We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Helpful staff, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service, Helpful staff, Good location”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had been for a conference named biojohor at johor bahru. The arrangements were made at this hotel. I stayed for 3 nights and four days. The rooms was good and neat, however, the bathroom could be little better. The hotel has excellent location. The conference was held at persada centre and it is just connected to the hotel via a bridge on the second floor. The hotel staff is very helpful. Whenever asked for help, they were ready with a smile on their face.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhura4_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    230
    216
    80
    60
See reviews for
224
134
38
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I chose to stay here out of nostalgia, as the hotel used to be a childhood favourite of my family, back in the days when it was Puteri Pan Pacific. What I can say is, not much has changed, in terms of infrastructure and room condition. The furnishings of the room have seen better days, and in need of upgrade, if the hotel wishes to be at par with other newer accommodations in Johor Bahru.

Beds were nice and firm, but there were obvious stains on both the sheets. Perhaps the hotel should be more particular in making sure that the white sheets stay white, or invest in new covers. I let this pass, but I can see how this would be a dealbreaker for others.

Location-wise, within walking distance to major shopping malls and smack in town, the place still wins.

One thing I remember most about the hotel from the past was its' lavish breakfast buffet. Sadly, that is no longer the case, as the breakfast spread was average and rather minimalist compared to how it was before. Bread and pastry selections were quite limited despite a big crowd (I understand the hotel due to its' linkage with Persada Johor is often used for Persada business purposes) and nothing to brag about.

All in all, the hotel amenities and services provided were adequate, but not quite enough to be considered memorable. Sad but true, if the hotel doesn't plan on refurbishing the rooms soon, it will lose out to the newer hotels in no time.

Room Tip: Good deals for early bookings on the hotel website itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Located at the heart of city.Near to City Square Mall.There are many shops around and just walking distance away.Room is clean. Bathroom is a bit old.The chairs in the lobby is a bit old.Booked it via online and got a cheaper rate compare to walk in.Stayed in this hotel due to my meeting venue which is just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend. Location wise, it's within walking distance (less than 5 minutes) to Jalan Wong Ah Fook, one of JB's main arteries. Plenty of food options within walking distance as well, with City Square Mall nearby.
Friendly staff, but service could be better. Not impressed with the fact that the rooms aren't equipped with LCD TV. Also the noise from the in-house nightclub was deafening at times in the wee hours of the morning. Other than room, pretty standard room with accompanying amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for the Singapore view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prav101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The rooms & bathrooms are average & tired looking. Located near to City Square Mall.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkjs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was stayed there for my business trip. The location of the hotel is fine, right at the city center. The room is big but however, it is really "dated". The picture they show on the website is real but it was taken at least 10 years ago.

The bed was alright and in general the room was clean. But when you walked into the washroom, you will see the "history" of it.

With the concept of "what you pay is what you get", I would not complaint.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravel0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for business purposes on 08.05.2012. The only good thing about this hotel is the location which is very strategic. Other than that, there is nothing to look forward at this hotel. Most of their staff can't communicate in good English which is essential in the service and hospitality industry. It is sad to note that they do not have many staff manning the cafe during breakfast which is served buffet style. My friend and I have to wait for more than 10 minutes just to get the waitress attention to clear the table for us. The way the waitress cleaned the table is also very unpleasant. After her "so-called cleaning", the table was left very wet!! Imagine being attended to in a hotel with "so-called sterling international standard" this way!!!

The breakfast spread was mediocre. There were not much choices and the only nice thing was their juice.

The room was quite average. However, I had the most unpleasant time sleeping in this hotel. The centralized air-cond in my room was switched off in the wee hours of the morning! This is not the way to safe cost especially when there are guests in the rooms!

This hotel is way below my expectation. It has a strategic location right in the city centre and yet the service is below par.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#8 of 109 in Johor Bahru
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
828 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Property: The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Address: PO Box 293 Jalan Abdullah Ibrahim, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is the largest 4 stars hotel in the southern region of Malaysia, located in the centre of Johor Bahru with easy access to Singapore via the causeway. The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is a business and convention-focused hotel offering 416 appealing guestrooms inclusive of apartments and suites, all equipped with wireless internet access. There is an array of food and beverage options to choose from,this includes Selasih Restaurant which offers traditional authentic Johorean and Malaysian cuisine, Mediterranean inspired fun dining at D'Coast, Cantonese and Szechuan cuisine at Kai Xuan and The Puteri Cafe offers both local and international menu. For recreational activities, Pacific Fitness Centre comprises of the gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, tennis and squash courts, and an outdoor swimming pool. A choice of 29 function rooms and Convention/Exhibition spaces with necessary facilities are readily available to cater to your needs at Persada Johor International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puteri Pacific Hotel
Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing