We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
134
354
177
38
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
354
177
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday plazapolo loungenew wingdeluxe roomshopping mallroom servicechinese restaurantother hotelsparking spacecoffee houseclub floorpleasant staybig roomnasi lemaknon smoking roomhousekeeping stafffront office
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 738 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I love this hotel soo much! Been here for a few times. I love the room the most. The room is really huge! So much space. Great breakfast selection. Very well located. One thing that i dont like is the staff- very rude. During my last stay, there is a situation- they double charged the breakfast for 1 of my family member's room. As we book the room with extrabed so 3 person will get breakfast. And my brother in law have 2 more kids so he paid by cash for the additional breakfast.
During checkout the staff charged the 2 breakfast on our bills. Luckily my bro in-law still hold the receipts. And the staff dont believe that we already paid for it at mad at us. At last after checking here and there, they realize that actually the bills is for other room. How can the front line staff are very rude And careless when handling guest! Crazy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru However, it is with regret that we learned of the deficiency in our service delivery and we assured you that measures have been put in place to prevent similar occurrence in future. We hope that this incident will not deter yourself from visiting us and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at Mutiara Johor Bahru over the weekend in March 2012. Located next to Holiday Plaza and about 10 mins walk to KSL City, the hotel commanded a nice location at the heart of Johor Bahru. Check-in took a while as the trainee was trying his best to familiarize with the front office duties. We didn’t mind at all given that he was courteous and always trying his best to meet our needs.

We were given a quiet superior room at the Pelangi Wing which faced the railway track and swimming pool at the back. The clean room was spacious. It came with a king sized bed and 4 comfortable pillows. The satellite TV worked even though the selections were somewhat limited. We used the in-room safe provided to store our valuables. There were no complimentary bottled waters in our room unfortunately and other frills like bedroom slippers or bath robes.

Our bathroom seemed dated. Some renovations would have been nice even though the bathtub was spotless and water pressure acceptable. The bathroom was generally well-maintained. I used the clean swimming pool at level 3 of the hotel and it worked well for me.
The buffet breakfast in the morning was sumptuous and it helped that the staffs at the restaurant were very welcoming. Generally, we were very pleased with the service staffs we encountered as most of them including the housekeeping team greeted us with a friendly smile whenever we bumped into them along the corridors.

Generally, we enjoyed our weekend stay at Mutiara. It would be perfect if some renovations were done to the bathrooms. However, for the prices we paid, we shouldn’t have too much complains. Mutiara certainly exceeded our initial expectations. Thank you for the nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Pelangi Wing facing the swimming pool
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, the rooms are old and the toilets just adequate. Sound proofing is bad and you can hear the TV playing on the room next to you. There is a stale stench in the room and the towels are old and sometimes have holes. No water, or slippers or bath robe provided in the room. Tooth brush not provided in the toilets but need to be requested for.
The lobby is has an open restaurant where people are allowed to smoke, since this is right next to the lift, you might lose a year of your life every time you wait for the lift.
Location is good, but there are a lot of other hotels in the same location.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, if you have to then, take the elevator to the 1st floor (or the second as they call it) and take the lift from there so you avoid all the passive smoking.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raivikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

We regret to learn of the unpleasantness encountered during your recent stay. For your information, all our 336 rooms and suites have been fully renovated not so long ago. Feedback regarding room’s stale stench and old towels were noted and corrective measures taken. Complimentary water, slippers and bathrobe are available in deluxe and suite rooms while other amenities are offered free-of-charge upon request. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future and rest assured the next time you come by, Mutiara Johor Bahru will not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2012. Booked 2 rooms on Club Floor. Room 1132 & 1134 with interconnecting doors. Rooms was spacious, clean & worth the money. Staffs was friendly, but please do check what you are paying for, they charged me incorrect amount at first.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The only negative part about this trip was the check in. We were not given our rooms at 2 PM, more than that the attitude of the check in lady (she seemed to be the one in charge) was not great. She was not at all apologetic and made us wait even though we had small kids. We finally got the rooms at 3 PM, supposedly an upgrade to the Mutiara club floor without club benefits.

Now coming to the good parts of the trip.

1) Breakfast is very good, make sure you buy the rate including breakfast. Very nice spread even for vegetarians.
2) The rooms are spacious, clean and lots of toiletries provided. I read somewhere that no water was provided but we had 2 bottles of mineral water. There was a huge LCD TV also.
3) The hotel is near to a train track but you can hardly hear it from inside so that is not a problem.
4) Excellent location, very near to a small shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance to a larger mall which has TESCO etc. The hotel is easy to locate also.
5) Car parking is complimentary which I understand some other hotels do not provide.
6) They have a swimming pool but no kids pool so not so fun for the kids.

I have read multiple reviews on multiple sites before deciding on this hotel and do not regret it. You can visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harishbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews