We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genyuzhen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I book 2 nights here..for peaceful holiday..and im in the right place.even its in the city but quite enough.mall is just beside the hotel. clean and spacious room.early morning staff will knock u asking ur laundry.helpful staff.ask for ur complimentary toiletries if u dont hve any.worth enough.no free bfast?for superior room.but it doesn't matter.since coffee is free.big lounge!!wifi in lounge only.Good service.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank genyuzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 659 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is just next to Holiday Plaza shopping Centre and 10 minute walk to KSL Mall. Hotel recently renovated the lobby and its look more modern and warm. We are the regular guest of the hotel and we would always back to stay at the hotel when the time we are at JB for or weekend stay cation. Staff are polite the the Duty Manager Ms, Latifah was very helpful and always ensured that our stay are the most enjoyable and pleasant.

We have been the customer of this hotel since the named Crowne Plaza Johor Bahru and surprisingly you can still see some of the familiar friendly faces at the hotel. Dining at the Seri Mutiara restaurant has provide you wider choice on foods variety and staff are very friendly and attentive to customer need.

Thank you Mutiara and Ms Latifah for making our stay pleasant and we will keep coming back to your hotel.

Room Tip: The room are all refurbished but the Executive Club Lounge evening cocktail can do more by put in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XavierAzhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Not bad to be honest.
You have Holiday Plaza just next to it so this takes care of the shopping.
You have an Italian Restaurant in the hotel so that takes care of the romantic dinner.
And you have some discotheque in the vicinity so night life is not a problem.
The only problem left is the security because the city is not well known for securities for the obvious reason.

The hotel is definitely not new, it used to be called Holiday Inn like 10 over years ago but I think they took care of it nicely. It is quite well maintained in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel was a HOLIDAY INN till the present owners took over and started running it.

The joint exudes the HOLIDAY INN concepts.

The staff from the CONCIERGE to the DIRECTOR of ROOMS (and all other staff) epitomize

the friendly,courteous and trust-worthiness of WEST MALAYSIANS.

The rooms were in tip-top condition.

The breakfast buffet served in the coffee shop was much, much,.

more than palatable.

The STAFF here in this morning REPAST ZONE were the most efficient of all the HOTELS

I have stayed in in 40 years of travelling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side( behind the reception) should be quieter-away from the main road and facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krishnamurthy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great location. However, it is a bit dated. Got a room facing the railway tracks so you could actually hear the trains pass by, so that kinda suxed.

But it is definitely a winner for me for the price that was offered. Was offered a club membership. Will consider taking it up though because of the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Apparently, just renovated in Jan 2014. Previously called Holiday Inn. Fist impression wasn't that great as we were left standing a bit with loads of luggage and 2 children at the front entrance with no dropping off space and doorman. To be fair, I think there was some VIP (Johor EXCO) in the building... wonder why they have the need to block up the front entrances with their cars when they have drivers that could park it properly for them elsewhere. (Unless the driver is a VIP too!). Then, my room wasn't ready when I checked in at 2pm. Got my family and I to wait for about an hour with our luggage on a trolley. The check in and check out counters were not labelled. I was caught standing in the wrong queue. I tried looking for a sign but definitely no signs of it. So, commented to the receptionist.

Then, to the hotel's saving grace, they upgraded my room from superior to deluxe for free... everything was better... the room was nice and room service was good. I think there was some piano exams going on upstairs and someone was tuning the piano for hours which annoyed me in the room. Couldn't sleep properly.

I loved the location as it's next door to Holiday Plaza and nearby food stalls.

That's my two cents... it's a good hotel but still has some more room for improvement for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence_Soong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at mutiara for 5 days. I stayed at 10th floor giving a good view of the city at any given time in the day. The rooms are spacious and bed was also very comfortable. The staff is very much approachable,friendly and always on their toes to help you. In fact i think the response time of the staff when somthing is required is one of the best i have seen compared to many hotels i have stayed in. The wifi is brilliant. I downloaded all my latest updates on my mac which was about 7 GB within a matter of few hours, so you must have got an idea what i am saying. Even though there is no wifi in the room(just LAN connection) i was provided with a wifi router on request. Access to all parts of the city is also quite easy from here. Remember to use red cabs as they are cheaper compared to coloured ones
There were some minor cons of about my room which is the train tracks that is located very near to the hotel. Be prepared to get startled in the middle of the night by the noise of the Train Engines, until you get used to the noise.
The hot water was taking a long time to show up in my tap during the first day. I called up the reception and they were able to fix it.
Overall my experience was good and i would recommend this hotel to any one who is travelling with family for leisure or for solo travellers who come for business/leisure.

Room Tip: i stayed at 1019. It was a very good room with good view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinikiniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
901 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#13 of 109 in Johor Bahru
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman | KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $48 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for corporate and leisure travellers, Mutiara Johor Bahru has 336 well-appointed rooms and suites. Hotel provides WIFI, Pressreader digital-online reads, in-room complimentary coffee and tea and shuttle to selected shopping centres. It is about 15 minutes from the Causeway to Singapore and 40 minutes from the Senai International Airport. There are function halls for up to 500 persons, three restaurants and a lounge with live band, 24-hour room service, Executive Club Floor, business centre, laundry, florist, outdoor pool, gymnasium and lobby shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing