We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good, but acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I chose this hotel, as I wanted to stay in a place with swimming and that is convenient for shopping and dining.
There were some poor comments about their services. My first impression was the same too, as the attitude of their staffs did not meet the standard. I sent the same enquiry to Mutiara and another boutique hotel "Bliss", but the reply from Mutiara was sloppy and very impolite, while Bliss provided detailed information in good manner. If I did not eager to stay in a convenient place with resort feeling, I would not choose Mutiara due to the poor impression.
Fortunately, the real experience was not too bad; the service of staff was not very sincere, but not abominable. The room was large and clean. Although the taste of breakfast was average, but the selections were wide; Chinese, Malaysian, Western and Japanese style food were provided.
The bus stop to JB central was close, and it just takes around 10 minutes to walk to KSL.
Free Wi-Fi was provided, but the signal in room was very weak, that made my devices not able to connect the internet.
There were shuttle buses to airport and Johor Premium Outlet, but, they only departed once a day.
Overall, my feeling about Mutiara Johor Bahru was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A_VisitorJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

My essential criteria for a hotel room is a comfy bed and a hot shower. Unfortunately, the water was most certainly not hot - luke warm at best, which was a big negative for me. On the plus side, the room was quite spacious and comfortable, as was the bed. The whole ground floor reception and restaurant area has been renovated and is very nice but the renovations are yet to work their way upwards to the guest rooms. Our room was very tired and the air conditioner unit was very noisy and had condensation dripping from it, causing the paintwork to bubble as well. The service at reception could only be described as very slow and this needs to be improved upon. The highlight of our stay was eating at the restaurant on the ground floor (where breakfast is served). The food was delicious and relatively cheap and the staff were obliging. It's a pity that the main non smoking area of the restaurant is not licensed so therefore you can only consume alcohol in the smoking area - strange! There is a rather cheap priced large shopping area next door to the hotel where bargains can be found but no supermarket - you need to trek to the nearby KSL Shopping Centre to find that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank carolj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was great that we were granted early check-in as we had booked more than 5 rooms. The room was huge & even though it was a twin sharing room, both the beds were queen size! The size of the room was more than just a superior/deluxe room! Since we stayed for Ramadhan, the break fast spread was amazing! The hotel even prepared sahur for all Muslims guests. The spread was ample enough for sahur.

We will be staying again in Aug for another night & we know our stay will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Md_Isuandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The room is full of moulds due to the air con without humidity control!
No coffee to go in the morning!
Food is to expensive but not special and staff is not friendly!
Noisy at night due to the train horns all night long.
NOT RECOMMENDABLE!
Never again

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

truly enjoyed meeting all the associates here. You just need to voice out & notify what you looking for. do not expect perfections if you do not anticipate all the 'common things' surrounding this areas. I will visit this hotel again! thank you for your hospitality especially from the food & beverage areas

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohemmadfeisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked through Agoda, and its only when we checked in that we realized it was a big mistake. No wifi in the rooms only LAN and that too only one line. if you are on a business beware not to check into this hotel. if you book through Agoda the hotel takes away the free breakfast so if one wants breakfast it is extra and you got to pay. the internet was slow. the room was clean but the inconvenience of no wifi and no breakfast should make one to think twice about choosing this hotel. everything is money. most hotels at least put refreshments for guests. in this hotel the room had only THREE (3) sachets of sugar???!!!. and when we requested for more it was well after HALF an hour they chose to deliver. and the staff were unfriendly and rude. even though the room was clean I would choose never to stay in this hotel again. the only free extras the hotel has to offer is the extremely unfriendly and long faced staff. good luck to anyone who ends up here. totally useless without wifi if the room more than one occupant. if on business you are doomed. wifi in the lobby sucks. service even more. front desk staff should be sacked. bellboy's attitude even worse. parking is cramped. so if you are driving and on business may you are better off in another hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to find out the length of the LAN connection. it is too short to reach the bed. ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night. There are some places to shopping around.
There is a market and TESCO and a shopping mall. There, we could exchange, too.

Hotel room was excellent and the breakfast is really wonderful.
But internet acess is not free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEYEONG P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
921 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman | KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $48 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for corporate and leisure travellers, Mutiara Johor Bahru has 336 well-appointed rooms and suites. Hotel provides WIFI, Pressreader digital-online reads, in-room complimentary coffee and tea and shuttle to selected shopping centres. It is about 15 minutes from the Causeway to Singapore and 40 minutes from the Senai International Airport. There are function halls for up to 500 persons, three restaurants and a lounge with live band, 24-hour room service, Executive Club Floor, business centre, laundry, florist, outdoor pool, gymnasium and lobby shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing