We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better for the $$$”
Review of Bayu Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayu Marina Resort
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can do better for the $$$”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I found out I could have stayed at a better hotel for the money I paid. the rooms are big but not very suitable for a business traveller, okay for families perhaps. Had to get a cab to this location. the service is okay. Breakfast is not what you would expect. Definitely not for tourist or business travellers.

Room Tip: Not for business travellers or tourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Estate555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    80
    64
    13
    23
See reviews for
106
22
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

During check in was efficient but trauma begin when we went to our room. The room is so called okay but cleanliness is poor, toilet not functioning and such a terrible smell coming thru the kitchen sink. So I called the front desk to sent someone up here to check, I actually don't understand her English because this lady is a Filipino and she doesn't really understand what I am trying to tell her. My curiosity is, "Why the Management can put such an idiot to be at the front desk?" Well, i have waited for almost one hour but no one came, either this Filipino lady doesn't understand or she did not follow up my request at all
....is that very hard just to sent someone to fix it. I am puzzled here. The worst was this hotel got to training to their service staffs, they don't really understand English and even the whole hotel staffs are foreigner,Especially Filipinos. Read some others review about this hotel,talking about how great it was, it's all craps
And the waterfront view which cost another RM30, is everyone blinded by those floating garbages. If your resort is not ready to sell, do not open at all. please be more considerate about those loud drilling, knocking and many other unbearable noise. let me know, is this is what you call a RESORT?? Shame on you guy.

Your location was isolated from everything else. Travellers please beware and reconsider before checking in to this hotel.

Room Tip: If traveller coming here to relax and enjoying with family, this will not be the ideal one. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebkastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedrooms apartment.The unit is clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. Has a good variety of Malaysian food every morning for buffet breakfast. The location has no public transport convenient; need to call cab. I'd requested for a high floor, quiet, non smoking area. And gosh.. I realized the next early morning, my unit was a floor up beside the open air restaurant and every 6 am, I get the noises from the food preparation,pushing of gas /cooking stove... followed with fork fighting events. When I reaches out for some fresh air from the balcony, the hotels staff are puffing cigarettes at the open air! The receptionist really need to be tactful and anticipate these when allocating room. My hubby tried for another room on the 1st.day but only has a different quad type of room apartment.

Room Tip: Ask and check of ur rooms request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

had a short mini getaway with my family over at bayu marina resort. just 15minutes drive from the woodlands checkpoint.
Quite easy to locate the resort with the signboards at the side of the road.

Check in was a breeze. We got a free upgrade from 2 room apartment to 3 room. Living & dining area was spacious enough for my little nephews to roam around. all 3 rooms was modernly decorated with a super comfy bed & the view from our level 21 storey apartment was simply superb. We get to see the beautiful sunrise from our room.

minus point - wet lifts at level 9. Breakfast area & the swimming pool same level. almost slipped and fall due to the slippery floor due to wet guests from the pool going to their rooms in their wet suits.

Room Tip: 5mins drive / 10 mins walk to a nearby 24 hours coffeeshop for the hungry night owl :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartflakes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent three days in Marina Bayu Resort with my English husband and 14 years old daughter. We have been so many hotels around the world for holidays, from budget to luxury ones. I think this hotel is one of our favourites. The staff are kind, polite and friendly, especially Miss Sugar. She is an asset to the hotel. We will come again, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamilaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After viewing so many negative reviews about this hotel before reaching my destination. To be frank, it got me worried that I will have a bad experience with my stay there. I didn't choose this hotel as my stay as I bought deal from Groupon so I don't have a choice. Luckily, it was a nice stay! Most of the people complain about the service but it was fine. In fact, the service personnel are very friendly. They answered all my queries with a smile. The room is spacious and clean. The only downside of it is the wifi, it doesn't work at all or very low bandwidth.

I also want to compliment their food as it was so worth it! Their portion is not small and it's delicious. My boyfriend and I ordered soup, crab meat Yee mee and XO fried rice. The amount of crab meat they put in is really worth the price! Soup is enough for both of us and the XO fried rice is good too. Breakfast was good as well!

Check-out process we're smooth and we headed to Legoland. Overall we both have a great time! Totally worth the stay.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, you might want to request to have sea facing or the golf course facing. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyandi-ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is pretty new and the rooms are ok, cleanliness very good, pool ok. In general the facilities are not too bad. Unfortunately the service is one of the worst I ever experienced anywhere in the world. The front office staff is busy with little chit chats amongst each other and they basically spend 90% of their working time with some "private business" like watching TV, facebook, etc. WIFI internet was included in the room rate but it never worked except the first few hours after check in. We reported the problem each single day of our 2 weeks stay but the only reply was "our maintenance team is checking" or "somebody from the local telecom will come today". Nothing happened and internet was not working until we finally checked out. All charges were guaranteed and settled by my company.......the first few days it worked well, all of a sudden the front office staff kept bothering me to pay my roomservice, laundry, etc. by cash. Why ??? Overall the hotel could be very nice but unfortunately the lack of service attitude amongst the team is letting the whole place down.............we had the feeling that the management is not there permanently and the staff is taking advantage of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alex1976Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#23 of 109 in Johor Bahru
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
316 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
631 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Marina Resort

Property: Bayu Marina Resort
Address: No 1 Jalan Bayu Puteri 2/1, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayu Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bayu Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing