotel
GBW Hotel
#46 of 111 in Johor Bahru
334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 111 in Johor Bahru
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 111 in Johor Bahru
698 reviews
1.6 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#47 of 111 in Johor Bahru
257 reviews
7.2 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#15 of 111 in Johor Bahru
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru

Address: 88 Jalan Ibrahim Sultan | Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly ZON Regency Hotel by the sea)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $41 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the capital city of Johor in Southern Malaysia, a mere 5 minutes away from the main causeway link to Singapore, Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru (formerly known as The Zon Regency Hotel by the sea) boasts 400 rooms and suites and features one of the largest MICE facilities in the region. Adjacent to Iskandar Malaysia, the southern development corridor - famed for its tourist attractions such as Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park, the hotel and its integrated duty-free-zone is home to an array of shopping, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Johor Bahru
Regency Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing