We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princeton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Princeton Hotel to your Saves list
Princeton Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 47, Jalan Indah 15 / 2 | Bukit Indah, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Booked this hotel through Agoda, requested king sized bed (to accommodate my 2 years old kid) but twin bed given. The check-in process was fast & the staff was friendly. The corridor to the room was very dark which made us feel unsecure. We booked superior room but the room was quite small. The pillows were very old & the bath amenities quality was very low. Hotel is near to Aeon Shopping Mall. A lot of eatery around that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mon_0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will take immediate action to solve the problem in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall condition of the room was not bad... The location of this hotel is strategic which is surrounded by AEON, Tesco, and Giant. The room was very clean as well as the toilet. Good customer service too. However, the room is quite small compared to the same price hotel in KL.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hueyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Worth the value,front office staff are friendly and helpful.room are clean and wifi are good.macdonald 24hrs nearby for those wanna late supper.aeon,tesco and even giant hypermarket are around the vicinity.can purchase ticket to legoland which is much cheaper and you can even rent a car which is need to be book 3 days in advance

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maharudin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your reviews and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is my 2nd stay in Princeton Hotel, Bukit Indah, Johor. 1st trip is more of shopping at AEON and eating Zichar (local seafood), this trip is for my son to Legoland.

Why I pick Princeton Hotel...
As I do not want to spend RM800 for a nite stay at Legoland Hotel, I would think staying at Bukit Indah is a very good alternative for a couple of reasons

1) Transportation: Very easy to come from Singapore Jurong East Interchange (CW3) and Boon Lay Interchange (CW6), on returning home, you catch the bus at the same bus stop you alight, just outside AEON shopping mall. Princeton is just 5-7 minutes walk from the bus stop (towards Hotel Granada direction)

2) Shopping: AEON shopping mall which has plenty of eateries and a cinema. It has a big supermarket where you can get grocery as well.

3) Local Food: Near TESCO/GIANT, the shophouses at the junction of Persiaran Indah and Jalan Persisiran Perling 2. For breakfast, you can enjoy wonton mee, roti prata, char keoy tiao, etc. For dinner, you can get Zichar, seafood, satay, etc. If you do not want to walk that far (actually not far to me), there are plenty of eateries shops, ranging from Western, Thai, Chinese, to local food just along the street behind Princeton, yes, you can have your breakfast along this street. I have tried Tea Garden, good food, and nice tungsten lighting setup, quite romantic (if you going with your girlfriend). There is a confectionery shop, named MingAng, which sell very nice ShaoBao (roast bun) and MaTiShu (cookies with honey like sweet fillings)

4) Pasar Malam: I saw it at Bukit Indah2 (BI2)when I was on my way back from Legoland on a Wednesday evening. BI2 is closest town/taman next to Princeton Hotel, just a 5 minute drives, you can walk, but a little far.

5) For Christians, there are at least two churches along the long stretch of road behind Princeton as well.

6) If you want to go beyond Bukit Indah shopping, you can catch CW3S to Sutera Mall.

My Stay....
I arrived very early around 8.30am, room wasn’t ready (as expected, no complaint), but the friendly staff (an Indian lady) arranged to keep our luggage at the counter as I told her I am heading to Legoland. We had picked a Superior King room, which was much bigger and spacious for my wife and son. Everything was basic which was just what I needed, very clean, had a window, quiet but powerful aircon, though sound proofing of the walls was not fantastic. One comment was the WiFi had excellent connection, much better than those 3-4 stars hotels I stayed in KL or Penang. I was also surprised to find out Princeton Hotel were selling Legoland tickets at ~20% discount from what you would have gotten online, pretty good deal. At lobby, there are some selection of snacks and mineral water if you need at late nite. Not a big lobby, but had couple of sofa, bright and refreshing while you are waiting for a cab. Most of the staff I come across were friendly or very friendly.

Nearby Hotel...
Is there another hotel near Princeton? Yes. Hotel Granada, it is a 3-4 star hotel just beside Princeton. Can’t compare the two, as they should be in different category. If you go by the States standard, Granada is a hotel, while Princeton is a motel. Which is better? It depends on what fits your bill, the price is probably close to double for Granada, you can read the reviews in Tripadvisor or Agoda website and decide yourself. Other alternatives (along the street behind Princeton) are Kozi Hotel or Goody Hotel, they should belong to the same category as Princeton , I will still probably pick Princeton on my next visit, for its King size bed, friendly staff and good WiFi.

Taxi...
The friendly Indian lady staff at Princeton Hotel counter had helped to call me a cab to Legoland in the morning, pretty quick, driver at doorstep in about 10 minutes. The taxi was from Public Cab (Tel: 07-2413111), run by meter, cost me RM12-13, took ~10 minutes to reach Legoland. I was not familiar with the taxi companies here, but all Public Cab seems to be in RED color. The friendly Indian lady was rather knowledgeable and told me NOT to take those cab in BLUE at Legoland when I leave in the evening, true enough, I found out that it will probably cost me double. You must be very lucky if you can see a RED taxi waiting at the Medini Mall outside Legoland, but there are plenty of BLUE taxi, thus I call the Public Cab in both the evenings when I am done with Theme and Water Parks respectively, the taxi arrived pretty quick too, approx 15 minutes wait. I think most of the drivers speak some English at least, so no worries. I think there is a public bus (SL1) back to Bukit Indah, but only operate on weekends or public holidays (google Causeway Link website).

Written on 18 June 2014

Room Tip: Go for their Superior or Family rooms for more space to put your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank UT67A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your reviews very much and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. Putting on a smile everytime..
The room is big and cosy. Value for money. Buy legoland ticket from the hotel. It is cheaper than buying online. The location is between aeon and tesco, just 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Quek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your reviews very much and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I just returned from JB and stayed at Princeton Hotel, Bukit Indah. Just near to AEON Bukit Indah. Counter lady very nice and polite. Price within my budget. Convenience for people want to stay just a night to attending meetings in Nusajaya in the morning. Comfortable & Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your review very much and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at Princeton Hotel on a weekend. This is a no frills, budget hotel located in Bukit Indah. It is about 10 mins walk from Jusco Bukit Indah Shopping mall and close to numerous eating places in the vicinity.

I was nicely greeted by the Indian lady manning the reception when I arrived at 11.30am in the morning. I was happy to be given a room straight away. Check-in was fast and efficient - this is something that even some 5 Stars hotel cannot achieve.

I was given room 226. It came with a nice queen-size bed with a tiny window. The bathroom was quite a nice size but there is no shower screen that separates the bath from the toilet. The wifi signal was weak at times but the cable TV was a nice touch. There were also 2 bottles of drinking water provided. Sound insulation was not very good even though things got better after I closed the bathroom door. The room is generally clean and well taken care of by the housekeeping team.

This was a nice weekend stay for myself without blowing my budget. I will probably come back again for the safe environment and convenient location.

Stayed Room 226
24 - 25th May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princetonhotel, Manager at Princeton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Princeton Hotel! Thank you for your comments and reviews for the hotel. We appreciate your review ver much and we will improve further in order to serve you better. Thank you and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johor Bahru
10.0 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#33 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
#16 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
10.9 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#20 of 101 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Victory City Hotel
Victory City Hotel
#53 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geobay Hotel
Geobay Hotel
#56 of 101 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
9.3 mi away
Elmark Hotel
Elmark Hotel
#28 of 101 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princeton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princeton Hotel

Property: Princeton Hotel
Address: No. 47, Jalan Indah 15 / 2 | Bukit Indah, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Princeton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are new boutique hotel in Bukit Indah araea. We provide a friendly services and offered cleanliness in our accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Princeton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing