We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
134
354
177
38
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
354
177
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday plazapolo loungenew wingdeluxe roomshopping mallroom servicechinese restaurantother hotelsparking spacecoffee houseclub floorpleasant staybig roomnasi lemaknon smoking roomhousekeeping stafffront office
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 738 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is another city hotel. Good value for money. Large room, and good sized bathroom, though not entirely clean.
Internet only available in the lobby, and not that great. Ethernet in the room, but I was only travelling with iPad.
Choose your room with care, as its backs onto a railway line. Trains go through early and late. Worst for this western traveler was the Muslim service on loudspeaker from 5 am on the two consecutive mornings I was there. It's not just the call to prayer, it's an entire 40 minute service, whilst still dark outside. This also sets off local dogs barking. It's such a relief when it's finished, and then followed by the 5.45 express train going through.
When in Rome..I know!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. We appreciate your feedback and we have taken note on your comments on our room cleanliness and rest assured, measures have been put in place to prevent similar occurrence in future. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the deluxe room... Spacious with 2 queen beds! Great location.
Disappointed with the swimming pool, it looks so old & pool for kids was awful.
The breakfast were nice. Staff were nice & helpful.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe room double queen for family
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. Thanks again, for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the deluxe room and booked directly with the hotel as the rate was slightly cheaper than other websites (such as agoda and booking.com). There were 5 of us, 2 adults, 2 children and a baby<1 year old.

The deluxe room was huge (2 queen beds with complimentary cot) and comfortable. I have no complaint as we all slept soundly, but be aware the A/C can be too cold). The reasons why I might not come back are the fact that they charge around RM25 for breakfast per child, as the room rate only comes with 2 adult breakfast. We were only told about this upon entering the restaurant.

The internet is chargeable (RM25/24hrs) and free-wifi is only available at the lobby. Room service menu was somewhat limited and very pricey (RM36 for fish and chips). Our room is facing the back area and you can hear the train every once in a while.

The staff was friendly and I wold like to specifically commend on the nice concierge staff. Overall I would come back as a business traveler but would find some other hotels with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosmawati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We certainly look forward to your return trip to our hotel where we trust you will have a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

cozy room with spacious built up..very friendly staff and welcoming attitude. Good retreat after hectic working day. The only reservation that i have only the bfast buffet which i think could be improved.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshahom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are delighted to have you stayed with us recently. We have taken note of your comments and will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 days with big family in 4 deluxe rooms. Big rooms with well kept furnishings and packed of toiletries, including detergent! Staff were nice and helpful. Location is walking distance to KSL City. Lot of food near by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jsf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We certainly look forward to your return trip to our hotel where we trust you will have a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews