We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked through Rates to Go, but our booking did not reach the Reservations. But based on our booking voucher, the staff at the reception were extremely nice and gave us our room although we had arrived at 9:00am for check-in as we arrived from New Zealand via Singapore and also had upgraded the room. The buffet breakfast was great with a wide spread, as well as buffet dinner. The room was on 12th level and the views were awesome. The spa and the massage centre were both clean and good. The king size bed was new and comfortable. Noise level was very low and we had excellent sleep at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Don't believe every negative cooments from visitors to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    222
    213
    77
    59
See reviews for
218
128
38
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located in the town centre, but still quiet enough to get peace. It's very easy to walk there from City Square mall. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation but they do their best to minimise inconvenience.
My friends and I were pleasantly surprised that the hotel rooms were of pretty good standard. We were warned that the place smelled like cigarettes, but we didn't smell anything. Possibly because we were on the non-smoking floors, or because of renovations? The bathroom doors were a little old-fashioned and slightly rickety (sliding wooden-slat doors) but the bathroom was perfectly fine.
The staff was also very helpful. One afternoon it rained very heavily when my friends and I were going out. Although they didn't have any spare umbrellas to lend us (we didn't have enough umbrellas), they told us a way to get to City Square which only had 1 short section uncovered. Unfortunately the rain was so heavy that in that short section, even with the umbrellas we had, we got soaked through :P
We didn't take the hotel breakfast so I can't comment on the food there although they are supposedly famous for their halal dimsum buffet. But there are plenty of nearby local places to eat, or there is always the mall with its eateries.
Oh, and avoid the lift at the very end of the lobby. It's a little scary: we pressed the button for our floor, the lift rose, jerked to a stop, went down and the doors opened to a pitch-dark basement! We went back up to the lobby and changed lifts!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is a bit disappointing with no swimming pool (beacause of the renovation). Suprised that a 5 star hotel has no LCD TV. The consolation is that they are giving discount price. Should have kids channel such as Disney Channel to keep them entertain when there is no pool to entertain them. The aircon was difficult to control. Hope the hotel rooms will be upgraded according to its value (5-star).
Luckily the service was good and food satisfying.
But then again, I have a soft spot for this hotel since I had my wedding reception 11 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelakaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed a night and the experience was awful. I was tempted to book this hotel due to its location and previous stays here, however service has really dropped, they are renovating the hotel and the place is a mess with no additional facilities besides your hotel room. The room is of descent size but the bathroom and the interiors are showing signs of aging. It does not feel like a 5 star hotel at all, not worth the prize!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Batu Gajah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Located in town center, and not in the busiest part of town. 5 mins from Kota Raya 2 bus terminal. 10 minutes from CIQ to Singapore & railway station. One can see Singapore from the room. And they provide two cans of coke and cookies for free in the fridge, in addition to free bottles mineral water.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAS3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We used to spend our weekend staying in the Puteri Pacific (aka Puteri Pan Pacific) when I was working in Singapore. Unfortunately, the hotel has seen better days (maintenance seems to be a common issue among the majority of Malaysian hotels and shopping malls). It is strategically located in the centre of town within walking distance to major shopping malls (nearest City Square), government offices, banks and the Johor checkpoint/causeway. The room was clean and comfort level was acceptable. The Puteri Pacific is still the best option if sole purpose is to shop/dine in Johor Bahru. If one is after relaxation by the pool, then there are better options such as the Zon Johor Bahru which is away from the town centre (quieter, better air and pool quality, but transport could be an issue unless self-drive).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacLik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel is deteriorating and decadence is evident from the lounge to the swimming pool and the bedrooms. It is definately not a place for honeymooners and couples. Perhaps as a good stopover to Singapore. The rooms are very spacious can house 2 adults and 3 children. It is strategically located, only 0.8 km from the woodlands checkpoint. The hotel does not qualify to be rated. In my opinion it is a higher end budget hotel. I wil lnot be staying there, as it lacks the necessary requirement to be classified as a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#38 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Property: The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Address: PO Box 293 Jalan Abdullah Ibrahim, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is the largest 4 stars hotel in the southern region of Malaysia, located in the centre of Johor Bahru with easy access to Singapore via the causeway. The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is a business and convention-focused hotel offering 416 appealing guestrooms inclusive of apartments and suites, all equipped with wireless internet access. There is an array of food and beverage options to choose from,this includes Selasih Restaurant which offers traditional authentic Johorean and Malaysian cuisine, Mediterranean inspired fun dining at D'Coast, Cantonese and Szechuan cuisine at Kai Xuan and The Puteri Cafe offers both local and international menu. For recreational activities, Pacific Fitness Centre comprises of the gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, tennis and squash courts, and an outdoor swimming pool. A choice of 29 function rooms and Convention/Exhibition spaces with necessary facilities are readily available to cater to your needs at Persada Johor International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puteri Pacific Hotel
Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing