We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly balanced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night. It is a perfectly balanced hotel for both work and leisure. For those taking their family to Legoland and JPO, this hotel offers great location, being close to both attractions. Breakfast was awesome!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ACKamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a good hotel for this area of Malaysia especially if you wish to travel around this area of South West Johore. It is relatively new. Service is good. Breakfast is good especially the Malay and Chinese food (wide selection and good quality). We paid more for the marina view which is nice. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The décor in the room was good except that the quality of some of the furnishing/decor was not great as we could see some visible wear and tear on wall plastering and stains on furniture after just a year in operation. I was slightly surprised that there was no carpeting. Bathroom was good. The rain shower was great. It is nice to hang around the outdoor bar and restaurant area in the evening at the marina. Live music was good. Food prices were more reasonable than in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeflonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Traders were relatively newly opened when I stayed there. The rooms were nice and well equipped. I didn't use any of the gym or pool facilities, so can't comment on that. The restaurant was great and the breakfast was excellent!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ideal location for leisure and business to have between Malaysia and Singapore
Very comfort zone or piece and relax
Verity of food around
Great club lounge with well train local staff
Ideal venue for meeting and conference

Room Tip: Cleanliness to be improve unless very comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Farook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is one of the best hotels..... Make the most out of it, youd wish you can stay longer!

One of the best things is the transfer coach t legoland, and its free! They will even fetch you back. The best!

Room Tip: Just make the most out of your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Alexon1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I reached the hotel at 4pm. The check in was done in like 10mins but i was told to wait awhile as they are checking on my room. I waited for about 5mins before going over to the reception to ask if my room is ready. The CS said she's checking on it. Meanwhile, she ushered me to the lounge, told me and my family to order some drinks and snacks and my room will be ready in a few minutes. I don't believe a few minutes is all they need so i asked her if it is going to take long, she said no.

We went ahead to order some tea and the CS came back after 5-10minutes time to pass me the key card and told me that the room is ready.

Asked for the bill but was told it was complimentary.

I went up to the room and to my surprise, the housekeeper was still in the room tidying up. For a moment i thought i went to the wrong room so i asked her if that was Room 2326. She said yes and she went on to call i don't know who to find out why was the room release. I waited for a few minutes before i told her i will just go down to the reception to clarify it.

I went to the CS who did my check in and told her i don't know why she gave me that room when the housekeeper was not even done. It seems like it was some kind of miscommunication cos she looked kind of stunned upon hearing what i say. Same thing, she says she will check on it.

I was quite frustrated by then. Cos it was about 430pm and my room was not ready. Check in time supposed to be 2pm isnt it ? My son wasn't feeling well also and we have to loiter around the lobby.

Meanwhile, the CS offered free access to the Club Lounge for cocktail that evening and buffet breakfast for the next morning. I accepted it but i told her i would like to speak to the duty manager as well.

She came back 10minutes later and assured me that my room is ready this time and the duty manager will see me in my room. I said ok and made my way up. Indeed it was done but it was close to 5pm.

Duty manager(Faruk) came shortly. I told him it was disappointing that this has to happen. Traders is more expensive as to compare to the rest of the hotels in JB and I have never experience this in other hotels around Central JB although they are much cheaper. So it does not make sense that i only get my room close to 5pm at Traders. He apologized. Explained that they were fully booked till Sunday(if i remembered correctly) but he added it was of course not a good reason or excuse and it was still their fault.

Faruk offered to buy us dinner that night but i declined as my son wasn't feeling well, so most likely we'll just be in our room ordering room service. He said not a problem, he will make it complimentary for whatever we ordered for room service and told me that if i need any special diet/request for my son, he will try to fulfill it. He also asked if i would like to have late check out tomorrow, he will arrange it for me.

Around 8pm, another DM called to check on my son, to see if he is ok and if there is anything we need. He apologized again for our encounter.

Let's talk about the hotel now.

Room - 2326 (Deluxe Harbour View - SGD223(Room only) from Agoda) View from the room is not bad. Everything that you need from toothbrush, shaver, cotton buds are provided. I think the sound proofing wasn't very good cos i can hear the voices quite clearly if guests are talking outside my room.

Room service - I ordered Penang fried kway tiao to share with my husband and it was actually quite delicious. My son slept all the way till morning.


Breakfast at Club lounge - It was ok. The usually congee, fried rice and so on. It wasn't very crowded at the club lounge. A wide range of tea to choose from (Lychee with rose and almond, Rose with Vanilla, Deejarling and etc). They don't have a live station for eggs but you can order it from the staff(scrambled, hard boil and etc).

Swimming pool - I quite like the pool. There were 3. 1 for kids, 1 is like a jacuzzi pool and the last one is an infinity pool with sunbeds. There's a bar there was well so i guess you can order some snacks and drinks while lazing by the pool.

When i was back in the room, there was a note on the table, from the Manager of Housekeeping(Thanabalan), apologizing again for our experience the day before. Also, they have sent a fruit platter, a box of chocolates and a bottle of red wine to me...... I called Thanabalan to thank him.

That is why i say i have mixed feelings about this hotel.... The delay in getting our room was frustrating but it seems like they are very sincere in salvaging the situation and compensate us as much as they could.

Most likely i will be back cos i like the feeling of the whole place... But i hope i won't have to encounter this again.......

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ee Von L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My daughter vomited and soiled the beddings(bedsheet & comforter). We ended up changing the bedsheet on our own. Requested for comforter 3 times in 2hrs but never come. Called service center to collect back their in-room dining wares but never come as well. Turned up the aircon to 29deg because we have no comforter but the aircon seem to be at 25deg. We had a cold that night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank BreYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.8 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
12.1 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#5 of 109 in Johor Bahru
2,336 reviews
7.9 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
292 reviews
6.7 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor

Address: Persiaran Puteri Selatan | Puteri Harbour, Nusajaya, Johor Bahru 79000, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotels Puteri Harbour)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor is located in Nusajaya. It's approximately 20 minutes from Johor Bahru town and is easily accessible via land or water transport from Puteri Harbour International Ferry Terminal. Senai International Airport is a 20-minute drive away and Singapore Changi Airport is only 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing