We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not returning to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Ranked #80 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not returning to stay.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was formerly Zon Hotel at Kompleks Bebas Cukai. It needs a lot of refurbishment to be done for it to live up to Berjaya's name. Bathroom taps are old. Water drainage very slow. Reception was not too helpful. Called from room to ask for wifi password and was asked to go down to reception to get it. Anyway, wifi not good. Not convenient & user friendly for needy people as the reception is positioned on 1st (Main Lobby) & 6th Floor (small one, closed at night). Parking at Level 6 but need to carry luggage down a flight of stairs. Have to go through customs when leaving hotel carpark. Only plus point was probably the bed was comfortable and the sea front view had a good view of the sunrise. However, not returning to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview if you really need to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    82
    36
    44
See reviews for
65
37
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

"Berjaya" in the Malay language means successful.

The Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, however, is far from "berjaya". Okay sorry that was a bit harsh, but really, personally I feel that this one does not live up to Berjaya standards - in fact I felt cheated that it has the cheeks to use the Berjaya branding given the hotel condition.

I have no complains of the services that I received, the receptionists and staff were very friendly.

However, my complains come mostly due to the the hotel itself, it is in a run down condition with old, out dated fittings and furnitures.

We booked the standard room with 2 single beds. When we first entered the room, the chair and bedside table were not arranged properly (not that it is a big deal but if they didnt bother to arrange the furnitures nicely then god knows what else they didnt bother cleaning). Generally the room was clean, but i noticed one corner was very dusty. The bath towels that they provided were old and frayed that I almost mistaken it for bath mat.

There were ample parking space, only problem is that they are actually the mall's parking lot and quite far from the hotel building. Probably a 10-min walk to to get to the hotel lobby. The walk was not pleasant as well, we had to go through dingy corridors that smelled of urine.

The mall? Nothing to shout about. It was smelly too.

There is also a night club (or several clubs?) on the ground floor and the sounds coming from the club bothered me until 3 am. You know, the "boom boom" sounds from the club beats? That, in addition to the honking and car alarms from the club parking lot.

Breakfast was okay but the egg station was not manned all the time. The omelettes were prepared ahead of time, if you aren't lucky you'll get cold omelettes. Food variety was okay too.

Location wise, it is 30 mins away from Legoland, it is in the city itself, lots of food joints surrounding it, close to the Singapore checkpoint.

There you go. I almost could not find anything nice about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Formerly known as The Zone Regency Hotel. Old hotel new name and much of the things remains the same. Rooms is spacious, bed is comfortable. Wifi is poor; basically non-existant.
Breakfast is the biggest disappointment; coming from Berjaya, would have expected more.
For the name and price, guests deserved better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannylp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The nice part is the room is not bad, clean and tidy. The less nice part is the parking is really far from the room and from the reception area. The awful part is full of bars and night clubs one level below the hotel restaurant!! But we still consider this as a nice stay, the environment is good and not too crowded. The shopping mall to me is not really organized, can hardly see shops open in the morning. Overall we still satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel exterior is in good condition but when i get in it is totally differently story. The room is stinky, baht tiles comes out, wash basin leakage, smelly water, sticky carpet. Breakfast line has food variety of less in quality. Nothing much else to say just avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An easy hotel to find in Johor Bahru.
We had a pleasant stay. Nothing really to complain about. Clean and decent and good value for money. We would definitely visit hotel again.
It is not a 5 star hotel but comfortable by all standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#30 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.2 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru

Property: Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Address: 88 Jalan Ibrahim Sultan | Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly ZON Regency Hotel by the sea)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the capital city of Johor in Southern Malaysia, a mere 5 minutes away from the main causeway link to Singapore, Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru (formerly known as The Zon Regency Hotel by the sea) boasts 400 rooms and suites and features one of the largest MICE facilities in the region. Adjacent to Iskandar Malaysia, the southern development corridor - famed for its tourist attractions such as Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park, the hotel and its integrated duty-free-zone is home to an array of shopping, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Johor Bahru
Regency Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing