We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello kitty”

Sanrio Hello Kitty Town
Ranked #4 of 65 things to do in Johor Bahru
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The first Hello Kitty theme park outside of Japan.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hello kitty”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hmmm not so interesting for me. Only got one ride inside. The other activities not so fun, so just took photos with the mascot for memories.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    252
    258
    77
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Not worth going to"”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked the 1 day tour for Hello Kitty and Little Big Club through WTS. This theme park is very small, you can see the end of the theme park from the entrance. I would call it a town as it's more like 1 level of rooms. Only thing which was a good novelty was dressing up and taking a photo. I was surprised with how bad the gift shop is, I think I was expecting more, they didn't have anything good. The food court does not have any variety at all. If you're a Hello Kitty fan you might like it but it will disappoint.

Outside of the theme park there's really not much around aside from Little Big Club which is just as bad, Toys R Us, Lat's Place restaurant and if you go down to the ground level there was a indian restaurant which is good.

I think this place really needs more surrounding stores we finished going through hello kitty and little big club in under 2 hours. Our bus to pick us up wasn't scheduled till 5pm so we had a lot of time to wait around. We arrived at 10am.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A rip off theme "park"”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This theme "park" is just horrible in term of value. he cost to get in is about US$25. Kids pays the same price (which is suppose to be cheaper in other theme park all over the world).

When you get in, you get a stamp card. And when you see an attraction, they stamp your card. AND YOU CANNOT SEE THE ATTRACTION AGAIN. Therefore you can only try each attraction for once.

Both my kids kept asking questions, why they cannot ride the attraction again. Why they cannot enter the hello kitty house again. Why you cannot re-do the activities again.

They kept saying why other places like Legoland, Universal, DIsneyland, you can ride the attraction again and again.

This theme "park" is only in one floor of a building. And there are only 4 attractions and 4 activities. All the activities, you can only do one. 2 of the attraction, you can also only do once. The other 2 is just a playground and a spinning cup ride. The whole thing you can finish in less than 1 hour.

Unless you are really, really, really obsessed about Hello Kitty, Avoid this place, and go to the The Little Big Club upstairs. For the same price you have 2 floors of attractions that you ride over and over. Or just go to Legoland.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank CowboysIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“20130314 Sanrio Hello Kitty Town and Little Big Club, Malaysia”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I joined a 1-day tour with WTS Travel for SGD$63. This price is for Sundays-Fridays. Prices differ for Saturdays and Public Holidays. Included in the price is two-way coach transfer from Singapore Flyer (situated near Suntec/ Millenia Walk/ Ritz Carlton Singapore and within walking distance from Promenade subway station) and entrance tickets to Sanrio Hello Kitty Town and Little Big Club Town. There are multiple coaches leaving for Hello Kitty Town and Little Big Club and coming back as well. You can choose your preferred coach timing for both journeys. To depart from Singapore, drive to immigration, go through immigration, is probably a journey of 45 mins to 1 hour. There is no toilet on the coach.

Sanrio Hello Kitty Town and Little Big Club Town are housed in a 4-storey building. Each level is probably the size of an average supermarket in any downtown metropolitan area (not the hypermarts in the suburbs). As you can imagine, this is a very small place. I don’t think it really qualifies as a theme park. It’s more like a game arcade in a shopping mall.

Level 1 is the ticket sale area as well as the merchandise shop. Level 2 is Sanrio Hello Kitty Town. Level 3 is dedicated to Bob the Builder, Angelina Ballerina, Barney and Pingu. Level 4 is filled with Thomas and friends.

All the rides are for kids. Nothing exciting nor heart-stopping. For thrills, you can probably go to the merchandise shop and shock yourself with the prices they charge for melamine eating utensils. Once again, this place is more a mall arcade than a theme park. In Sanrio Hello Kitty Town, you are also given an activity card. You can visit the various rooms and participating in the various activities – touring Hello Kitty’s house, painting a Hello Kitty biscuit (and eating it), painting your nails (I’m not joking), dressing up in costumes etc. Hello Kitty’s house was boring, cheap and plasticky.

For full review and photos, please see http://travelrestauranthotel.com/blog/20130314-sanrio-hello-kitty-town-and-little-big-club-malaysia/#comments

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank The_TRH_Website
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will never ever return here unless there's a good comment in future”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sorry to say that I will never ever return to this place unless its 100% ready for business and provide interesting things to do there.

Now only few things to see and do there which all SUCKS!!!!

They should not, in the first place bring its here if they're not ready.

The fee is damn expensive compare with what they provided.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Satria_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanrio Hello Kitty Town also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Sanrio Hello Kitty Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing