We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price and Big Room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed September 12, 2013

- Stay here for 2 nights
- Clean room and big room
- Bath tub is too small for adult
- Buffet breakfast is fine but less variety. Almost same selection for 2 days.
- Located next to a mall with only McDonald.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken Sheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Mutiara Johor Bahru
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 653 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I didn't really spend much time in the hotel as I was attending a training course which occupied me the entire day. My wife wasn't too impressed with housekeeping staff's friendliness. Room was adequately big though. Was quiet and able to sleep peacefully. Bed/Mattress could be improved. I think its showing signs of age. The Matress edges were quite hard and the springs were a tad on the hard side. Had expected better. Front desk was friendly enough to upgrade us from Superior to Deluxe which was nice. Overall, an average hotel but I wouldn't call it five star.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmo069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are pleased to have you stayed with us recently. We have taken note of your comments and will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very good hotel, newly touched up. Room is clean and big for the price paid. Buffet breakfast is acceptable but if possible, I think it would be better to explore food joint around the hotel vicinity for a true authentic Johor experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericcpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Your kind comments regarding hotel’s services and amenities are much appreciated. We are happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we shall certainly look forward to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just came back from a 2N stay in a deluxe room at the Tebrau wing. The room even though is of old design is very spacious, well maintained and clean.

The hotel is really trying hard to impress and I've to compliment the Management for their efforts. It started with a pre-stay welcome mail and ended with a post-stay thank you mail.

The hotel offer complimentary shuttle service to and from airport and to several shopping centres nearby but make sure you make reservation in advance. The concierge staff is very friendly and polite.

I dine at The Capri and find its food and service to be reasonably good. The buffet breakfast is decent with an egg station making a variety of freshly prepared eggs.

The swimming pool is nothing to shout about and there's no children pool. It's ok for my stay as I spent my 2 first days at LEGOLAND and only wish to come back to a comfortable room and a good restaurant for dinner.

Holiday Plaza is just next door if you wish to do some shopping and opt for some fast food if you choose not to dine in the hotel.

On my last day they extended my check out time until 3pm which was highly appreciated as my flight was only at night.

Overall I think the hotel is good value for the rate they charge compare to some other hotels in JB.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor with city view. Pay a little more for the Deluxe room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. Thanks again, for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is another city hotel. Good value for money. Large room, and good sized bathroom, though not entirely clean.
Internet only available in the lobby, and not that great. Ethernet in the room, but I was only travelling with iPad.
Choose your room with care, as its backs onto a railway line. Trains go through early and late. Worst for this western traveler was the Muslim service on loudspeaker from 5 am on the two consecutive mornings I was there. It's not just the call to prayer, it's an entire 40 minute service, whilst still dark outside. This also sets off local dogs barking. It's such a relief when it's finished, and then followed by the 5.45 express train going through.
When in Rome..I know!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. We appreciate your feedback and we have taken note on your comments on our room cleanliness and rest assured, measures have been put in place to prevent similar occurrence in future. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the deluxe room... Spacious with 2 queen beds! Great location.
Disappointed with the swimming pool, it looks so old & pool for kids was awful.
The breakfast were nice. Staff were nice & helpful.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe room double queen for family
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. Thanks again, for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the deluxe room and booked directly with the hotel as the rate was slightly cheaper than other websites (such as agoda and booking.com). There were 5 of us, 2 adults, 2 children and a baby<1 year old.

The deluxe room was huge (2 queen beds with complimentary cot) and comfortable. I have no complaint as we all slept soundly, but be aware the A/C can be too cold). The reasons why I might not come back are the fact that they charge around RM25 for breakfast per child, as the room rate only comes with 2 adult breakfast. We were only told about this upon entering the restaurant.

The internet is chargeable (RM25/24hrs) and free-wifi is only available at the lobby. Room service menu was somewhat limited and very pricey (RM36 for fish and chips). Our room is facing the back area and you can hear the train every once in a while.

The staff was friendly and I wold like to specifically commend on the nice concierge staff. Overall I would come back as a business traveler but would find some other hotels with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosmawati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We certainly look forward to your return trip to our hotel where we trust you will have a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
879 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman | KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for corporate and leisure travellers, Mutiara Johor Bahru has 336 well-appointed rooms and suites. Hotel provides WIFI, Pressreader digital-online reads, in-room complimentary coffee and tea and shuttle to selected shopping centres. It is about 15 minutes from the Causeway to Singapore and 40 minutes from the Senai International Airport. There are function halls for up to 500 persons, three restaurants and a lounge with live band, 24-hour room service, Executive Club Floor, business centre, laundry, florist, outdoor pool, gymnasium and lobby shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing