We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat refurbished, but still pretty average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Somewhat refurbished, but still pretty average”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Could be a really great hotel - good downtown location, large rooms, nice bathrooms, views over the straits to Singapore from one side. But let down by many little things:

* only 2 or 3 working lifts out of 4 to serve 16 large floors, meaning waiting times of up to 7 minutes (yes, I timed it)

* hot water is rarely hot, often only tepid

* ancient and very loud fridges in the rooms

* no 'green' policy for re-use of towels or sheets

* refurbished bathrooms covered in tile grout and rooms left dusty from all the work, and never cleaned

* still work going on, so hammering sounds most days

I stayed here for 2 weeks three years ago and again for 2 weeks just now - the only real change is that the carpets are now all new and clean. The location is the saving grace - easy to walk out of the hotel and find many great places to eat of all types and prices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the straits have nicer views, but can get too hot (even with aircon on full) if you for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_King_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    237
    216
    81
    61
See reviews for
231
136
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed there one night in December. Booked an executive floor value deal. Good rate. Service very friendly and efficient. They have a new lounge on the 15th floor with a separate check-in. The lounge also serves drinks and snacks. Again, very friendly and one gets a lot of attention by the staff. Rooms: I was given a refurbished room. Glad I was told because I would not have noticed myself. The power outlets don't work (except one) which is inconvenient to today's business traveller having to charge at least one laptop, a mobile phone and a tablet. WLAN signal is insufficient. The bathrooms are a disaster. When filling the sink with water to shave, the water flows out setting the bathroom under water. So one stands in his/her own used water with soap etc. in it. Whilst the rooms are spacious, the beds still seem to be a bit old, the pillows hard as a brick. Also, I was unfortunate to stay there during a golf tournament so these groups were doing their parties at night and running up and down the floor in the early morning making noise. It might be a good idea to have groups all on one floor so they can do their celebrations round the clock keeping in mind that there are also guest who have serious business in Johor. One more item: had dinner at the restaurant. That was great food at very affordable rate. My conclusion: I would go back since staff really is friendly, However, for a next booking, I would insist on a quiet room with functioning ammenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Puteri Pacific. A one star experience! Construction went on until 10 pm, although it was said to stop at 7pm. The shower took 20 minutes to get hot water. The television received three channels, only occasionally in English. We were stuck in the elevator twice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

KL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is going through some extensive renovations at this time and I forsee that the "old" look and feel of the hotel will greatly change in the near future. Location of the hotel is good as it is located in the heart of Johor Bahru. They could crank up their service levels a few notches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Name looks like a 5star but turned out to be 3star but then even 3star is better
Dissapoint room, bed, bath, tv..... wow almost everything!
Its really an old building with old design ols furniture old looks old sheets old bath old concept.... the fact is actually its really old

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaimShauqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arrived at 8:20 pm after a day at Legoland Malaysia, tired hungry and a little cranky. Receptionist was pleasant, but we were allocated a room that was already occupied and had to return to obtain a new room. Hotel design is reasonable but is currently in process of much needed refurbishment. Room we had was very tired. On the plus side the staff we encountered were very all very nice, the food in the Chinese restaurant was very good and we all had a very good nights sleep. In the morning the breakfast buffet was also good with plenty of choice and we found the swimming pool area to be clean and tidy. Apart from the state of the rooms, which hopefully will be all renovated the hotel is what you would expect in this part of Malaysia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Checked into the hotel this evening only to find that my key card wasn't activated so had to go all the way down again to have it activated. Fortunately, the front desk personnel were friendly and quick. Got a room on the 7th floor. Room seemed dated with a not so pleasant smell. There were stains on the carpet and the room was equipped with an antique 21" CRT TV. My biggest dissappointment came after coming back from dinner at 10:30 pm. At first i head constant, faint music which seemed to be getting louder and louder by the minute. I called t front desk at midnight to complain and told that the duty manager would call me back. After not getting a response, i called again at 00:40. By this time, the music was unbearably loud. The duty manager called soon after and said that it was coming from a lounge on the 4th floor. he asked if i wanted to change rooms, but my young son was already asleep after complaining about the music getting louder and louder. He then explained that all he could do was request that the music be turned only SLIGHTLY down which until this time still seems the same if not louder.

Room Tip: If you cant avoid this hotel, request a room as far away from the lounge and on the highest floor po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 111 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#5 of 111 in Johor Bahru
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 111 in Johor Bahru
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 111 in Johor Bahru
220 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 111 in Johor Bahru
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Property: The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Address: PO Box 293 Jalan Abdullah Ibrahim, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is the largest 4 stars hotel in the southern region of Malaysia, located in the centre of Johor Bahru with easy access to Singapore via the causeway. The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is a business and convention-focused hotel offering 416 appealing guestrooms inclusive of apartments and suites, all equipped with wireless internet access. There is an array of food and beverage options to choose from,this includes Selasih Restaurant which offers traditional authentic Johorean and Malaysian cuisine, Mediterranean inspired fun dining at D'Coast, Cantonese and Szechuan cuisine at Kai Xuan and The Puteri Cafe offers both local and international menu. For recreational activities, Pacific Fitness Centre comprises of the gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, tennis and squash courts, and an outdoor swimming pool. A choice of 29 function rooms and Convention/Exhibition spaces with necessary facilities are readily available to cater to your needs at Persada Johor International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puteri Pacific Hotel
Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing