We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-y/o daughter loved the view of the train tracks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here (1 night) after taking my 4-y/o daughter to hello kitty land. What a nice surprise for her that our room faced the train tracks and she could watch the KTM trains rumble past every few hours. (Having just come from hello kitty land. she still had Thomas on her brain). We were on the 7th floor, and we could just hear the trains rumbling without it unpleasantly loud.

I echo one of the previous comments about room service being awesome. Food was lovely and delivery was prompt.

The kiddy pool isn't much at all, and we gave it a miss. The adult pool is really for adults (min height 1.1 meters and then slopes off to be even deeper than 1.5m quite quickly). Would be great to give diving lessons in, but not for kids in floaties)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duraculla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. We appreciate your positive comments during your recent stay and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Mutiara Johor Bahru
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 653 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I visit this hotel now for many years and nothing has changed over these years. I always book a club room because it has free internet and free access to the club lounge on the 13th floor. The rooms are still spacious but the furniture needs replacement. Also technical condition is due for renewal. This time the toilet flushing did not work properly, last time I had a room with a short circuit in the lights. I complained about the internet which was not working at all. I asked for a price reduction on my room rate but did not get it.
One thing that is always oke are the elevators, they always work and with short waiting time.
The breakfast is average but has not so much choise for non Asian food.
Next time I will considder another hotel in JB.

Room Tip: Always choose a room at the front side becasue of the train noise at the back.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred_1956085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We sincerely apologized for the inconvenience that you have experienced. Corrective measures have been taken to improve on hotel’s services and we are grateful that valued guest like yourself have taken precious time to provide feedback. We believe nothing is more important than regaining the trust and all of us hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome and serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived with an online booking voucher for Mutiara Johor Bharu but i made a silly mistake instead of February i accidentally click March while making the reservation. The staff did not turn me down instead they gave me the privilege to use the business center and make correction on my booking. Breakfast is great and service is excellent. Location is just nice. Highly recommend to anyone. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hidzir11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fair price for room with breakfast. Very good service from staff in the lobby.Staff was very prepare for help all the time, and it was the same for the breakfast. I remember this hotel for first I was i JB for 12 years ago, and on that time it was a high standard as like the shopping next, but today both is lack of missing investment or maintenance.
If you need to take a taxa from hotel then ask after the red one as it is the half price compare with the blue ones.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmittag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were a family of 4 with 2 older children and this hotel is excellent. We stayed 2 nights from 12th Feb-14th Feb.

Firstly, I would have to compliment their parking system which was very convenient. Parking lots are allocated in front of the lobby. Comparing to multi-level parking or basement parking in most of the hotels in JB, we prefer Mutiara Hotel parking system. The complimentary parking slip was another advantage where we just need to keep this slip and show to the parking counter attendant. We don't have to stamp our parking ticket at the reception everytime before exiting which is quite troublesome but widely practised by other hotels.

Check in was fast and we were upgraded to Deluxe Room(Tebrau Wing) without any additional charge. I'm not sure why we were upgraded but thanks to the hotel staff for the kind offer. The refurbished Deluxe Room was spacious, clean, and has 2 queen size bed. Enough for 4 of us. My kids enjoy the stay very much as they had good night rest in such spacious bed.

The shopping centre(Holiday Plaza) next to Mutiara Hotel was not attractive by its look, but it has quite a number of apparel shops and handphone/computer accessories retailer. Fast food restaurants such as MCD and KFC are in it, it's another plus point for choosing Mutiara Hotel.

We have been staying in some other hotels in JB, but Mutiara Hotel will definitely be our first choice to stay in future. We look forward to go back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Your kind comments regarding hotel’s services and amenities are much appreciated. We are happy that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we shall certainly look forward to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stay = 3 days / 2 Nights
Season = Peak (CNY 2013)
Room = Superior of CNY Promotion

To Mutiara Hotel, JB’s personnel
Positives - (Many)
i) Room
a) Clean and Spacious
b) Hot Water - Very Hot - I Like
c) Amenities – Average

ii) Food
a) Plentiful in quantity & quality
b) Utensils clean & pristine
c) Service was fast, pleasant to serve and clean up sometimes too fast

iii) Check In / Out & Room Service
a) Truly wonderful as provided room much earlier than check in. Appreciate it
b) Fast & concise

Negatives – (Less and forgivable taken consideration of the above “Positives”
i) Room
Sound Proofing-Hotel is situated besides a railway. I could hear a dog barking from the 4th floor that came from outside
Level: SEVERE
Would have rated this hotel as Excellent but due to this reason only, it dropped 2 rates. Sleep is very important.
Suggestion: Modify a few rooms to be nearly soundproof and name it as “Light Sleeper Room” I will pay extra for my stay in the future for this option if it is available.

ii) Amenities
Some Amenities (toothbrush, Body Shampoo) was only for 1 person instead of 2 people.
Level: Minor
I brought mine from home
Suggestion: ENSURE deserved amenities are provided in the future.

iii) Food
Waitress cleaning plates
Level: Minor
Sometimes too fast where I was taking a pause from eating and asked whether to clean up or not.
Suggestion. Train waitress to observe customer better.

Conclusion
Other than the sleeping negativity – this hotel is great to stay in seeing it was CNY. I will like to ponder as to the service when it is off season.
Appreciate allowing me to check in early as the travel from KL to Johor was dreadful.

Regards
S.Ganess

Room Tip: i)In general, call and make sure of your reservation. Not it was needed here as it was up to date. I...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinger84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are delighted to have you stayed with us recently. We have taken note of your comments and will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights & overall was a pleasany stay only a few hiccups.
- The room is spacious & clean but there was a musty smell so had to ask call for someone to spray deodorizer.
- The bathroom is clean, the bathtub is excellent but the toiletries was not complete so had to call & was immediately provided
- Had to ask for bathrobe & slippers as not available in room
- The lunch buffet is limited & not satisfying though the soup & fruits taste good
- The breakfast buffet is very limited
- Nearby malls (holiday plaza & ksl mall)
- Nearby mcdo & kfc
- The swimming pool & kiddie pool is not maintained properly. Had to call the reception to provide towels.
- The receptionists are not very friendly & accommodating but so far our requests are being answered.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhambaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are grateful that valued guest like yourself have taken precious time to provide feedback. We have taken note of your comments and would do our utmost to provide better quality services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mutiara Johor Bahru soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
878 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
685 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman | KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: $45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for corporate and leisure travellers, Mutiara Johor Bahru has 336 well-appointed rooms and suites. Hotel provides WIFI, Pressreader digital-online reads, in-room complimentary coffee and tea and shuttle to selected shopping centres. It is about 15 minutes from the Causeway to Singapore and 40 minutes from the Senai International Airport. There are function halls for up to 500 persons, three restaurants and a lounge with live band, 24-hour room service, Executive Club Floor, business centre, laundry, florist, outdoor pool, gymnasium and lobby shopping arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing